We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfortunately, average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaca's

Mamaca's
Persefonis 41, Gazi, Athens, Greece
210 34.64.984
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,667 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $24 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“unfortunately, average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am sorry to say that Mamacas offers average food n high prices. The menu is small and simple, which is nice, greek but pricey, especially if you consider that it is a menu of a greek tavern. The setting is beautiful, the service not bad but not something extraordinary either. They brought us a wine list, but they had on stock only 2 wines. Theirs and Adoli gis. I hope, if I go back, to have a better experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    23
    22
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We went to Mamacas while on vacation in Athens because South African DJ Black Coffee was playing there. We had dinner first then partied the night away. It was awesome!! The food was good enough - simple menu meant simple expectations. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. It felt like everyone went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable experience. We got a table on the upstairs deck - the crowd was mature and cosmopolitan. We had a real awesome time and champagne is not too badly priced for a club. Would love to experience a hip hop party there :-) Great night out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“no longer what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

very expensive, not at all innovative. Has the food of a taverna but the price of a very expensive restaurant. Lost value over the years

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food in atmosphere Food in atmosphere Food in atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Food in atmosphere Food in atmosphere Food in atmosphere

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, nice variety of ouzos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The decor is beautiful, and the outdoor area overlooks the park at Gazi. Our service was attentive, and dessert was included on the house. Our waiter spoke excellent English, and was happy to recommend dishes and ouzos for us to sample. The food wasn't anything to rave about, but the view of the bustling neighbourhood kept us busy people-watching for our whole meal.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamaca's also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mamaca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.