We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daphne's

Daphne's
Lysikratous 4 | Plaka, Athens, Greece (Plaka)
+302103227971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #498 of 2,383 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Dafnes is a classic in every sense of the word located in Plaka and the preferred destination of visiting public figures from the international political scene and business world.
Groton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good restaurant. We ate inside...very good quality food, but more expensive than most places in the Plaka. Very good wine, lamb, stewed artichokes, huge salads with very fresh ingredients.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    110
    56
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“NOT the place you have heard about...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This amazingly and unexpectedly disappointing restaurant was added in our reading small list of places with disgusting dishes. To start with, we wear surprised looking at trip advisor's sticker on their door as most recommended restaurant for year 2012. Surprisingly over that there was a VIP visitors' list with famous actors and politicians from all over the world . How can New York Times , financial Times of London and CNN can be written on their professional card as recommenders (hoping it's true ) if they haven't really tried themselves the real thing? To make it easier for you all , as Greek citizens ,with my wife , we can assure you that there was no taste at all as the oil they have been cooking with , clearly was reused for many many days. Daphne's restaurant doesn't have anything to do with Greek kitchen ( smoked salmon and grilled fillets don't belong to Greek kitchen). The chicken fillet we tasted with my wife wasn't grilled but clearly fried in a pan and warmed in the microwave . The "oven potatoes" where boiled and then fried in a pan with the same "old oil " . The waiter picked up our plates from which only a single bite was missing and never had the professionalism to ask why we didn't eat or if there was something we might didn't like about it.... To conclude, there are so many unknown restaurants in our small country that make or original plates of Greek kitchen and that all the locals and foreigners on honour although New York Times and CNN have never mentioned them... For sure Daphne's restaurant wouldn't last a day more if Chef Ramsey had paid a visit to it!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very high prices,lot's of "swag" but average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

the atmosphere was posh,can't deny it.also the service very good and the location beautiful.however the quality of the food was average.i could eat like that with 6 eyros in athens -not 30. if you wanna go somewhere nce to eat,choose another restaurant,my advice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Complete disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came in here on our first night in Athens after our hotel recommended it. Needless to say after travelling we were tired, hungry and looking forward to our first meal. When we arrived we went through a very pretty courtyard and were impressed with how lovely it looked. It was a total disappointment. I don't tend to write reviews but it was so bad I felt I had to. The service was poor verging on actual rudeness. The food was below average, luke warm and not even very well presented. I ordered a steak at €28 and I can honestly say it was the worst I have ever had, it was tough - overcooked and tasteless. It came with a "chefs sauce" which was a tasteless gravy and I was extremely disappointed. My partner had a Mousaka which he ate as he was hungry but it was cold in the middle and appeared to have been microwaved. It is shame because the location is fantastic and you got the impression the restaurant perhaps had it's heyday but if that's the case those days have most certainly passed. Needless to say when we returned to our hotel we told reception and following a similar comment from another guest they confirmed they have now removed it from their recommendation list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“we expect more..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we came to Daphne's folowing recomendation on one of the travelers sights. but it was not a pleasent experiance. the food tast was between mediate to not good. we felt not very well after eating there food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daphne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daphne's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.