We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daphne's

Daphne's
Lysikratous 4 | Plaka, Athens, Greece
+302103227971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #384 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Dafnes is a classic in every sense of the word located in Plaka and the preferred destination of visiting public figures from the international political scene and business world.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great location, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Greek classics in a great atmosphere. Wonderfull location, especially outside the restaurant. Good and friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    102
    51
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Plaka Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We ate wonderful candle-lit dinner here one evening during our stay in Athens. The restaurant is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Plaka district. The outdoor portion where we ate is set in the interior of what appears to be an old courtyard with stone walls. 5-star food. 5-star atmosphere. 5-star service. A bit pricey, but absolutely worth it. And they gave us liqueur shots at the end of the meal on the house! And credit cards are no problem here, unlike some other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere - food could be a little better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had dinner at Daphne's in Plaka. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere with an outdoor, covered, candle-lit courtyard, with stone walls. Very romantic. Service is fantastic. Food was a little off, so that was disappointing. We had grilled fish and souvlaki and neither were anything to write home about. The deserts were very good, and in large portions. The mastica (not sure how to spell it) was on the house and a real treat. This might be a better place for a few drinks and appetizers as the atmosphere is so nice and the people are, too. Just the food was not great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very much enjoyed this beautiful and delicious restaurant with excellent Greek food. Waiter very helpful to describe dishes and make recommendations. Complimentary mastics liquor at end of meal was lovely aperitif and new taste to us. Clearly a high end place. Prices higher than local tavernas but experience and enjoyment was worth it. Dinner was aprox €50 per person including wine, appetizer and shared dessert. We had rabbit and salmon. Appetizer was baked shrimp wit tomato cheese and artichoke salad.
Lovely evening will be remembered

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were in Athens for one night at the end of a cruise and hadn't done any research on restaurants. We asked the hotel for a recommendation and they suggested some place that sounded very expensive and very touristy. We had just spend 7 nights eating elegant meals and just wanted authentic Greek, delicious food in a casual setting. So I went back to the Concierge and explained that, and he suggested Daphne's. It was perfect! A real treasure! They were seating everyone outside, which is a beautiful setting. And the food was so good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daphne's also viewed

 

Been to Daphne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daphne's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.