We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location... but not boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   48 Syngrou Avenue Plaka, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double room from 55 euro
Ranked #44 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good location... but not boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Its nice hotel, comfortable beds and clean rooms.

BUT... not like "Boutique" style.

Service is good, and very close to all mayor atractions.
15 mins walk to Acropolis
5 min walk from Acropolis museum
5 min walk to 2 different metro stations.
20 min walk to Stadium

in a nice local neoborhood, plenty of restaurants around (delivery and 24 H also)

3 block away from coin laundry...

Room Tip: Room 105 just infront of the front desk and street view, but amazingly very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Andres, thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    277
    73
    29
    24
See reviews for
129
320
78
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

For some unknown reason I thought that adding the word "boutique" to a hotel name meant that there was something special there that I would really notice and appreciate. Not the case. The location is certainly convenient to many of the tourist sites, but the location on a central artery is also very noisy. Forget about having an open balcony door if the weather is nice. Carry your bags up a flight and a half to the lobby area then another half flight to your room or the elevator. The red carpeted stairs are somewhat worn and dirty and would look better removed, especially if the stairs are marble. The breakfast was mediocre, and the staff were on average, average (a young woman on the desk was very friendly and helpful, the other three we had contact with seemed to be there, but not acknowledge us when we passed by).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was in Athens for the weekend Nov. 1-3 and very pleased with the excellent service I received from the staff, who helped me with all my phone calls and provided good orientation within the city. The room was very convinient for me -I even slept with the windows open because of the excellent weather outside- and I liked the breakfast very much. I would certainly come back and stay longer!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review especially for "I even slept with the windows open because of the excellent weather outside". Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overrated and not a bargain. Perhaps fine for backpackers.

The rooms are noisy and rather over-decorated with drapery. The bathroom was sub-standard with an ineffective shower head. On deciding to move hotels, the hotel insisted on charging in full the balance of two nights which had been booked on the understanding that cancellation was possible. READ THE SMALL PRINT OF THE BOOKING TERMS, the headline rate shown in on-line booking form are misleading.

Only saving grace was the politeness and general good nature and helpfulness of staff. But it seems clear that they are given little latitude to exercise discretion in relation to the booking terms by the hotel managers.

Room Tip: Doubtful if there are any quiet rooms. Hotel failed to respond to request for a quiet room and late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Loved Athens and this review is way past due....we were there October 2-4. This hotel is located near Plaka and metro stations. the rooms are clean and beds comfortable (mini fridge, safe in room). Breakfast was good, with a variety of hot and cold items. Staff "Donara and Maria" were very helpful and friendly. Ask them about dinning with a great view and they will send you to the right place! We would definitely go back to this hotel and will recommend to all of our friends and acquaintances. Do not hesitate booking here you won't be sorry. Francisco and Gerry had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Francisco and Gerry!
Thank you for you positive review, we hope next time you'll come with your friends to show them your Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramnicu Valcea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, walking distance to Plaka and Acropolis and close to Syngrou-Fix metro station. Free wi-fi is available in the room. Breakfast was ok. The staff was very amiable and helpful. Sleep quality was ok with windows closed. The utilities in the room are all working: a fridge which I much appreciated, TV, AC, and a safe. Good quality for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Bogdan,
Thank you for your review, we hope next time you'll stay longer with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an average hotel which proved to be good value for money. The hotel's location is very convenient for tourist. It is just a 3 mins walk from the Syngrou Fix metro station. We were able to reach the Plaka(market area) area in just 10 mins walk. Plaka provides a wide variety of eateries and street shops. The other tourist attractions are also at a close proximity from the hotel. An approximate walking distance would be The Acropolis - 10 mins(base of the hill), Acropolis museum - 10 mins,Temple of Zeus - 12 mins, Syntagma Square and the Greek Parliament - 20 mins. The hotel has all the basic amenities like TV, AC, Free Wi-Fi, common internet. The hotel provided buffet breakfast for the price we paid. The breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of options for both veg and non-veg people. The hotel staff, particularly Eva was very informative and guided us well to the tourist attractions. One observation which I made was that hotel staff didn't help us to carry our baggage to our room, neither on our arrival nor at our departure. The Wi-Fi was intermittenly going on-off. The shower area was very small and would be very uncomfortable for a heavy-weight person. We chose room no. 102 mostly because of its interiors. There is no outside noise. The bed was comfortable and we had a good sleep. I would recommend this hotel to tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guests, we will be glad to see you again, thank you for you review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel

Address: 48 Syngrou Avenue Plaka, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Athens
#50 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very special hotel is housed in a classical building that recently has undergone a complete renovation (2007),just a few steps from the Acropolis and Plaka, adjacent to the new Acropolis museum, it is situated at the very heart of Athens historic center. The Acropolis Museum Hotel is at the foot of the Acropolis hill, just a few steps away from the Parthenon, the Temple of Zeus, Hadrian Arch and other monuments of Greek Civilization. Yet within a ten minute walk you can reach the Constitution Square (Syntagma), the Greek Parliament, Athens Stock market and Athens exclusive shopping areas of Ermou and Kolonaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Museum Boutique Athens
Hotel Acropolis Museum Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.