We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   48 Syngrou Avenue Plaka, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double room from 55 euro
Ranked #44 of 323 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overrated and not a bargain. Perhaps fine for backpackers.

The rooms are noisy and rather over-decorated with drapery. The bathroom was sub-standard with an ineffective shower head. On deciding to move hotels, the hotel insisted on charging in full the balance of two nights which had been booked on the understanding that cancellation was possible. READ THE SMALL PRINT OF THE BOOKING TERMS, the headline rate shown in on-line booking form are misleading.

Only saving grace was the politeness and general good nature and helpfulness of staff. But it seems clear that they are given little latitude to exercise discretion in relation to the booking terms by the hotel managers.

Room Tip: Doubtful if there are any quiet rooms. Hotel failed to respond to request for a quiet room and late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    277
    74
    29
    24
See reviews for
129
320
79
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Loved Athens and this review is way past due....we were there October 2-4. This hotel is located near Plaka and metro stations. the rooms are clean and beds comfortable (mini fridge, safe in room). Breakfast was good, with a variety of hot and cold items. Staff "Donara and Maria" were very helpful and friendly. Ask them about dinning with a great view and they will send you to the right place! We would definitely go back to this hotel and will recommend to all of our friends and acquaintances. Do not hesitate booking here you won't be sorry. Francisco and Gerry had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Francisco and Gerry!
Thank you for you positive review, we hope next time you'll come with your friends to show them your Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramnicu Valcea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, walking distance to Plaka and Acropolis and close to Syngrou-Fix metro station. Free wi-fi is available in the room. Breakfast was ok. The staff was very amiable and helpful. Sleep quality was ok with windows closed. The utilities in the room are all working: a fridge which I much appreciated, TV, AC, and a safe. Good quality for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Bogdan,
Thank you for your review, we hope next time you'll stay longer with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an average hotel which proved to be good value for money. The hotel's location is very convenient for tourist. It is just a 3 mins walk from the Syngrou Fix metro station. We were able to reach the Plaka(market area) area in just 10 mins walk. Plaka provides a wide variety of eateries and street shops. The other tourist attractions are also at a close proximity from the hotel. An approximate walking distance would be The Acropolis - 10 mins(base of the hill), Acropolis museum - 10 mins,Temple of Zeus - 12 mins, Syntagma Square and the Greek Parliament - 20 mins. The hotel has all the basic amenities like TV, AC, Free Wi-Fi, common internet. The hotel provided buffet breakfast for the price we paid. The breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of options for both veg and non-veg people. The hotel staff, particularly Eva was very informative and guided us well to the tourist attractions. One observation which I made was that hotel staff didn't help us to carry our baggage to our room, neither on our arrival nor at our departure. The Wi-Fi was intermittenly going on-off. The shower area was very small and would be very uncomfortable for a heavy-weight person. We chose room no. 102 mostly because of its interiors. There is no outside noise. The bed was comfortable and we had a good sleep. I would recommend this hotel to tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guests, we will be glad to see you again, thank you for you review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After many years of traveling and making all our bookings, this first trip to Greece, we choose to have a tour company make the arrangements--hotels, airport transport, ferries, etc. We arrived in Athens at 3:00 am after almost 12 hours of travel, to find that our tour had not sent transport for us, unhappily we had to take a taxi into Athens and only hope our hotel did, in fact, exist! Tired and unnerved, the taxi dropped us at the doors of THE ACROPOLIS MUSEUM HOTEL...and we were on our own. The night manager met us at the door, was fully prepared for us and completely understanding to our concerns and it was Happiness from that moment on. The day manager, Donora, is a living spirit of Athens' patron goddess, Athena; wise, kind, thoughtful and full of all bits of knowledge. Our room was comfortable, the breakfasts were wonderful and everything you could want. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sallie and Gordon,
God (and Athena) bless you!
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OP, KS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel has many pluses, but a few minuses.
We stayed as a couple, in one of the standard rooms, which was right at the landing of the stairs.

Pluses:
1. Very helpful staff. That is the first thing that strikes you when you enter the hotel.
2. Location, close to the Metro station, some restaurants, walking distance to acropolis, but you can take the metro too. And there were 2 ATMs (Citi and one other) close by. And a gas station too.
3. Good breakfast(decent selections for vegetarians-dairy-ovo too, may not be so vegan friendly though. Plenty of spinach pies, cheese pies, fruits, yummy yogurt, cake, toast,corn flakes and cocopuffs like creal)

Minuses
1. Our room lacked privacy, we could hear people walking and talking at the stair case. IThankfully we traveled at the low season time, so it did not really disturb our sleep.
2. Small bathroom. Its clean , but small.

When we booked the hotel, we were a little concerned about one of the reviewers mentioning the safety of the area and that it had "sex toy shops" close by . Yes, the location did have a couple of "sex shop"s right beside it (like literally 2 stores away) , but to be honest, it was not sleazy or weird, (think victoria secrets glass display, but not that sophisticated) and we were not bothered or solicited to , so these are easy to ignore.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for such detailed review! We'll do our best, so next time the minus points will be 0!
Thank you for you humor! Hope to see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to the major Athens attractions and an easy Metro trip from the Airport.
The staff were very helpful with directions and helped us book tickets for a show - including calling venues in Greek.
There's a desktop computer in the lounge for free guest use - helpful if you don't bring a laptop. The free wifi is good too.
We chose this place for the breakfast and it didn't disappoint; fresh orange juice, plenty of hot and cold buffet options- you definitely don't need a big lunch afterwards.
The room was nice and clean - cute canopy over the bed, bar fridge, TV, and a safe.
Only possible down-side was that it's not suited for people who don't do stairs, otherwise I highly recommend it.
Other Athens tip is to check out the: http://www.athensfreewalkingtour.com/ - great and cheap tour to orientate yourself in the city.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road but with the windows closed you don't hear it. Rooms away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Nicola,
From all of us - THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel

Address: 48 Syngrou Avenue Plaka, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Athens
#50 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#51 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very special hotel is housed in a classical building that recently has undergone a complete renovation (2007),just a few steps from the Acropolis and Plaka, adjacent to the new Acropolis museum, it is situated at the very heart of Athens historic center. The Acropolis Museum Hotel is at the foot of the Acropolis hill, just a few steps away from the Parthenon, the Temple of Zeus, Hadrian Arch and other monuments of Greek Civilization. Yet within a ten minute walk you can reach the Constitution Square (Syntagma), the Greek Parliament, Athens Stock market and Athens exclusive shopping areas of Ermou and Kolonaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Museum Boutique Athens
Hotel Acropolis Museum Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.