We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jean Makrakis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   48 Syngrou Avenue Plaka, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
double room from 55 euro
Ranked #42 of 328 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jean Makrakis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good location for the Acropolis and shops in the town of Plaka.All the staff were friendly and very helpfull. A very clean hotel.The sister hotel had a restaurants on the roof very small must book in advance you have a great veiw of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jean, thank you for such a lovely review! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    315
    96
    31
    25
See reviews for
154
362
85
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second trip to Athens, and we were looking for a nice little boutique hotel. The acropolis hotel is very good situated in the heart of Athens. The rooms look great! The coco-mat beds are the best beds in Athens! the location of the hotel is very near Plaka and the Acropolis, I think is the best neigbourhood to stay in.

Room Tip: No restaurant and fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Stefan!
Thank you for your kind review and hope next time you'll enjoy Athens more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelps, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very nice. Have never stayed in a boutique hotel before and loved it. Great assistance from the staff for all of our questions. Lovely breakfast each morning. A very nice hard-to-find room for family of 4. Easy walk to Plaka and Acropolis.

Room Tip: No pool...browser not letting me say n/a. Beware -- must carry luggage up steps. No bellman, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Lori, we remember your nice family and want to thank you for the review! Hope next time you'll choose us again for your stay in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Located in a great postion to explore Athens by foot - close to the Acropolis Museum, the Acropolis itself, the Plaka area and many restaurants and cafes. Also a 20min tram ride from the beach. The hotel is quite small and is rather quirky in design/decor style. We were on the 4th floor in a modern black/white room (with four columns) but others we saw were quite different - one with walls festooned in pink cloth, another with a canopied bed and more subdued in style. Lift only to 3rd floor. Room fairly quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast offered some variety (sweet and savoury). Staff welcoming at front desk and quickly rectified a small issue we had.

Room Tip: If stairs a problem, request a room no higher than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Hatfia, thank you for you review, we promise next time accommodate you at 3ed floor, to avoid stairs problem. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights there after coming back from Santorini to Athens. We were family of 3 (2 adults + 1 teen) and they gave us a family room, which was really spacious. There were 2 twin beds in the main room, and a loft with 2 single beds.
Being in the old part of the city, the building was an old one (probably under conservation rules) and hence some things may seem dated to city-slickers. But having travelled extensively, we appreciated the character of the place, and the effort they made to renovate the whole place recently showed.
Price of room included breakfast, which was really nice, so we didn't have to go looking for breakfast in the mornings or pay for expensive hotel breakfasts like in some other places.
Since it was our return trip, we have already seen a lot of Athens on the first leg, and the only thing left to see, believe it or not, was the Acropolis. That left us plenty of time to relax in the room which we did - and we all had our own corners and didn't have to get in each others' way.
The only minor two things that could have been better were: wifi - signals were intermittently lost, and aircon - the a/c unit seemed a little small for the room size.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your time and nice review. We hope next time WI-FI will not be problematic as this time and you'll enjoy your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were lucky to stay at this hotel for 7 days. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We had the most comfortable bed I have slept in at any hotel. Room was clean and well maintained and spacious, but then it was a delux room. Well positioned for the main attractions. Comfortable walking distance to Plaka and Acropolis. The receptionists are knowledgeable so ask for advice. A little noisy on the main road but did not detract from our great experience.
Michelle and Sandra

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Michelle and Sandra, we hope next time you'll not have any health problem and will enjoy Athens more! Thank you for worm review and see you (we hope) soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Okay for an Athens hotel in this price point, a good value! It is dated in it's styling and it's on the main street, so noisy. But it's within 2 blocks of the Acropolis Museum and Platka. So it is extremely convenient.

The Good:
1. The staff is incredibly helpful and polite! The day before we left, the desk person told us that the transit workers were doing a one day strike and that we'd have to catch a cab (early) to get to the airport. If she hadn't told us this, we would have never known until the morning.
2. The air conditioner!!! Much needed and worked great!
3. The overall price!

Needs Work:
1. The overall decor is dated and left the room and the entire hotel seemingly dark.
2. The shower, while full of pressure, was small and was the typical "old style" plastic hand held shower head on an pole.

Overall a very good and met expectoration.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear AW, thank you for your review, we hope next time you'll not have to mention "Needs work" things. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#29 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 328 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#30 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 328 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,168 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#67 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel

Address: 48 Syngrou Avenue Plaka, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
#45 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very special hotel is housed in a classical building that recently has undergone a complete renovation (2007),just a few steps from the Acropolis and Plaka, adjacent to the new Acropolis museum, it is situated at the very heart of Athens historic center. The Acropolis Museum Hotel is at the foot of the Acropolis hill, just a few steps away from the Parthenon, the Temple of Zeus, Hadrian Arch and other monuments of Greek Civilization. Yet within a ten minute walk you can reach the Constitution Square (Syntagma), the Greek Parliament, Athens Stock market and Athens exclusive shopping areas of Ermou and Kolonaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Museum Boutique Athens
Hotel Acropolis Museum Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Museum Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.