We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in spite of area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Vienna
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Pireos St., Athens 10431, Greece (Omonia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Table View
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value in spite of area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Hotel Vienna is very centrally located in Athens, but being near Amonia Square, the area is not the best. However, if you follow the tips of the reception staff regarding streets and areas to avoid at night, you'll be fine. It is an older hotel but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is an adequate continental. There is a small fridge in the room and free internet, even with their computer. The street can be noisy at night when you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
37
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed two night at this hotel for a citytrip. Although (as mentioned before) the area is a bit seedy, it still is pretty close to all you want.
The staff is very friendly helping you out where to go and how to get to places.
I would defenitely stay there again for a city-trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We had quite a pleasant stay here, considering that we payed only 50 euros a night for a double room with breakfast. The hotel may look quaint but the furniture in our room was new, as were the matresses, so sleep was comfortable. Bathroom was small but very clean and the tiling was also new. Free internet was available in the lobby. The only bleak point was breakfast, which was not only very basic but also not so good. Reception is open 24 hours.
The hotel is conveniently located only 200 metres from Omonia square. The neighbourhood may look a bit dodgy at night for travellers not used to "Mediterranean decadence", but the walk to and from Omonia should pose no problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Not the best part of town, but with a little common sense (don't leave your purse lying around) it's fine and is extremely close to all the major sights. Hotel Vienna was clean and has the best staff. They are extremely helpful and even mapped out the best, and safest at night, way to see all the important sights; not to mention the best places to get daytime, dusk, and evening photos. To top it off, they made sure my friend and I had the hotel's business card EVERY time we left, just in case. We like to think we're low maintenance but...... we blew a fuse, had money exchange issues with vendors outside, and came in at all hours of the night and these guys helped us with everything. Aris even mapped out our next destination (Santorini), giving us all the same fabulous tips he had given us about Athens. I would absolutely stay here again. BTW - went to the hotel across the street with a fancy lobby and the rooms were almost identical for over twice the price!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Scary area. Shady characters walking/lying around everywhere. My boyfriend and I made sure we were home not long after dark each night after being welcomed to Athens by being pick-pocketed on the metro!
But the hotel is fine accommodation for the cheap price! The guys on reception is LOVELY. Tells you everything you need to know with great English. He even warns you about the less savoury streets nearby - all really good to know.
On the up side, you only have to walk about one block and you are out of the scary area and in central Athens, looking up to the Acropolis. We have walked everywhere.
Would recommend for a couple of nights and just to see the main sights. There is free wifi in the foyer which I LOVE!! Oh, and ask for a back room because even these are a tiny bit noisy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile, Santiago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

If your on a budget this is a great place to stay, the area is a bit dodgey but as some of the other ads mention you are on the right side of Onmonia square. The young man that works on reception is really helpful with directions and info, and metro is literally 2 mins away, so perfect if you travel direct from the airport. We opted out for breakfast after I read loads of reviews saying that breakfast generally in Greece is basic, with bread, jam, tea and orange for 6 euros per person. We decided to get in our own stuff at a cheaper price. The room has a fridge. If I was to go to Athens again I would only stay 2 days, thats all you need, to see the main sites. Be careful on the metro, I saw a foreigner get robbed and some of the nasty greeks, cause problems on purpose like pushing there on the train and amongst all the comotion they steal yourself

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

What it lacks in decor it makes up for in location (less than 5 minutes from the Metro), cleanliness and friendliness. The lobby is small but nice and the young man working the front desk is very friendly and helpful with map directions and recommendations. You also get free internet in the lobby/lounge area. The elevators are incredibly small though (even with a combined weight of just about 270 lbs, my fiance and I could barely fit in the elevator together). The rooms are a bit bare, but are very clean and the bed is pretty comfortable. What was a pleasant surprise was how great the A/C unit is in the room. It was almost TOO cold. There is some street noise, but a room in the back of the hotel is quieter. The hotel serves breakfast which may or may not be included in the price of the room (it was an extra 10 euros for us, if we had chosen to eat there). Overall, a pleasant experience and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: 20 Pireos St., Athens 10431, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vienna 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.