We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novus City Hotel - Athens - pros and cons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novus City Hotel to your Saves list
Novus City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Karolou St, Athens 104 37, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Danville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Novus City Hotel - Athens - pros and cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hotel has a modern rather than classic look to it. Room was good sized, especially after having come from smaller rooms in Italy. There was a room wide desk at the window which was very convenient. Free internet was great. Bathroom shower was good sized. Bathroom door was glass rather than wood so not complete privacy if that is a concern. Service at front desk was excellent. They arranged a late night taxi to the airport for us. Breakfast had an excellent variety of food.
The con, as others have mentioned, was the location. It is not in the best part of town and you might not feel comfortable walking about later in the evening. The plus is that the police walk the area (as well as elsewhere) and make their presence known. The metro is close to the hotel and we took advantage of it a couple of times when we didn't just walk. Of course walking is the way to catch the flavor of the city so that is recommended.
Overall a good hotel experience but might explore another location next time that is closer to some of the areas that we enjoyed most.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    166
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
150
48
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

What can I say...the hotel is very nice, rooms are spacy and the whole hotel is very young and a nice place to stay
Breakfast is great and bar on the roof, with breathtaking view of the acropolis, as well as pool for a romantic sunset...is really worth the staying.
Last but not least the food - having dinner at the hotel is not just a chance but a good choice, food is delicious and price are similar to a medium restaurant in the syntagma area.
There is also a metro stop really 2 minutes walking from the entrance...
Two cons (just 2 indeed): location - the nearby of the hotel are really ugly...there is absolutely nothing...no place to go just walking around the area; price - if you can get a deal...well take it no doubt (I did) but if you are asked to pay the full amount...you'd better go for a room in the city center...

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I just got back from my vacation to Greece. By far, this was my best hotel experience from my traveling so far.

I got in touch with the hotels reservations desk and they offered me a great a price. They were courteous from that moment on. They faxed the reservation the consulate of Greece and helped me with my Schengen Visa.

The hotel is located about 2-3 minute walk to Metro Metaxourgio. I arrived here from the airport using Athens' extremely convenient subway system. No hassle at all. As many people have noted, the hotel is located in a not so touristy neighborhood. This is a blessing in disguise. Otherwise this hotel could be a lot more pricier for what it has to offer.

The hotel has a trendy modern look inside. The lobby and the rooms are painted with bright colors giving a fresh youthful feel. The hotel personnel was extremely courteous and helpful. They arranged for reasonably-priced convenient side trips to Delphi and other towns from the hotel itself. They also helped me rent a car for a one-day side trip to the towns of Epidavros and Nafplio at a very nominal price that included unlimited mileage and insurance.

My room was very clean. It was located on the fifth floor without any great views, and I don't have anything to complain about that. The roof-top/terrace restaurant/bar makes up quite well for that as it gives you a commanding view of the mighty Parthenon! In the early evening, you could come here for a coffee and enjoy the evening view as the Parthenon gets ready to be brilliantly illuminated. And for all that, the prices on the menu were again nominal. The pool area appeared very clean, but I did not use it as it was still quite cool in Athens to use an open pool. The bathroom had a cozy standing shower area with only a partition between the toilet commode (not closed on all sides). This could be unusual for some travelers who are used to complete enclosed shower areas. I kind of liked it though! Not all hotels have free WiFi internet to offer, but this one did.

I should definitely hail their breakfast. Opens as early as 7 and is available until 10.30 on the weekdays and 11 on weekends! They keep refilling the trays with fresh stuff. They offer both hot and cold items. I have honestly never come across a more extensive complimentary breakfast menu. The hot items included the extremely delicious scrambled eggs with vegetables, boiled eggs, cheese pies and bacon. Try the hot beverages from their Espresso/Cappuccino maker. There was cereal, yogurt, juice, dried fruits, honey, fresh bread, pastries, plenty of dessert, fresh fruit and so on.... I cannot even complete my list. Thanks to their breakfast, I never felt the need to dine again until later in the evening!

I traveled by subway to all the attractions in Athens. The subway took me the Plaka - the touristic center in about 7-10 minutes. You could actually even walk to the Plaka from the hotel if you're quite active. I never felt unsafe during my entire stay. The short walk from the subway to the hotel would take you through the Karaiskaki Sqaure that is brilliantly lit in the evening. The neighborhood beyond is just residential with your conventional supermarkets, hardware stores and so on and this might have made some people a little uncomfortable while walking late at night, but this is not at all an issue. I could easily give a 4.5 star rating for this hotel!

I plan to return to Athens again and would love to make my reservation here.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel reservations to ask for a great price! I think all rooms are quiet and have the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

First of all the hotel is in an area of the city that is not great but certainly did not feel dangerous. We walked back to the hotel after midnight more than once and despite some stares and bad smells of urine it was fine!
The Novus is modern and quirky with a wonderful rooftop terrace which serves food and drink. The meze plate is excellent and made better by the great city views of the Acropolis. The breakfast is very good with a good selection of pasteries. The Greek yogurt is amazing!
The room while not overly big is very comfortable and modern. We really liked the glass door lift and funky silhouettes painted on the walls and we found both our stays in the hotel to be very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDAMOOKA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel has a great layout, with the room being modern and the bathroom luxurious, to the wonderful view from the roof top casual bar and pool area. From this area you have the best view of the Acropolis....breath taking at night. The food is really good value and the servings are huge. Also if you ask for a spirit they give you a double so take care with the first sip. The city sight-seeing bus route is about 40m away in the round about area and there are bus stations close as well. There is a laundry lady around the corner near the deli for a great price. The Novus is a clean, friendly and has wonderfully helpful staff. I have no hesitation with recommending this hotel and will stay again when in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

not in the best area ,but nice rooms and a great breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a lovely new modern clean hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful and even allowed us to have a 3pm
Check out at no charge. Our room only had a view of city not acropolis but it didn't worry us as the place was beautiful.
The hotel is a good 20 minute walk to te main shopping area but when your
On city breaks its nice to walk as you get familiar with your surroundings.
This is a nice new hotel which lets you
Escape from the hustle
Outside.
Roof top bar and pool
Are a nice touch

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Address: 23 Karolou St, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novus City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.