We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with all facilities?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novus City Hotel to your Saves list
Novus City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Karolou St, Athens 104 37, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 326 Hotels in Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with all facilities?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

After staying at a few various hotels in Greece we found this one almost ticked all the boxes. Great spot with walking distance to metro, shops and all facilities. Good rooms, showers, food, free wifi, parking. No tea/coffee facilities in room though. Great stay though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    153
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
138
44
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I stayed three times at this modern hotel, located not far from Omonia square, in central Athens. The rooms where very nice, modern, and very clean. The hotel's decoration is very modern, and edgy.. so it's not for everyone... but the facilities make it a good choice for everyone. There's a pool, and a small bar on the roof with good views of the Acropolis. a free parking lot, good breakfast, and the staff is nice and helpful enough. THE ONLY THING IS: the nieghbourhood doesn't feel very safe, especialy at night, so I would'nt recommend it to solo female travelers, or anybody planning to use the metro at night.. other than that, it's great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel is very nice, new, friendly personnel, free parking place, free wireless Internet, noisy rooms due to traffic.
Unfortunately the area in which is located is the worst in Athens: Metaxourgio. The local people say it is the most dangerous area in Athens, drug dealers, prostitution, thefts...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We really loved this hotel. The hotel team is friendly and helpful. The layout of the hotel is quite modern with several design touches. The breakfast lounge is light & spacious with a magnicficent background/wallpaper of which you just must take a picture. The quality of the breakfast is very good and they offer a lot to choose from. We also loved the fact that despite it is a city hotel there is a small pool to relax on top of the roof with a lounge bar. We were always almost the only ones using it, but it was great to have to relax after some sightseeing.

The only negative point is not related to the hotel itself but to the environment. Unfortunately the hotel is located in a Albanian neighbourheid that comes over as poor and a bit dirty, but luckily if you walk 5 minutes you arrive in a nicer neighbourhood. Less nicer neigbourhoods are probably the case for every capital/big city in the world. It wouldn't stop us from coming back to this hotel if we would visit Athens again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Was here in late October for a three night stay.
Most of the staff were nice and helpful. Room was clean and modern. Bathroom was practical and nice. My only issue were the single beds, which are too small for a queen size sleeper. Ask them for a room with a large double or queen size bed.
Breakfast was nice and the staff always there to assist.
The location seems a bit dodgy at first sight, however, it is OK, and the hotel is located virtually next to a metro station, which is only two stops from the center. This is a much better location than the less safe Omonia.
The rooftop view is amazing of Athens and the Acropolis, and apparently the restaurant food very tasty. The swimming pool looks good too.
This hotel (which from memory has about 8 floors), is only serviced by one elevator. This therefore requires some patience. However, I really had no problem.
All in all, a pleasant surprise in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed in Athens for a few days in September 2011. Novus is located in a prime spot, right across from the Metro subway system with easy access to most places in Athens. The room was nice (nothing extravagant) and clean. The roof top pool and bar were great and the view of the acropolis during the night was spectacular. The breakfast buffet was massive and the staff was very polite and helpful. Definitely going back. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Beautiful hotel in Athens, only a couple of metro stops away from all the main tourist attractions. The hotel is not in the best area however there were two females in my party and at no time did we feel any problems walking to or from the metro which is just at the end of the road. I would not suggest walking around the back streets near the hotel but neither would I do this in the centre of any major city! I would definately stay at this hotel again.

The staff were very friendly and even the general manager took time to talk to us and advise us of restaurants to try and places to visit. On the hotels recommendation we went to a top class fish restaurant near the port (Zorbas I believe) and had the best meal of our stay. Expensive but fine dining on the port front. We also ate in the hotel on a number of occassions and the food was always of a high standard.

Although the hotel is supposed to have sound proof walls there was alot of noise from other rooms and outside traffic/dogs barking. This did not bother me as I always carry earplugs but if you are a light sleeper maybe a higher floor room would be better.

If I return to Athens I will most definately stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Address: 23 Karolou St, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novus City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.