We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel - would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Proteas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Proteas Hotel to your Saves list
Proteas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Lambrou Katsoni str., Athens 114 72, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel - would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Proteas hotel is located in a safe and intereting neighborhood in Athens. It is around a 15 minute walk from Ambelokipi station heading West along Alexandros street . Many buses operate along Alexandros though I never used one to get to the hotel, which is located on a quiet street just to the South of this main thorough-fare. There are many conveniences close by (supermarkets, cafes, tavernas, restaurants, etc.). The hotel has five floors and a small elevator. Wifi is finicky in the rooms, but easy from the lobby. Staff are helpful and friendly. Room service for things like coffee is affordable and worth it.
The rooms are smallish, but both times I was there, they led onto a large private balcony on which you could easily host a small dance party (no kidding). The beds were comfortable (and matrimonial size), the room was clean, the bathrooms (no tub) were no frills, but once again clean, the air-conditioner was efficient and quiet. I think the hotel is listed as two stars, and it easily merits this rating. I've stayed in three star hotels which, though perhaps more elegantly decorated, didn't offer the same level of service and comfort.
A walk to the centre of town (Monastiriki, etc) takes around 20-25 minutes for young legs. Its an interesting walk which goes past the Academy, and certainly beats taking the subway. The National Archeological Museum is around 20 minutes away by foot in a different direction. The hotel offers quick access to Lykavittos Hill, a beautiful park which, if you're willing to climb to the summit, offers unparalleled views of the city. Being on the blue line, the hotel is also convenient for those going to and from the airport. All in all this was excellent value for what I paid: 55 euros in mid July. In all I stayed 6 nights here. I would definately return on a future trip to Athens.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
14
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Proteas is a small hotel, tucked away on a side street but right beside Alexandros (one of the main city centre thoroughfares). Hotel is very clean, fresh towels and bedlinen daily, all rooms with balcony, large bathroom, comfy bed. No frills but it was a no frill break. Staff helpful. Everything worked. Had the best sleeps I have ever had in Athens (my 6th hotel there). My room on the top floor was so quiet, no noise from neighbours (not attached to anyone), no noisy aircon, not traffic (room at the back). The area is a safe, residential area, Ampelokopoi is the nearest metro, about 10mins walk about. Lots of cafes, markets and supermarkets in the area so good for cheap eats. Recommend Noodlbar near metro. Short hop on the tram to all the tourist bits. Hotel good value and nothing I can complain about.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony, rooms at back will be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

very clean hotel, very nice staff. the location is near the centre Athens very quite road. Recently renovated it has everything you want from the three star hotel!!!!!!! Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Recently for a company conference, I had to go around Athens downtown to find a "modern" hotel. I checked and visited all I could, and I was very impressed with the Proteas!! I think it is the best in this part of athens. Clean and New, and right in the middle of everything, great location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The hotel is absolutely clean, every need is taken care of and small surprises. Needless to say,everyone speaks perfect English in the staff, they are friendly, efficient, very helpful ; the room is perfect clean, the location of the hotel allows an easy visit of the city by foot. Great atmosphere. Very smart. Immaculate service. Would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Proteas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proteas Hotel

Address: 9, Lambrou Katsoni str., Athens 114 72, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Proteas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proteas hotel is a 3 star hotel located in a quiet area close to city center of Athens, and only 300 meters from the metro Ampelokipi, with easy access to all local tourist attractions, like Acropolis, the Theatre of Lycabetus and Kallimarmaro Stadium, as well as two shopping districts, Kolonaki district, which is a popular meeting area, full of shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and nightlife and Ermou Street in Plaka which is the oldest and most picturesque district of Athens, full of taverns, restaurants etc. Proteas hotel has 24 newly renovated double rooms in warm, natural tones and soft lighting. Breakfast is not included in the price of the accommodation. The hotel provides a 24-hour reception and a small bar where you can enjoy your coffee after a long day in the city, a lift, Wifi Internet connection. A left-luggage office and a safe are also at guests’ disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Proteas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proteas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.