We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - modern - amazingly clean - great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centrotel Hotel to your Saves list
Centrotel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Aussie and Scot in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - modern - amazingly clean - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Definite thumbs up on all accounts for this hotel.
5 minute walk from Victoria Metro station and likewise from Larissa Train Station.
Immaculately clean; large rooms with great air con; very modern; spa bath; satellite tv; fridge etc.
1 minute walk from the local supermarket.
30 mins walk to Monastariki (all the sights) - but would suggest taking the metro 2 stops as nothing to see on the walk down there at all.
Very good and efficient staff.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    257
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
114
469
60
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel as the base for Athens sightseeing. We picked this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and the experience exceeded our expectations. The hotel facilities and room are very clean and the room and the bathroom was very comfortable. There is an underground parking space which is well kept and you get to appreaciate that when you see the cars parking outside in the streets of athens leaving no space even to park a small byke. They have two laptops at the dining hall for a very comfortable and free use of the internet and the staff is very kind. All our requests were met . there is a nice balcony , and although there are houses across the street , one can still enjoy seating there after a long and tiring walk around athens which is what we did .Victoria metro station is 5 minutes walk away and there are supermarkets and bakeries few blocks away. The street becomes quiet at late night . One can also close the windows (and operate the airconditioner) and sleep like a baby .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Thank goodness for the Centrotel! We were not enamored with Athens, but this hotel made up for it. The hotel is modern, clean, and just a 5 min walk to Victoria station, which can put you at the Acropolis in 2 stops.
We stayed at this hotel at the end of our trip and liked the location much more than the first hotel we stayed in which was near Omonia Square (neither are 'pretty', but the Centrotel's location was less seedy).
We loved the free WiFi and the jacuzzi tub. But we always ask ourselves why can't shower curtains be standard in Europe?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

...in a working-class neighborhood that will be a letdown for some travelers (for us, it was different in a non-scary way). We stayed on the top floor, amongst the forest of TV antennas on the roofs around the hotel. The balcony doors and shutters were adequate against the noise from the street.
We loved our room: it was well-appointed, spacious, clean and more than met our needs. The bathroom was, by Greek standards, supersized! All front desk staff were competent, friendly and helpful. City maps with transportation and tourist info were a nice touch, as were the computers in the lobby for the guests to use (this in addition to free Wi-Fi).
Eating in the neighborhood was somewhat a problem as no restaurants or tavernas we saw had menus in English. Recommendations from the hotel staff would have been helpful, especially as this district has large immigrant population and is bound to have some cool ethnic eateries.
Getting to the sights was easy: Victoria Square metro stop is only 5 minutes away, and the Archeological Museum is within walking distance. Centrotel was a great place to return to after a day of sightseeing, and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

I'm glad we chose to stay at the Centrotel! It is located at a convenient walking distance from Victoria Metro station (Green line). My wife and I went through reviews of a lot of other hotels on Tripadvisor and location/neighbourhood was one of our main concerns. The hotel is located in a good neighbourhood, and is within walking distance of Victoria Square, which is dotted with restaurants.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. They helped us with all the arrangements for our daytrip to Delphi and the island cruises. We felt welcome and truly like guests during our stay here. It was also good value for money. Highly recommended...will stay here if I get a chance to visit Athens again.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Umm....not much really!
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

For the price, not bad but...I arrived at 11 pm and the room bar was empty. First floor is somewhere noisy. For business, ok, but if you are looking for greek style....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

I had expected a budget hotel in a busy part of Athens, but not quite like this. The hotel itself is gorgeous - beautiful, modern (though small) rooms with a nice bathroom, a great-looking lobby and very clean. The hotel has free wifi-fi and the daytime manager was delightful. But the praise stops here. While the rooms looked gorgeous, they weren't functional - cardboard beds, no comfortable chairs and the jacuzzi design was impractical and created a lot of flooding. The evening manager was unhelpful - impatient, rude and exhibiting no customer service skills - I had asked him to make a dinner reservation for me and he was affronted by the request. When I wanted to know how to use the phone to call to make the reservation myself, he was curt. He didn't suggest any restaurants or try in any way to ensure that I was having a pleasant stay. Yes, it's a budget hotel, but there's no justification for poor customer service. As for the neighborhood. Yes, it's a close walk to both Larissa and Victoria and therefore easy enough to get around the city, but it is a dodgy neighborhood, even by daylight. I had wanted to avoid the Plaka area and its crazy tourist mobs but I hadn't expected something so run-down and desolate. Conversely, because it wasn't a touristy area, I had one of the best meals of my entire stay in Greece at a nearby taverna (where the only patrons inside were older Greek men) and it cost 5 Euro. The hotel was fairly cheap so depending on your needs and expectations, maybe it is the right place for you, but I'd rather have a plain lobby and no-frills room with a comfortable bed and helpful desk manager. As for food, the room service comes from Dominos Pizza (seriously) and the hotel serves breakfast but it is not included in the price (I believe it was an extra 10 Euro).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.