We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, a bit of a tough neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Centrotel Hotel to your Saves list
Centrotel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, a bit of a tough neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July. It's a very clean, modern hotel in a rather beaten down part of town. We didn't feel unsafe walking through the neighborhood, just know that's it's not a "nice" part of town.

It is located quite near the Victoria Metro station, so we actually arrived from the airport on Metro with only one train transfer! That was nice, as well as when we left via boat, we were able to take the Metro easily to that as well.

The staff were great. We received excellent restaurant recommendations from one desk person, and were quickly and efficiently moved to another room when we discovered our air conditioning was broken.

Overall, if you're on a bit of a budget and don't mind taking the Metro and walking a bit, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    274
    45
    15
    6
See reviews for
116
489
66
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in June at the beginning of a holiday taking in the Greek Islands. The hotel itself was approx 10 mins walk from two different metro stations which bought you right to the centre of the touristy Plaka and Acropolis area, or to the port. The area however was not the most appealing. Most of the surrounding buildings were delapitated and covered in grafitti. It wasn't the kind of place you would linger around late at night for sure, and there were no bars, restaurants etc nearby other than a couple of cafes that seemed to be only frequented by a few elderly locals.

In terms of the hotel itself, the bedroom and bathroom were spacious, relatively modern and comfortable. The staff were also friendly and the hotel was very clean. We appreciated the air con in the room due to the high temperatures. However, what we did not appreciate was an unwanted alarm call going off in the middle of our second night there - beside the bed was a clock/ radio alarm type thing built into the wall - had not went near it while we were there but it rang at 3am for some unknown reason.

All in all, I would not return - I would recommend somewhere closer to the Plaka as it would be more convenient for visiting the sites and an all round more pleasant and safer area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel and the experience this time was just the same GREAT!!!!!!. I arrived with my son on July 16th 2023 and we stay for three days and came back in our way out for two more nights. This hotel is an ideal base for visiting adjacent areas in Greece. The location is great as you can find within walking distance the metro stations that will take you just about any place you need/want to go. I wouldn't stay in any other hotel in Athens. From the moment you walk in you can feel welcome. The reception staff is very polite and helpful, Petros in particular is so sweet. I never needed a map to get around. He help me and answered any questions I had. He was very patient and always with a smile
The rooms are VERY clean, the beds are very comfortable, same as the bathrooms they are IMMACULATE and contrary to other hotels that have specific times to clean the rooms or otherwise your room doesn't get clean, here they make your room when you want. This hotel really provides the BEST costumer service, also, the only hotel I have stayed in that will offer breakfast any time of the day. Most hotels have specific times for the guest to eat breakfast and if you missed you don't eat!. In my opinion, this is a great plus as many times as a tourist, I love to sleep in after a long day of walking or sightseeing. It was refreshing not having to set up a wake up call just to eat. While on vacation, I don't want to worry about schedules, specially someone else's.
if you need to do some laundry as is the case when you travel light, the hotel does your laundry for an affordable price and your clothes are neatly done and they smell good too. I don't have enough adjectives to describe this hotel except.......GREAT GREAT AND GREAT!!!!!!.........say hello to Petros :)






I had such a great staBecause my experience last year was so great cameback agi

Room Tip: In both of my stays I have had the same positive experience with my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

It sounds an exaggeration but I am in the hotel right now, writing this review.

I am a regular business traveler in England use 5-stars as often as my home and I can say you'd have to pay 5 star price for such super clean room, comfortable but not lux furniture, massage bath with very good hot water system (powerful and stable), Free wifi. Cleaners have been careful in details.

Reception is fast, friendly and helpful. I have not tried other services such as laundry etc

Only downside is hotel landline isn't seem to be attended? Or maybe I am dualling something wrong from overseas?

Remember, you are paying 60ish euro for a great 5 star hardware and software

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is an oasis in a rather “tired” looking area. We had a spotless, spacious room with fridge and great bathroom. The reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is very conveniently situated, 10 minutes from Larissa Station and Metro, with an amazing bakery on the way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Centrotel Hotel cannot be faulted. It is well located,extremely comfortable and the reception staff are delightful. Some reviewers have made comment on the area and it is fair to say the area has a very tired look about it. However, I felt safe and there are plenty of restaurants nearby so don't be put off by this aspect. The metro system is easy to negotiate and provides a very reliable service. The quality of the rooms is extremely high,there is ample room and the bathroom is luxurious. This is a high quality hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is great! Super friendly and helpful staff, very nice and clean amenities, and excellent location for getting around on the metro (which is definitely the way to go). And as so many other reviewers have noted, the bathroom is pretty nice - we definitely ooh'd and aah'd when we first saw it. The only complaint I had is that the beds are pretty hard, but after a full day of touring we were so tired it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#27 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#69 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.