We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Centrotel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Slightly nicer than Plaka Hotel, but Plaka Hotel has a much better location. We got out and walked a bit here, this area was scarier (Im female) from my perspective. I preferred being closer to the Plaka area. We stayed here just one night before going to Mykonos island. It was a great layover room-very clean, big balconies. I'd recommend it highly for 1 or 2 nights. But to really experience the tourist areas you want to be a little closer than where this hotel is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    244
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
109
445
56
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2012 with a group of friends. The hotel is very clean and modern. Staff was helpfull and friendly. It is close to 2 metro stations. The hotel is great value for money. Just buy a daypass with which you get access to all busses, trams and metro for 24 hours, costing €4, and you are good to go

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great hotel in a part of town that allows you to walk/bus to most places without being in the "tourist" part of town. It's more in the immigrant part of the city, according to the taxi driver, but we enjoyed experiencing Athens from a non-Greek local's point of view.
Evi, the evening desk clerk was the most helpful staff person that went way beyond her required responsibilities to ensure a true local experience. Her recommendations of food/restaurants, knowledge of how to get us around without having to hop in a taxi were amazing. The rooms were kept very clean and it was a pleasant atmosphere. Recommend the chocolate ice cream/dessert for room service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a great stay at Centrotel. The staff could not have been more friendly or efficient. The room was large and well furnished. It was spotlessly clean. Facilities included a jacuzzi bath, mood lighting, TV and wifi in the room, a balcony, a fridge. It is near to Victoria metro station so very convenient for sightseeing. I would not stay anywhere else in Athens on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is absolutely a hotel worth to consider.
Best priced, well-maintained hotel, excellent staff and a nice breakfast. I will recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Felt like i got my money's worth. Deserves its rank on the rating

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here on our first night before we started our cruise. I choose it for value but was so impressed with the hotel. The staff were fantastic and friendly offering lots of information. The foyer was seemingly new and spacious and resembled some 4 star hotels I've stayed in. Our room was upgraded to a suite...I have no reason why but I was grateful none the less. The bed was a little low to the floor and I have slept in more comfortable beds but nothing too major. The bathroom was clean and newly decorated. As we arrived in the evening and left early the next day I can't comment on the food or area.
A free code for WiFi was a welcome addition. A strike was due the next day but our ever resourceful and friendly receptionist could organise a private cab to the port. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is how hotels should be! Everything in this hotel is amazing. Comfortable spacious rooms, absolutely clean, very good room service, perfect staff, descreat, soundproof, extremely low price for what the hotel is offering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#24 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#41 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.