We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Centrotel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 323 hotels in Athens
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great hotel in a part of town that allows you to walk/bus to most places without being in the "tourist" part of town. It's more in the immigrant part of the city, according to the taxi driver, but we enjoyed experiencing Athens from a non-Greek local's point of view.
Evi, the evening desk clerk was the most helpful staff person that went way beyond her required responsibilities to ensure a true local experience. Her recommendations of food/restaurants, knowledge of how to get us around without having to hop in a taxi were amazing. The rooms were kept very clean and it was a pleasant atmosphere. Recommend the chocolate ice cream/dessert for room service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    227
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
98
413
54
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a great stay at Centrotel. The staff could not have been more friendly or efficient. The room was large and well furnished. It was spotlessly clean. Facilities included a jacuzzi bath, mood lighting, TV and wifi in the room, a balcony, a fridge. It is near to Victoria metro station so very convenient for sightseeing. I would not stay anywhere else in Athens on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is absolutely a hotel worth to consider.
Best priced, well-maintained hotel, excellent staff and a nice breakfast. I will recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Felt like i got my money's worth. Deserves its rank on the rating

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here on our first night before we started our cruise. I choose it for value but was so impressed with the hotel. The staff were fantastic and friendly offering lots of information. The foyer was seemingly new and spacious and resembled some 4 star hotels I've stayed in. Our room was upgraded to a suite...I have no reason why but I was grateful none the less. The bed was a little low to the floor and I have slept in more comfortable beds but nothing too major. The bathroom was clean and newly decorated. As we arrived in the evening and left early the next day I can't comment on the food or area.
A free code for WiFi was a welcome addition. A strike was due the next day but our ever resourceful and friendly receptionist could organise a private cab to the port. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is how hotels should be! Everything in this hotel is amazing. Comfortable spacious rooms, absolutely clean, very good room service, perfect staff, descreat, soundproof, extremely low price for what the hotel is offering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creteil, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for 4 nights. We arrived by Subway in the Larissi Station and the hotel is about 10 minutes walking from the train station. The neighbourghood can be a little scary at the first sight since the street lights are low and there are many migrants people along the way, but they don't do nothing, just gather to talk. The staff is very helpful (especially the young lady at the reception desk), they helped me to find my way to visit Athens during the big public transportation and taxi strike. You can use the trolley No 1 or the Bus 372 to go to Syndagma square then join the Plaka for tourism. We didn't have any public transportation during our stay because of the strike so we had to walk back to the hotel from the Acropolis area, it takes about 45 minutes walking (4km).

The room is very clean with room service every day and towels and bed sheets replaced every 2 days. The bubble bath tub is welcome after these long days walking.

The only drawback of this hotel, it lacks some good street restaurants nearby, We had to go to the Victoria square (10 min walking) to have the coffee and eat something.

Finally, it's a very good hotel to take when public transportation is working.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in October. We were upgraded when they found out it was our honeymoon. We only paid 50 euro pn, places in Plaka started at 120.
People had commented negatively about the area but it is like staying in any inner city suburb in terms of safety. You are 5 min walk away from 2 train lines, 1 of which is a popular hang out area for local students. Several good cafes there.
If you want to get a a better picture of Athens outside of Plaka (a 40 min walk or 3 trains stop ride) for excellent value, and served by friendly and helpful staff, then this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: Peoniou 11, Athens 10440, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#27 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.