We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pergamos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pergamos to your Saves list
Hotel Pergamos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Acharnon | Vathis Square, Athens 104 33, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Far above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I like the spacious room with a balcony as well as good wifi, Breakfasts were very satisfactory. Staff were all very kind, friendly and ready to help..Surroundings are a bit gloomy but I did not feel any danger during my stay of 3 nights. Recommendable..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    73
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
17
79
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herne bay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

First impressions were a bit disappointing given that the area in which the hotel is situated is rather scruffy and it was a ten minute walk from the metro. Once inside however the reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was ok, ours was at the back of the hotel so not a good view but not noisy. You can hear people in the stairs and in the adjacent room if they are noisy but this did not particularly bother us as we did not come to spend much time in the hotel. The room had a comfy bed, small safe, fridge, hairdryer and free wi-fi. We knew there would be no tea/coffee making facilities so took a kettle. Shower only and no products provided in the bathroom (except loo roll of course). But water was hot and it was all pretty clean. Breakfast is basic - processed meat and cheese, boiled eggs, nice bread, jams, margarine, biscottes, basic cereals, orange squash, hot and cold milk, coffee and fair range of teabags.

We got used to the location - turn left out of the front door and within 1 minute you will find a bank, ABC mini-supermarket, restaurant (recommended by hotel but we did not try it) bakery, 2 kebab shops and Go Grill. We went back to Go Grill (walk down to the junction, cross the road to your right and start to walk back up parallel to the hotel's road). Looks shabby but really friendly staff and good kebabs. We paid just 59 euros for 3 nights for two people bed and breakfast so cannot complain about this hotel for the price. The nearest metro is Omomnia which is really handy being on two lines - one which takes you to the Acropolis and on to Piraeus and the other is just one stop from the centre.

Take the lift up to the seventh floor then the stairs to the roof at night. Great views across Athens and of the Acropolis. Table and chairs on the roof terrace leave something to be desired (rather broken and dirty - such a pity as they could make more of this feature). Great to spend time in the evening up there with a bottle of wine or beer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I am going with an average rating only because I was promptly refunded one night's money after checking out 1 day early than booked. I was unable to sleep the whole night due to smell in the room and neighbouring sound from lift lobby and from corridor, and I moved to a better rated hotel near Acropolis-Plaka area.
Starting from the the locality- this is not an area for tourists but for homeless and traders, its safe but you will have the "uninvited tourists" feeling as you walk down the street and people staring at you. DEFINITELY not a place for tourists to stay. This is run-down area and you will not feel happy staying in this locality
About the room- Smelly room, dirty duvet, super small shower and toilet, uncomfortable bed. This is the room for people on budget trip who just want to sleep after a tough day. The noise from the Lift is very disturbing and sound of people talking and passing through the corridor is awful. this will take your sleep away. Although you have a large balcony with a "bombarded" locality view.
I (& my wife) managed to spend one sleepless night and moved to a better rated hotel in a better locality at 7 am the next day. The hotel staff are polite and helpful and the receptionist was so kind that she offered one night refund after talking to the manager. she also apologised about our experience and she said that we were given the best room of their hotel !
I would advice that you look to stay near Syntagma, Plaka or Acropolis area as you will have a better touristy feeling than staying in a shabby locality at Omonia.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Lift area as the noise of Lifts going up & down and sound of door closing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hotel Pergamos is easy to go and beds were ok, no noice in the night. Breakfast was not good, but the price is very cheap, so we did not so much care. Cleaner came every day and made a good job! Hot water in the shower and room is not small but nice enough for that money. Room ws very safe. Staff speaks good english and gave few tips and too small map.

The area is awfull! There really was not safe, everywhere junkies hangin' aroud and keeping you eyes. We took taxi as soon as it got dark in the city. Taxi is cheap fortunatelly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is great value. It isn't expensive and you get what you pay for.
If you have a light sleep it might be difficult to get a good night rest. I had problems with this because the hotel is a bit noisy. My boyfriend didn't have any issues with that at all though!
The location is perfectly fine and the breakfast is basic, just good for the amount of money we paid for it, i felt. The service was really nice and helpful!
All in all: Great value, good location, nice servica and staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burringbar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel Pergamos is within 5 min walking distance of Omonia metro station, 2 stops from centre of Athens and easy access to airport. This hotel is 2 star, however it is clean, comfortable and we had a quiet back room, 6th floor. The first night was noisier than the second due to other guests banging doors and arriving late back noisily. The room itself was quite spacious for the price range but the shower is very small. The room has a safe which was great. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. The area the hotel is located in is less than salubrious but we did not feel threatened at any time and would much rather stay in an area like this than the overly touristy areas in central Athens, much more real.

Room Tip: The website pictures do not necessarily match what the rooms actually look like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruma, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Pros: price, location, staff
Cons: bad sound isolation, small shower space

If you are to visit ancient Athens sites and museums, this is a nice and cheap hotel, 5 minutes walk from Omonia square (metro), close to city center, 50 minutes from the airport by metro, a variety of public transport tickets to choose from. Basic breakfast, small rooms, but you get what you paid for, towels changed and room made daily, very nice staff. The only problem was bad sound isolation within the building, so if a bunch of middle east immigrants are on the same floor, it's not easy to fall asleep, unless you have earplugs. Immigrants are a big problem these days in Greece.

Room Tip: ask for a non-immigrant floor, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pergamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pergamos

Address: 14 Acharnon | Vathis Square, Athens 104 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pergamos 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pergamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergamos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pergamos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.