We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delice Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Delice Hotel to your Saves list
Delice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou, Athens 115 28, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

As a family with three children we have stayed at the Delice several times coming from Australia.
Located in a residential area with lots of cafe's and resaurants which open in the evening. Felt very safe walking to and from Kolonaki district where we could wander in for a meal at one of our favourite restaurants. The staff are so helful and friendly when ever we required help especially during a strike they found us alternative methods of transport. Large rooms well airconditioned with balcony and a clean part of athens. Its not the Grand Hyatt but for value and space its great
Stan and Jo Chapley

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We spent about 10 nights in August/September,2010 at this hotel and did not regret it. The rooms are very clean and are under the constant attention of a lovely lady who keeps them that way. The staff cannot be faulted on presentation,manners and their above expectations attitude to service.Nothing is ever too much to ask.Breakfast is buffet style with great variety and excellent presentation. The hotel section is older style,however everything is in excellent working order and well maintained. Handy to cafes,good restaurants and public transport to the center of Athens. Reasonably quiet neighborhood. Loved the old elevator.

Room Tip: I would dare say that all rooms would be comfortable judging by ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

In the presence of the Holiday Suites, about half a kilometer down the road, it is astonishing that Delice is still in business.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed just one night in this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and silent, the staff was very kind and helpful. I guess it's a perfect hotel for visiting the city, since it is not far from the main attractive sites of Athens. It is just 200 mt far from the metro station "Evangelismos" where there are also a lot of bus stops. The neighborhood is safe and pleasant, something quite important if you want to go to Athens in this period.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Although it is an older hotel, it is clean and has all the basic amenities. The staff is superb and the buffet breakfasts with fresh squeezed o.j. are terrific. It is located in a safe and upscale neighborhood three blocks from the Evangelismos Metro station. ( We took the Metro from the airport to the Evangelismos and walked the three blocks to the hotel.) Athens is expensive, and this hotel is a true bargain for anyone on a budget. My wife and I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent a week at Delice in September 2011. Delice is a hotel apartment. The pictures on the website are slightly inaccurate in that they show a large white post-modern building which is actually the Hilton, opposite Delice. In reality, the exterior of Delice is more homely. The interior is in a sort of 1970s style. It's very spacious. We were in a double bedroom suite, with a separate TV room (which also had a single bed in it) and open-plan kitchen, a bathroom and a little balcony.

Everything was very clean. One of the best things about our stay was that there were daily and thorough maid services included in the price. I've stayed in some hotels where the maid will *forget* to change the linen or won't do the vacuuming properly. Here they even washed our dirty dishes.

The other great thing was the location. It is very central and near the chic Kolonaki district (15 mins). The tube station is also within walking distance (5-10mins) (beware - plenty of tube strikes because of the austerity measures so DO NOT buy a weekly ticket!). It takes a day or two to get to know your area and find the nearest supermarket ( there is the "A&B" which is pretty big and about 10 mins walk from the hotel) and the nearest restaurants. There is one around the corner which does Cretan food (take a right as you exit Delice and turn the corner).

In addition, the aircon was fantastic. There is an aircon in the bedroom and also one in the TV room both are managed with an electric remote.

Finally, the reception staff were very accomodating, whenever we needed to use the internet, or e.g if we required an iron/ ironing board or had any other query/ request they would be very helpful.

Drawbacks - no electric kettle or toaster; the shower head is placed very low - about hip level which means you have to squat under it, or use one hand to scrub and one to hold the shower head up (there is a tub for those who like baths!)....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I am actually puzzled by the low rating for this hotel as it is a great bargain given its fantastic location.

Location: Located 5 minutes behind the Hilton, this little 3-star budget hotel in Kolonaki district is perfect for budget travelers. There is direct access to the hotel from the airport bus X95 (Hilton Stop costing EUR5 ) or by the metro (Blue line, Evangelissmo stop, costing EUR 7). The Evangelissmo Metro Station is about 7 minutes walk away. It didn't bother us that we are always about 1 or 2 metro stops away from the main tourist attraction as it is so easy to go anywhere by the metro. Any inconvenience with travelling is compensated by the fact that the hotel is a district where I can feel safe walking around without the constant need to clutch my handbag to my chest (an act I felt compelled to do walking around Omonia and other less desirable districts in town). There is a cafe right below and a host of eateries within 1 minutes walk, and a news stand right in front of the hotel which sells water and snacks but there is no grocery store or convenient store close by.

Facilites: Ok - this is a budget hotel, so don't expect any swimming pool or roof top restaurants. There is no porter to carry your bags to/from the door. It is true that the general decor of the hotel, the furnitures and fittings do feel like they have been around since the 1970s, but everything felt very clean and well kept. We stayed here before and after our trip to the islands. Our first room had a small balcony facing the courtyard. Our 2nd room (with a kitchenette and living room and spare bedroom) had a huge balcony facing the courtyard. The hotel has a very tiny elevator so you do not have to carry your own luggage up the stairs, but the elevator is very tiny and if you are not of petite size like me, there may be difficulty fitting two people with luggage in it. Breakfast is typical European affair with bread, Greek yoghurt and some ham and cheese. The freshly squeezed orange juice is probably the highlight of the day. There is free wifi access in the room, but only limited to one account access per room.

Service: The staff is always very friendly and are very quick to recommend restaurants or places to visit. (Although I must say that I was more than a little disappointed the staff had not mentioned to us there was a general public transport strike on the day we checked out and due to fly to the airport! Fortunately we got this information from the kind porter at Hilton.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delice Hotel

Address: 3 Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.