We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are absolutely tight on budget then this can be the last option” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Minoa to your Saves list
Hotel Minoa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Karolou Str, Athens 104 37, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are absolutely tight on budget then this can be the last option”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel room was the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. I am not blowing it out of proportion. The room opens infront of the main road and all night it was buzzing. As I am writing this review there is somebody hammering a nail in the wall. The hotel room confirmed its not them. The flush tank makes you feel like you shouldn't have flushed in the 1st place.

Service ...there wasn't any so unfair to judge. Linens didn't feel clean. Carpet was the almost sticky. In short if I could turn time back I would pay that extra 5€ and book a.different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
44
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
StockholmSweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

When searching for an hotel in Athens I chose Hotel Minoa for two reasons. It´s easy to reach from the airport and the rate per night is very reasonable. My choice turned out to be a success. My room was very good with air condition, TV, safe and refrigerator. In spite of the rather heavy traffic outside I slept very well as the window was soundproof. The breakfast was excellent. The staff, and especially the night porter, was nice and very helpful. I will certainly choose Hotel Minoa for my next trip to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was late for a plane and needed a hotel for a night to sleep. The taxi driver took me here.
Welcome was nice, but:
1. the room was with terrible smoke smell.
2. the aircond made sound but not cold
3. bed also uncomfortably hard with a small pillow.

as a result - i didn't sleep at all. Don't go there - search for other hotels, as I later found there is an hour of free wifi interntet in Athens airport, so better find another hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I found this hotel after we canceled on a hotel I initally booked. The area of this hotel is not great, but I found that it was relatively safe to walk at night. The best thing about this hotel is that it is less than kilometer away from metro station 'Metaxourghio' which as others mentioned is 3 stops the from the Acropoli station, 2 from Syntagma. The hotel accomodations was decent. I paid about 170 euro for 3 nights. The hotel owner or worker tried to get me at 70 euro a night but I was able to bring him down. The room smelled like cigarrettes. This hotel is just what it should be a place to rest your head and take a shower. I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast they had. The food was good but not great. All veggies and fruits were fresh. I do recommend this hotel, and for those reviews that say the neighborhood is bad, those ppl must be living in Pleasantville.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed for two nights, firstly the hotel is definately in bad part of athens, my advice is to avoid any accomodation near ommonia square!! Not a very safe feeling place, definately wouldnt feel safe if travelling solo. The hotel room was clean, but absolutely smelt of cigarettes, for a non smoker it was terrible, We had requested a non smoking room, but apparently that didnt make much difference. The room was noisy, we could hear other guests talking and moving around and any time anyone used any water/toilet we could hear the pipes. The hotel did provide free wi fi and breakfast. Internet was fast and available in our room. The breakfast was basic and was in a small cramped room where there wasnt enough seats for everyone and the staff were in a rush to get you in and out, in saying this for about 35 euros a night, maybe i cant expect much more???

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the great value, and everything after that was a more than a pleasant surprise. 200 yards or so from the Metro, 3 short stops from Symatra station, easy access to everything. Best of all- staff and owners. Incredible, went above and beyond in helping us with Athens issues we had.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

From € 51 p/night incl b'fast for 2 people you can't go wrong with this hotel - it is within walking distance to the Plaka area and Acropolis and a train station.
Highly recommend for the budget concious travellers

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Minoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minoa

Address: 12 Karolou Str, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minoa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Minoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.