We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nafsika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nafsika to your Saves list
Hotel Nafsika
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Karolou str, Athens 104 37, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very cheap, close to metro station, staff was very friendly and helped us a lot by suggesting places to visit and how to get there. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily, breakfast was included although it was very basic. And most importantly, free wifi in the rooms!

However, the bathroom was very small, you could shower while sitting on the toilet! We were advised by the staff not to walk around the hotel at night because the area wasn't safe but we didn't have any bad experiences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    26
    5
    10
See reviews for
5
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

First day in Athens on our 3 week trip around Greece & Turkey. The hotel was easy to find (just steps to the metro) which was a big plus. The area of the hotel is dirty and very busy but it had it's own little charm to it. Super cheap when compared to other places, but you get what you pay for. Could be a little cleaner saw some bugs scurrying around the bathroom floor, but old building in a big city, I can look past that. If you're not planning on staying a long amount of time in the hotel while in Athens, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I travel to a city like Athens, where I know I won't be spending hardly any time in the hotel, I opt for a budget hotel thats clean and near public transportation. That is exactly what I got with Hotel Nafsika. The room was so small. We had a triple room and it was still so small. It was very clean though, which was nice. The shower was also so small. Thank God for the drain on the floor in the bathroom, theres no way you can keep the water in the shower. The AC worked ok. The staff was VERY nice and helpful and all spoke English well. The breakfast was across the street from the hotel and was decent. The metro was a short walk away and was so convenient to use to get to all the sites we wanted to see. For the price we paid and the intnent of 3 days in Athens, it was perfect and inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After a long haul flight, the location was literally 50m from the metro station and easy to find. The neighbourhood is easy walking distance to explore the city and all the popular sites or jump on a metro train to go further afield. The man at reception was exceptionally helpful, speaking very good English and pointing out on a map all the must sees in Athens as well as recommending a fabulous cheap local eatery (beautifully set in a little neighbourhood square with a church). Good basic clean rooms with aircon. The breakfast in the cafe across the road was plentiful and fresh (typical European fare). Wifi worked no dramas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although it's located in a not so friendly area in Athens, the room was big, very confortable and a/c worked very well. The breakfast was good, not so big but correct, with cheese, ham, corn flakes, bread.. and greek yogurt!
The man at the reception, who speaks italian, was so kind and friendly and he's always ready to help you.
The location is between two subway stations but you can go by foot to the centre, it's like 20-25 min.
So if you want a correct hotel with all the facilities but without luxuries, that's a good option!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we stayed two times only for 1 night.
if you need some cheap and clean place to sleep - this is the best choice!

very friendly and well english speaking staff!
clean rooms!
acceptabel breakfast.
the location is perfect - very close to the metrostation and to the train.

i asked for still rooms in those several nights - and i got them - no traffic noise at all.
one time we came 3 o'clock in the morning - no problem at all.
i can only repeat: very friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We weren't expecting much when we booked this place at 25 euros, just a basic room etc. when we checked in a lady at the desk was very nice everything seemed in order, room and hotel are very run down but OK. However when we came back down to the lobby we were first screamed at by a different employee (a man named jannis) for not dropping off the key at the desk as we were exiting (no one told us of this policy to leave the key), and then we were further aggressively accosted because our CC transaction apparently did not go through. Which was bogus because it absolutely did go through when he tried it the second time, (after being accused of having an ilegitamite credit card with no apology) but we also noticed that our credit car details were just left typed on a piece of paper on the reservation desk that anyone could see. We were totally shocked that we were spoken to so rudely and yelled at, and even after I told him to use a better tone with us we were given absolutely no apology after this Jannis guy sorted out his own mistake. He told me he was the owner, which I hope is not true. I have stayed in everything from dirty youth hostels to luxury hotels and everything in between in my travels, and know when not to expect an amazing experience. But NEVER have I experienced such disrespect as a paying customer. And as an added bonus the area is very run down and feels unsafe at night. Take your business elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nafsika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nafsika

Address: 21 Karolou str, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nafsika 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nafsika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nafsika Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nafsika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.