We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pan Hotel to your Saves list
Pan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Mitropoleos Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece (Plaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights here, a week apart. The hotel is very conveniently located just off Syntagma Square and near to airport buses etc. Our first room was in fact two linked rooms, very spacious and with a great bathroom. The second room was smaller but perhaps more recently refurbished, with the world's best aircon - silent and effective.
The breakfast area is tiny and gets crowded, but the buffet on offer is varied and tasty. Spanakopita especially good!
Most of the reception staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The only problems we met weren't really the hotel's fault. On our first night there was a concert in the Square with music so loud it shook the building, and made sleep impossible until 2 a.m. This was much more than just the usual city noises that one expects. Maybe the hotel double glazing could have been more effective, but nothing would have kept that out!
On our return visit we were located near a party of teenagers who charged the corridors and slammed doors until late. So although the Pan's beds are comfortable, we didn't manage enough sleep on either night.
However, there are lots of pluses to the Pan, and we would happily book here again for its convenience and good value.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    143
    58
    13
    4
See reviews for
71
96
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for its central location, only a few blocks from Syntagma Square and the tour office, and it was a wonderful choice! Although the room was small, it was great by European standards, and we were very pleased with the service - especially the fact that the desk received messages of meeting locations from our tour company while we were out, and passed them along to us each day. And the room and bathroom were kept immaculately clean! The continental breakfast was great - a perfect start to an Athens day. We highly recommend as a mid-priced "non luxury" hotel option in central Athens.

Room Tip: We booked online and did not choose the room. However the private balcony came with every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna P, Director of Sales at Pan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Boyd F,

A great thank you from all of us for your good words and for choosing us for your stay in Athens!
It will be more than pleasure for us to meet again in Pan Hotel!

Best regards,
Panagiotopoulou Ioanna
Sales Manager
Pan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ιωάννινα, Ελλάδα, Ευρώπη
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel in the best location in Athens. Safe neighborhood, walking distance of all the important sights and next to many good bars and restaurants. The hotel seems to be recently renovated, is very clean and is equipped with all necessities. They even provide slippers which we didn't get in much more expensive hotels...Also the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok but very basic. A big disadvantage is that the hotel has no parking facilities and finding a parking space in the area is very difficult.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna P, Director of Sales at Pan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear rainbowtravel2891,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for choosing us for your stay in Athens!
Such good words are nothing but the best reward for us. As far as the parking is concerned, should you visit us again (which we really hope you do) there are three parking places (private places) both open air and closed ones in a distance of 2 blocks from Pan Hotel. Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our property in the near future.

Best regards,
Panagiotopoulou Ioanna
Sales Manager
Pan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel couldn't be better situated, just off Syntagma Square and within very easy walking distance of the Plaka, the Acropolis and many other tourist attractions. It's very clean, and the staff are very helpful. One or two minor things: the air con unit seemed to act more like a fan, and even at the beginning of May, wasn't really adequate for cooling the room at night (we turned it down to the lowest possible temperature) - being at the front of the building, we couldn't open the balcony door to cool the room because of the noise. The wifi signal is very weak. And the rolls and croissants at breakfast seemed to have come out of a big packet rather than being fresh so gave the impression of being a little stale. However, in spite of this, I really think that, for the price, you couldn't do better.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back so you can open the window/door to the balcony at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna P, Director of Sales at Pan Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear ZestyLondon,

Thank you for your preference in our hotel and for leaving your review in TripAdvisor.
As far as the A/C is concerned, I would be very interested in knowing in which room number have you stayed in order to check it and see if there is something wrong with it. As far as the rolls and croissants, they are being delivered daily to our hotel by a baker so they are always fresh, however i will personally check it myself.
It would be very polite of you if you could send me your room number to my email address pansales@panhotel.gr (if you do not remember your room number, you can send me the name under which the reservation was made).
Thank you in advance for your help.

Best regards,
Panagiotopoulou Ioanna
Sales Manager
Pan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Convenient location in Syntagma Square, within walking distance from Metro station, the bus station to the airport, shopping area,cafes and restaurants and most sights of interest in the centre like Acropolis and Acropolis Museum, Parliament, Plaka, Monastiraki etc. The hotel is basic,clean, offers reasonable prices and very helpful front desk.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Any shortcomings with the hotel were more than made up by the staff, in particular Christos, who was most charming and helpful. The rooms are small with no drawer storage in the room we were allocated, so we 'lived' out of our suitcases. The wardrobe was not wide enough for coat hangers to be placed other than diagonally. Nevertheless the room was very clean, the beds comfortable and although very small the bathroom was adequate. The breakfast area gets very congested when a group is staying at the hotel but on other days is more comfortable. The breakfast food on offer is somewhat repetitive but fresh and well presented.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Hotel

Address: 11 Mitropoleos Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pan Hotel! So, what is the element that has made this 3 star city hotel of Athens operating for more than 50 years? The fact that is operated from the 3rd generation, something that effortlessly proves that tourism and hospitality run within the family, together with our friendly staff, are two of the most important aspects of our hotel that have made guests prefer us over and over again when visiting Athens. Our unique location (Syntagma Square), only adds to help you make the choice whether you are a family, a couple or a solo traveler, whether travelling for business or pleasure. The Parliament, National Garden, Panathinaic Stadium, Zappion, Plaka (old city of Athens), Monastiraki, Greek taverns, restaurants of national cuisines, Lycabetus Hill, churches of different religions, The Acropolis and Parthenon, numerous museums such as The Acropolis Museum, Archaeological Museum, The Benaki Museum, etc., central shopping areas, department stores, banks and embassies, etc. are all within walking distances from our hotel. Enjoy a walk or a swim at the beach by taking the Tram where its terminal is only 100m. from our hotel. Easily reached from the airport (El. Venizelos) or Piraeus port, as the Metro and the Airport Express Bus stop within 5 minutes walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Pan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.