We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In that Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden City Hotel to your Saves list
Golden City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Marni Str, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best In that Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights mid September with 3 others. Rooms a lovely and clean, bathroom was nice and big. Only issue I have is that the room was not vacumed daily and we had dirty glasses not replaced daily either. Same dirty glasses remaind in our room until we left 4 days later. As for breakfast, standed and nothing to write home about, on more then one occassion I didnt eat anything just had coffee, It can be improved greatly, if they so chose.I would like to mention Maria the waitress in the cafe as she was lovely and always happy to help, and the young man at reception made our stay. As for the older gentleman as reception well what can I say but, manner and tone of speach can go far when dealing with paying customers. Once again Maria and the other young man thank you for making a stay wonderful, and because of you we will be back and I will recommend others because of you both.

Room Tip: Preferable not one facing the bus stop on the side, unless you want to be entertained by the druggie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    71
    27
    21
    11
See reviews for
22
46
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for about 4 nights. The location is near the tube station as shown on the booking website. However the room looks nothing like the pictures you see on their page. The room was small, the bathroom was always wet because of the leak!

The only good thing about the hotel was the price, the location and the breakfast. Still good for short stay!

Room Tip: Look for hotels near Sytagma or Ermou for the best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The hotel was neat and clean, near the metro station, and offered a nice roof garden terrace with a big breakfast included in the room price. The price was really good. Not the most nice area to walk at night - not that we saw anything dangerous - but was dark and empty. But u can get a taxi for really cheap as the distance hotel - metro station is 2 mins drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel along with my friendsfor three nights. The hotel is very near to the restaurants, bars and tourist shops.

The breakfast is good. Lots of bacon. The room is clean and the shower was excellent. We was surprised the receptions seldom smile. Love this hotel

We will comeback and we recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: Any rooms is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my friend for three nights. We arrived very late at night and had to wait for a few minutes, as the receptionist was not at his desk. I see this as an exception though, as there was always someone there the following nights. We accidentally got a smoking room the first night, but we were able to switch without any problems after asking for a non-smoking room the next morning.

The room itself is small, but totally sufficient. We had a peak into some other rooms on our floor, and it seems we got the smallest category, so there is a chance you will have more space. The a/c worked perfectly (which was important, as it is HOT in August) and quickly, better than many other and more expensive hotels I have stayed in in other cities.
The buffet-style breakfast has scrambled eggs (very tasty!), bacon, sausages, bread (including a choice of jams) and fruit. Nothing fancy, but it is served on the top floor of the hotel, and you get to enjoy an awesome view of the city while eating.

The staff speaks very good English (and at least one employee spoke German fluently) and are mostly very friendly and helpful. We only encountered one employee at the reception who seemed a little annoyed at a guest's request, but we had no trouble at all.

The Wifi reception is not very good. In the downstairs lobby, there is pretty much no reception at all. In our room (3rd floor), it was fine for WhatsApp and a little Facebook, but sometimes it just broke down. It is for free though, so no money is lost here.

We arrived from the airport and left via taxi, so I can't really say anything concerning airport access. In the mornings, we walked to Omonia station (about 10-15 minutes), where we took the subway.
There is a small kiosk right across the street, where we bought water and softdrinks.

A lot of the reviews mention the "terrible" and "dangerous" neighborhood. This is something we did not experience at all. I felt like a lot of areas of Athens are not very clean and seem to have an overall "dirty" look, but we encountered no dangerous situations at all. We saw a few prostitutes about five minutes up the street and an obvious drug addict about ten minutes walking distance from the hotel, but this was never a reason for us to feel unsafe at all. We were never harassed or anything, so I think most of the reviews are based on stereotypes (I mean, what do I care if prostitutes are standing on the street? If I don't feel comfortable with this line of work, then I don't hire one, simple as that.) and not on real experiences.

If you are just looking for a simple, clean place to sleep and are out exploring the city during the day anyway, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When checking in, double check on smoking or non-smoking room. We got a smoking room for the first n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed for one night in August 2014.
The hotel is good value for money. Located not very far from Metaxourgio metro station, the area seems a bit dangerous, but definately it's not. You shouldn't be afraid of something that doesn't look like you.
Room had the comfort I needed. It was clean, good bed, aircondition was working excellent, big bathroom, clean towels.
For sure I will prefer it again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Hotel is clean, tidy and simple. breakfast on the rooftop was brilliant giving a panoramic view of Athens. Location was good, only a 5 minute walk to a metro station. However we booked a triple room and the third bed was a small creaky camp bed however we all slept well regardless!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City Hotel

Address: 46 Marni Str, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Athens
Hotel Golden City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.