We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden City Hotel to your Saves list
Golden City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Marni Str, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 330 Hotels in Athens
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The number of positive reviews this hotel has seems incongruous with how I found it. This is a smoky, dingy, cramped, and located in a very dangerous neighborhood. “Free Internet” = in lobby only, and there is a ridiculously expensive charge for internet in the room. Our tour had planned on the Acropolis Hill Hotel, and then the hotel for the night was inexplicable changed to this one! I can't help but suspect our tour company found a way to make a last minute profit by changing our itinerary. The hotel is full of young travelers who are up late, making lots of noise, and the staff seems overwhelmed. These are all signs of a hotel that does not want to upgrade its services for return customers, and tour companies that are too willing to shop for cut-rate hotels that travelers have no way of rejecting once they’re on the trip. This is not a hotel that is a nice place to return to after a day of walking around the city of Athens. The surrounding neighborhood did not feel very safe, either, esp. at night. I wouldn't never stay in the hotel again, would rather stay up all night on a bus. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Not much to say about this one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kotor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel itself was not bad.It was three of us staying there, our room was OK, spacious and comfortable,though, could be a bit cleaner. But, some of the hotel stuff wasn't very polite.Of course,we had many questions, but if you work at the reception it is your duty to be polite.
In addition,one morning, the man working in the restaurant where we had breakfast, literally forced us to finish and leave the restaurant and then shut the door loudly behind us!
But, putting that aside, the area where this hotel is situated is the worst part of Athens, you cannot go out alone in the night, many homeless people, drug addicts, prostitutes, not safe at all!
Wouldn't reccommend it for those who want to stay longer and explore the city, because this is your first impression, and believe me, you would be surprised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra_Montenegro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night the room was basic but very clean and warm. The tv was broken when i arrived but i phoned reception and it was sorted quickly. Breakfast was very good with a big choice of warm and cold foods and plenty of juice and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 144loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The service was great, the price even better and the breakfast served quite decent. Daily room service, a nice environment, friendly staff and a more-than-decent room. I've got to note that due to high traffic there was some noise and the bathroom had a bad odour potentially from the pipes. There was a bath (sort of) in the bathroom, but almost half the regular size. Still better than just a shower though. The location is great for easy access to the city, although not in one of the best locations, some people would feel insecure moving around alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manos_Som
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Service is good. The hotel rooms are very clean, breakfast is good (not excellent), the location is very central about 300m from Metaksourgeio Metro Station and at walking distance (20min) from Monastiraki. Although the area is central I wouldn't recommend it to families because of the high number of (illegal?) immigrants that make an unsafe feeling to the area. Although Athens is still one of the safest capitals in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thíra, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

i stayed almost 2 weeks and is a very nice hotel very clean and the stuff ALL are very kind helpfull and professionals.... anytime i will be in Athens i will never change it.... very good value for money and breakfast was also nice .... the stuff is always help and make your stay as easy and comfortable is possible......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drosos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were so happy to arrive at golden city!!! It was lovely! The service was great giving up a wake up call, take away brekky because we had to leave at 6am, gave us a map and showed us around and good places to eat! The rooms were clean and big. bathroom is great ( has a bath)! The restaurant downstairs was very nice, fresh juice is Delish!!! Overall very nice, would highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessipica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Achillion Hotel
#117 of 330 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Crystal City Hotel
#114 of 330 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
#123 of 330 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oscar Hotel
#127 of 330 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#132 of 330 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#71 of 330 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City Hotel

Address: 46 Marni Str, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 330 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Athens
Hotel Golden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing