We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden City Hotel to your Saves list
Golden City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Marni Str, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 325 Hotels in Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were so happy to arrive at golden city!!! It was lovely! The service was great giving up a wake up call, take away brekky because we had to leave at 6am, gave us a map and showed us around and good places to eat! The rooms were clean and big. bathroom is great ( has a bath)! The restaurant downstairs was very nice, fresh juice is Delish!!! Overall very nice, would highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    73
    27
    21
    15
See reviews for
22
46
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel is great, super super clean everything feels brand new in the room. People at the reception were super helpful, i even got sick one day and had a high fever due somthing i ate and they were up and running quickly with medication and a doctor. Its 3 minutes walk from the metro station, 10 minutes walk from the nearest bus station which i actually dont recomend, metro is much faster and efficient Would recommend this hotel very much.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The stay was great and it provided continental breakfast which was convenient. However, it didn't provide wifi in the rooms. You could only use it in the lobby.

Otherwise, everything else was good!
- spacious room, clean bathroom with toiletries
- cupboard and hangers for clothes
- had air-conditioner

It's 10-12 mins away from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we arrived and we had a safe which was not working, we were moved rooms immediately. We had a pleasant, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. we were told it was not in a good area (by everyone) but we never felt threatened and we never saw any problems, despite walking about at night. The breakfast was okay, but the usual continental stuff but the yoghurt with honey was fantastic!! This hotel was very good for the price we paid and if it was as cheap next time we would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: ask for a safe that works....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in room 711-very spacious,clean and comfortable. The room accommodated 2 adults, a preschooler and a baby without a problem. The service is always 5 star; English speaking staff and breakfast consisted of a wide variety of foods. Good value for money!!! This was our 4th stay there and we plan to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is one of many small hotels near Omonia Square. It´s centrally located, but in a rough and noisy part of town, if you arrive after ark with luggage, better take a taxi. But the hotel is nice, clean room with international tv channels, good breakfast is served in roof restaurant with a terrace from where you have a fine view of the city. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Everything was great about this hotel. Room (shared with two others of our tour group) was spacious with balcony. The semi enclosure on the shower/tub and hair dryer were weird, but great toiletries. The reception service was exceptional from parking the luggage earlier in the day to directions to arranging a day tour.
Convenient location to Omonia Square--within walking distance or metro to everything--once you get used to dodging traffic to get across a very busy street to get to the hotel. Our guide knew the "better" way to get to the hotel, avoiding a somewhat seedy piece of neighborhood nearby. Always felt safe and I stayed over an extra day after the tour.
Breakfast (included) and dinner buffets very nice in the rooftop restaurant. Very friendly waitstaff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City Hotel

Address: 46 Marni Str, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Athens
Hotel Golden City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.