We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropolis to your Saves list
Hotel Metropolis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
10% discount
Ranked #33 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thank you for a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

An excellent value, rooms are not huge but we were fine with that. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The location could not be better. Every night we were there my husband and I enjoyed beautiful views of the Acropolis from our balcony. If you do not get a room with a view of the Acropolis you can go to the roof top terrace. You can also purchase break fast for about 3 USD.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    121
    46
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
164
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We wanted an affordable clean room close to the Acropolis and Plaka. The hotel did not disappoint us. The wrap around balcony was a pleasant surprise. We had an unobstructed view of the Acropolis as well as the opportunity to watch the hubbub of Athens from our room. If you are planning to spend time in your room, this is not for you. If you intend to sleep, shower, change and grab the odd nap in your room and spend the rest of your time enjoying historic Athens, this is the place for you. If you have luggage, I reccomend one person uses the elevator at a time.
If we return to Athens, we will return here.

Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Liked — Location was perfect
  • Disliked — Small but that was expected for the price.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

LOCATION: On a narrow side street just off the main square, across the street from a nice little park with a lawn and next to that a large church with big square out in front of it and the Platka is at your doorstep.
HOTEL: Narrow building with bright crimson Bouganvilla vine covering about 90% of the entire building. In the front window of the place is a larger-than-life statue of a guy in motorcycle garb. I asked the guy who it was and got a totally evasive (non) answer, but on the wall behind the front desk is a B&W close-up photo of some young guy who I decided is (or was) the inpiration for the statue...whatever.
LOBBY: A very narrow space with enough room for the small front desk, the clerk behind it and you in front of it and not much more. No lounging around here.
ELEVATOR: A converted phone booth big enough for you and one decent size piece of luggage. Gets the job done.
BEDROOM: I had a single (#501) with a single bed, small writing table and chair, long night stand, built in closet and couple of drawers.
BATHROOM: Large, all tile and a window with view of Acropolis, tub/shower combo. Plenty of room to towel off after bathing without bruising your elbows.
TERRACE: Large enough for more people than can fit in the actual bedroom with spectacular view of Acropolis.
OVERALL: Perfectly adequate for a tourist stay where you are gone all day and don't need to hang around the hotel. Very clean, quiet, comfortable and conveniet to all the sights (what sights?: The Acropolis and The Platka). Awesome location.
I definately would stay there again. My price was 60euro a night through their web site.

  • Liked — Location, view, cleanliness, quiet, large bathroom
  • Disliked — Ho-Hum front desk
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-Sept 2008. The room was booked via the hotel's webiste directly. We scheduled to arrive at around 9pm but due to flight delayed we have finally arrived at 1am. It was very good that the room was retained for our check-in.

The decor was a bit old, and so as the lift. There was no door at one side of the lift, which scared us when we used it at the first time. We have a room in top floor. It was small, but have a quite big sized bathroom and a balcony facing Acropolis, which was amazing especially at night!! The room is reasonably clean. The downside is there was no fridge in room.

Location is very good, just cross a road you will be in Plaka. In 5-min you will reach the most busy area of Plaka. A further 5-min walk you will reach Acropolis. Airport bus station and metro stations are also within 5-min walk to the hotel.

We met three staff in lobby, all are very nice and friendly. Didn't expenience the same as the previous reviewer experienced. At the night before we check out when we paid the bill in advance, the staff even arranged a morning call service for us as we need to wake up early to catch the 7:15am ferry.

I would say it is worth to stay here if you're not looking for a luxurious room.

  • Liked — Location, Acropolis
  • Disliked — Old decor and furniture
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

A terrible travel experience I ever have!
We spent 4 days(from Sep-17 to Sep-20) to stay in this hotel with reservation letter,the location was not bad and the reception manager looks friendly at first two days.Suddenly at third days(Sat. morning) we were informed that we had to check out immediately since he insisted that my wife ever told him to check out on Sat. and he even gave me a hint that my wife told a lie.I totally could not agree his points with some reasons:
1.If travelers were not satisfied with their hotel ,usually they will check out at second morning immediately but not in third days

2.There were no clear reasons for us to check out at third days since we only planed to stay in Athens 4 days.If we wanted to check out in third days we have to spend a lot of time to find a new hotel,especially in Sat. morning!!

3.If my wife ever told him to check out in third day,they should double confirm with us at second night in advance but not inform us in third morning suddenly.
This means something wrong in their hotel management.

4.We had been "strongly suggested" by manager to move to their related hotel(bad location compared with Metropolis hotel) by noon since new customers will come in Sat afternoon and they will not move to that hotel ,that means we have to move to match their schedule!!

5.The manager had a bad attitude during discussions,at the end when we requested to call police officer for this argument he only gave us an address and refused to help us to call police officer.I must say we felt no respect during discussions with this so called "customer service manager"!!

Finally we had no choice but checking out in Sat morning and spent more than 2 hrs to find a new hotel,I must said the hotel location is not bad,but I will never stay in this hotel again since you will never know when to be expelled suddenly!!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We have spent two nights in the hotel, at the begining of August 2008. The hotel is located in walking distance of the Acropolis, in a quiet neighbourhood.

The hotel itself seems a little old, from the late 1970'. But it has been kept with care. It was tidy and clean enough.

Our room was quite small, but we were not expecting a ball room. It had a window that face a pedestrian road. It had a noisy air conditioning that was very convenient due to the hod weather of Athens. The bed was a bit too narrow for two adults. There was a sink and a mirror in the room, and another in the bathroom.

The bath was tiny, with a shower next to the wc. There was the possibility of having breakfast on the terrasse for 5 euros but we preferred to stroll around the city. The views from the terrace on the Acropolis, nevertheless, were magnificent.

They have an open parking in front of the hotel very convenient. The owners (father and son) were extremly kind.

  • Liked — The kindness of the staff
  • Disliked — The bed size and the noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Location, Location, Location. I stayed in the Metropolis hotel in Athens at Easter and had a wonderful time. Right in the middle of everything and in front of all the celebrating. I stayed in room 51 and had indeed a fantastic view to the Acropolis and a big terrace. Room was clean and maintained clean daily, free wireless internet access and parking. I was skeptic at the begging because the price of 60 euro seemed cheap for this area. I would recommend this place for a great stay with second thought.

  • Liked — Location, view, service
  • Disliked — Traffic
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.