We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean rooms, Nice staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diethnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diethnes to your Saves list
Hotel Diethnes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Peoniou Str., Athens 10440, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Rhodes Town, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very clean rooms, Nice staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Diethens is a great budget hotel, which is perfectly located 300 meters away from the Metro station and 10 minutes away from the Victoria square. The price for a room is too low comparing with other 2 star hotels, so it is perfect if you are looking for a low cost, high standard place to stay for some nights. My room was spotlessly clean, the staff was smiley and helpfull and the breakfast on the rooftop was above my expectations. The room was equipped with an A/C, a television and a mini fridge all working very well and you can use them without any extra charge. I would say that I had a nice stay in Diethnes Hotel and it is a very good choise for someone who wants a hotel which is affordable, clean and close to the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
16
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located next to the main train station in Athens (Larissis), and with a 15 minute walk of the ancient sites and Old CIty. It is housed in a charming 19th c. building that stands out in its surroundings - the neighborhood is a little shabby, but safe. We were using the hotel as a launching/returning point for a cruise from Pireaus. The rooms are variously sized, and it is definitely worth paying tan extra five or ten euros for a "superior" doubel room. The little balcony was charming, and I loved the original mouldings on the ceilings. Beds were a little hard, but eveything was extremely clean. Wifi worked perfectly, and our room even came with its own laptop and printer, complementary! The staff were WONDERFUL, helpful, friendly, and proactive (they double-checked train scheduels for us since the metro was striking). Breakfast was continental, but charming on the rooftop, with a lovely view of the city. I highly recommend this as a budget accomodation! Cannot be beat for the price, and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Book the superios double room - the extra space is worth the extra ten EUR!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I had a two-day stopover in Athens while on a site seeing trip, we stayed at the Diethnes Hotel. We had a twin room and it was only $87.52 for the two nights. The room was very clean however; the air conditioning did not work in our room. Luckily, it was not too hot. The staff spoke English very well and helped us to find places nearby to see while staying. The Larissa Station was just a short walk from the hotel and we were able to a see few sites before we left. Overall, the stay was nice but we might look for an upgrade the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We've been traveling for quite a while now, and compared to other budget hotels we've used on this trip, this one is a gem.

The price is decent, the area is clean and safe and close to the metro (about a block away from Larisa Station), the staff is friendly.

THE WIFI WORKS, and works in the rooms. The staff is generous with the passwords, giving one per device. (Other hotels made the two of us share, only allowing us access one at a time, and some the wifi passwords didn't even work.)

The terrace breakfast room is lovely, and one day when we had to leave before breakfast was served to catch our ferry for a day tour, the staff prepared a special breakfast for us downstairs!

Also, because we are backpacking, and only have camping towels. We took our bathroom towels on the ferry with us. When we came back, we had fresh towels. That hasn't always been the case either.

All in all, we have been delighted with the friendly generous service in this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I spent three nights here and thought it was a great find. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good shower, reasonable storage and a little fridge, good breakfast in top floor breakfast room with fantastic views, not that that matters in a city hotel!! Very quiet location but right next to Larissa metro and station, where one can easily get taxis to bus stations etc. I had a late arrival on my first night and was able to have a very nice salad and a beer in the little bar. Reception is open 24 hours so ideal for late arrivals/early starts. Supermarket around the corner for any forgotten items. As others have said, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel has a nice character, kept clean, good location, just a bloc around Larissa Station. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only small con is that the shower was one of those stand up one with only a curtain, so when you took a shower there would be water everywhere. Overall I'm very happy for the money (30 Euros for 2 people), and I would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A lovely neo classical style hotel with very friendly staff, clean rooms (TV fridge complimentary toiletries) and lift access to all floors. Nothing was too much trouble and the friendly English speaking night manager ordered me in a tasty Italian meal even though it was after midnight. For the price paid, this hotel was terrific and I can recommend it for stays in Athens rather than stay in Psirri, the Plaka area or other city locations. It is literally next to Larissis Metro and only 10 mins by taxi to Kifissou Bus Station for travel all over Greece with KTEL coaches. The hotel is handy if arriving on an evening flight into the airport and needing to get an early bus out of the city to the Peloponnese or elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diethnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diethnes

Address: 52 Peoniou Str., Athens 10440, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diethnes 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diethnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diethnes Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diethnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.