We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Backpackers to your Saves list
Athens Backpackers
12 Makri Street | Makrigianni, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOT DEALS ALL WINTER
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfect Position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Dont worry about the photos. They dont do this place justice. Its clean, the people running it are great, its cheap and its in the best location you can get. There is also a milkbar about 30sec walk that sells beer...awesome. I stayed here with my mate and our girlfriends and we had a blast, met heaps of people while sitting around having a drink and they ended up coming to the greek islands with us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    126
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
19
37
89
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The website booking was a little unclear, so I ended up staying in the backpackers rather than the studios as I intended, but for a single night this was fine.

I was in a 4-bed ensuite room on the first floor which was clean, spacious and had two balconies with orange trees outside. Beds were reasonably comfortable but the room was very hot. It didn't seem to make any difference having the windows closed for the aircon, so we left the windows open for a little ventilation.

Breakfast was simple (eggs, toast, tea, coffee) but there are plenty of cafes nearby. The surrounding area is great, lots of restaurants, good atmosphere, right by Acropolis metro.

The staff were welcoming and very helpful for booking a reliable taxi to the bus station in the morning. Other people staying were friendly and considerate, so it felt like a safe place to stay. There was free wifi throughout, free bag storage, open plan lounge area as well as the rooftop with a great view across the city.

Room Tip: Check if the aircon is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Can't believe how perfect this location is. It could not be more convenient for your time in Athens, right on the metro stop for the Acropolis and ancient ruins. There's a rooftop bar with Parthenon views, free and fast wifi, free breakfast, and everything is totally secure and safe. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a 4-bed ensuite room and stayed there for three nights. The aircon was working but it continuously leaked drops of water. We immediately told this to the staff but they didn't act on this until the third night. We placed the trash can over the AC leak and half the trash can was filled in the morning.

When were back for another night, we were still assigned to the same room, and the AC was wonky - turned on and off - even if we closed all the windows (AC won't work when windows are open). Booo.

Breakfast is so-so. There's free coffee and tea in the kitchen.

This hostel was saved by its great location. It is just a short walk from the Acropolis and the side streets may look a bit uninteresting but we found some really good restaurants nearby. Lots of souvenir shops, and we were able to walk to Syntagma Square and Plaka as well.

Room Tip: The AC in room 1-1 during our stay sucked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Couldn't believe how friendly, comfortable and cheap this place is. Right next to the Acropolis and the metro underground system and a really interesting area. What more could you ask for. They have opened a new section called Studios which is even better, with the city's only laundrette underneath. Everyone working there is totally geared up to be friendly and helpful. Do it.

Room Tip: "Sharing a room is cool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The crew that runs this place is great, its right down the street from the Acropolis and the Metro, and there's a rooftop bar overlooking the Parthenon and old town. What else could you possibly be looking for in a hostel in Athens?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

You really can't beat the location of athens backpackers, right next to the Akropoli metro stop and within walking distance of almost all the main sites. The rooms are really nice compared to most other hostels i've stayed in - very clean, en suite bathroom, little kitchen and a balcony. The restaurant and bar downstairs make the atmosphere really fun. I would definitely recommend! Had a great time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Backpackers

Address: 12 Makri Street | Makrigianni, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet 2012 says "Athens Backpackers has fast become the hostel of choice for visitors, thanks to its excellent facilities and unbeatable location." In Your Pocket March 2012 says "A never-to-be-forgotten experience, people adore this non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travellers like you"Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhereAthens' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Twice weekly LIVE music, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.* No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Athens Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Backpackers Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.