We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in a Great City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Backpackers to your Saves list
Athens Backpackers
12 Makri Street | Makrigianni, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOT DEALS ALL WINTER
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Bucharest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Great City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Couldn't believe how friendly, comfortable and cheap this place is. Right next to the Acropolis and the metro underground system and a really interesting area. What more could you ask for. They have opened a new section called Studios which is even better, with the city's only laundrette underneath. Everyone working there is totally geared up to be friendly and helpful. Do it.

Room Tip: "Sharing a room is cool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    126
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
19
37
89
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The crew that runs this place is great, its right down the street from the Acropolis and the Metro, and there's a rooftop bar overlooking the Parthenon and old town. What else could you possibly be looking for in a hostel in Athens?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

You really can't beat the location of athens backpackers, right next to the Akropoli metro stop and within walking distance of almost all the main sites. The rooms are really nice compared to most other hostels i've stayed in - very clean, en suite bathroom, little kitchen and a balcony. The restaurant and bar downstairs make the atmosphere really fun. I would definitely recommend! Had a great time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A great find in a fantastic location. It wasn't particularly cheap but for the quality of room and location it is good value. They do have cheaper rooms available so it is an excellent choice for those on a budget. It is noisy at night around the hotel but the double glazing worked well and we could shut the noise out easily.
We stayed with our two boys in the couple + room on the fourth floor. It was very well equipped (with a great shower) but we couldn't make the telly work which was great but a disappointment for the boys! Be careful when booking this room online - if you have children with you you must ring so that they can set the two small foldaway beds up. We didn't do that but the lady on reception was very kind and helped us get that sorted out in no time. All staff were very warm and welcoming.
The breakfast included was basic but could easily (and not too expensively) be supplemented with fruit, juice and bacon/egg butties. They had even anticipated that guests would have overslept following the hour change and kept serving breakfast for an extra hour!
Checkout time is early but with a good luggage storage facility this was not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked the Athens Backpackers Hostel, but we got moved to the suites, free of charge due to renovations in the building. We stayed in a six bed dorm with en suite bathroom. The rooms were very clean and modern, with a maid coming in daily to clean the bathroom and floors and everything, and also had a small kitchen. There are lockers available, which we used our own locks on. The room was more than big enough for six! There was a nice terrace. All the staff were more than helpful with giving us directions, and letting us use the telephone. The breakfast consisted of two hard boiled eggs, a couple buns with jam and butter available, and coffee & tea. The location is perfect, very short walk to the acropolis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

it is located right next to the acropolis metro station, so it is easy to get there.
All staffs were kind, room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

First off: this hostel is ok to stay at but very average....

I stayed in a 6 bed all female dorm with an ensuite bathroom.
The room was very tiny for 6 people.. And the heater............ And the air conditioner......... Both running at the same time!!!!!!!!!!!! WTF?!?!?!
You could turn the AC off, which I did (despite nagging room mates, I didn't give a efffff about!!). You could also" turn the heater off"... But it was still running!!! Not heating but the water was running!! Maybe it had to go through every heater to go upstairs... I don't know. But it was HELL!!!!
Soooo loud!! If you are a light sleeper you won't get any sleep! I could only sleep because I was very tired from all the walking.

A maid comes in every day and cleans the bathroom, which is really nice.

Staff is nice but nothing special. This was one of the least active hostels I have ever stayed in. Maybe because it wasn't high season?!

The breakfast is very very plain. Toast, jam, instant coffee and boiled eggs.

I pretty much had a second breakfast outside :D


They have another building with studios around the corner. There is a cafe and also a laundromat which is really handy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Backpackers

Address: 12 Makri Street | Makrigianni, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet 2012 says "Athens Backpackers has fast become the hostel of choice for visitors, thanks to its excellent facilities and unbeatable location." In Your Pocket March 2012 says "A never-to-be-forgotten experience, people adore this non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travellers like you"Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhereAthens' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Twice weekly LIVE music, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.* No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Athens Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Backpackers Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.