We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 Star Hotel in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel Athens

Save Saved
You added Central Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hotel Athens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollonos 21, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 324 hotels in Athens
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good 3 Star Hotel in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked this hotel for a number of reasons ..... it was close to the 2 main Metro stations as we were arriving by ferry and departing from the airport ; it was in the busy and tourist friendly Plaka area ; it was convenient for the Acropolis ; and it had a rooftop terrace bar with night-time views of the Acropolis .

It worked out to be a perfect choice for us , and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Central Hotel for the above reasons . I would certainly stay there again .

Its not easy to find the hotel and so I would strongly advise everyone to have a detailed street map all prepared for your arrival , or take a taxi . Street names are not always in English .

Checking in at reception was quick and the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay .

The room was quite spacious , but it was very basic and in line with 3 star standards . It looked out over other rooms in the hotel which was a bit of a negative . Despite this it had all the normal facilities including fridge , TV with some English news channels , safe , air con . At night it was very quiet and we slept well .

The top floor terrace bar was fantastic at night overlooking the Acropolis which is all lit up . But make sure you get up there by about 8pm as it gets very busy and tables may not be available after dark .

The small lift which only takes 3 adults is an irritation which you just have to accept , and breakfast is a buffet which is a bit limited .

Overall its good value for money hotel in a perfect location , with a fabulous terrace bar .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review on our hotel. We are very centrally located so our customers may find within walking distance tourist attractions, shopping areas, cafes, restaurants and tavernas and enjoy the city life. A detailed map may be found in our web site so that one can walk exactly to the hotel from the metro, subway and bus stations coming to and from the airport or Piraeus. The city is great, the weather is always nice in Athens so come back soon to enjoy it and have another nice coffee or drink at Thea Terrace Bar with the magnificent view of the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    336
    90
    17
    5
See reviews for
87
349
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the Central Hotel at the beginning of our 16 day holiday and the last night after touring the Cyclade Isands. This hotel is the perfect location for all you need in Athens. The rooms on the Acropolis side are the ones to go for for as the view is stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy our convenient location and visit all major tourist attractions on foot. The stunning view to the Acropolis from our rooms and our roof top bar will be there for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013 with a group of other ladies. In total, there were 11 of us. I shared a room with a girl friend. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The mattresses were supportive and provided a good night's sleep. The view outside our window was of a little church. From the top of the hotel, we had an amazing view of the Acropolis. This was especially true in the evenings! The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with a variety of foods and wonderful cappuccinos. The spa was not available when we were there and that would have been a bonus. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to have satisfied customers who enjoyed their stay with us. We hope that you will visit Greece and Central Athens Hotel soon to relax in the Jacuzzi with the view to the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a perfectly located hotel in the very heart of Athens. The view from the from rooms and the roof garden is magnificent. Staff is generally ok.

But this is where the positives end. The rooms are very small (with the front ones being smaller than the back street ones and without a balcony). The breakfast is very poor at the best and quality of ingredients very low. We didn't bother having breakfast the second morning and just had some in a nice caffe near the hotel. Hygiene of the breakfast area not great either (we asked for a highchair which had food residue allover). Our room was also a bit dusty (we were barefoot while dressing up and our feet quickly became greyish). The decoration is outdated with no attention to detail (with patio armchairs outside the lifts on the floors). Oh, and very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our customers usually rate our hotel on a high standard of hygiene and cleanliness throughout its premises acknowledging our special care on the subject. They also like our breakfast variety that focuses on the Mediterranean diet without excluding the international tastes and was recently enriched with local Greek delicacies while they consider our minimal decoration style a point worth mentioning. In any case we are happy that you found our location convenient and the view magnificent and we hope that you will return in Athens again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. I booked a room with Acropolis views. I paid 150 euros. The room was really small. We had been travelling around the Greek islands and we had a lot of luggage. We did not know where to put the suitcases. There is hardly any space between the end of the bed and the wall and around the bed only one person could stand. The bathroom is the same. You need to hang outside the window to see the Acropolis. But the worst was that the room was next to the air conditioning pipe and there was a constant noise of the ventilator. I did not sleep the whole night, as it starts and stops constanlty, there was even a small vibration, problably from the window I don't know. We reported it to reception, who took note but just ignored us as nothing was done. For the rest the hotel is in a good location, the staff are polite but will not go the extra mile. Inside is really modern, the lift is tiny. I chose it for the nice roof top terrace with Acropolis views and for that I was not dissapointed. If I have had a bigger room and no noise I will have really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We were in 508 and if you do not like constant noise at night beware of this side of the hotel as wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might had during your visit but unfortunately you stayed with us on a fully booked day so no room change could have been made. We take your comments under consideration and we will include them in future actions. We hope that you will be back in Athens soon and have the opportunity to enjoy both the city and Central Athens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were in Athens for a couple of days and wanted to stay in the historical center, close to Acropolis. Central Hotel gave us just that - fantastic views from the bedroom as well as from the rooftop restaurant. The hotel is in the Plaka district and easily walkable to all historical sites and the shopping streets.

The breakfast spread was quite good and the whole deal was worth what we paid for!
A few drawbacks - small bathrooms, only one small elevator and the airconditioning isnt very effective.

Everything else was superb. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the view and the location. Building limitations give us a limited choice regarding elevator and bathroom size. Come back soon to have a nice coffee or drink at Thea Terrace Bar, on the last floor of Central Athens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location, walk to plaka. Great views from the rooftop bar. Serves the purpose, good value for money. Enjoyed hanging out in the rooftop bar. The rooms were updated and seemed pretty clean. We got a room with the interior courtyard view but my brother who was saying in the same hotel got a room with a large balcony which was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always a pleasure to have customers that enjoy their stay with us and have a nice time in our hotel. We hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Athens

Address: Apollonos 21, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Athens 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Central Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.