We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel Athens

Save Saved
You added Central Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hotel Athens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollonos 21, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice little hotel but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

too bad they clean up rooms around the clock making a lot of noise. no sound proof walls. a near by school rings the bell every 45 mints untill 20.00.If one is not a very religious person will be disturbed by the church bell early in the morning. second day we did not get in the trouble to have the (paid for) breakfast, and we had our own in town. apart those, very helpfull and smiling staff and very convenient location. 55 euros per night is a fair price we paid.

Room Tip: rooms with view of Acropolis are best, but not quitest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and your kind words on our staff, prices and convenient location. We use the same cleaning schedule that all hotels do around the world and our staff has clear instructions to be as discrete and quiet as possible. Our location is usually highly praised since the building is situated in one of the most historic areas of the center of the city, Plaka, which includes a lot of monuments like the Mitropolis Church, Aerides area, Agora and some of the oldest and very famous schools of Athens. We hope that next time you are in Athens your business schedule will allow you to enjoy better our facilities. Our staff will be happy to help you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    375
    100
    18
    5
See reviews for
107
396
62
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located very close to syntagma square which is kind of downtown area. beautiful restaurants and eatry nearby. View of accropolos from the terrace along with a state of the art bar in terace. Terrace also has a jaccuzi where you can have your favourite drink along with a beautiful view if accropolis.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The area round the hotel becomes more and more popular, now days, with a lot of nice restaurants, wine bars, cafes that add more points of interest to the already existing most famous commercial street of the city. The Acropolis view from Thea Terrace Bar is always beautiful so make sure that you will be back in Central Athens Hotel, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff were ok and neutral, nothing special. The rooms are very nice, clean and modern, we had our view directly at Acropolis. The small street around the hotel doesn't seem safe, but you have to go through them to hit the main street. Very close to the parlament too. The breakfast had some different varieties and were quite good. The aircondition at my friends room didn't get any effect. After telling the staff 2 times about the lack, they didn't do anything about it. The best thing was sitting in the jacuzzi at the evening and looking at Acropolis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to make a comment on our hotel. It is very easy to access on foot, from Central Athens hotel, Acropolis, Plaka, the Parliament, the National Garden, and the main commercial street of the city – which is next to us - as well as many other places of interest. The area around the hotel is quite popular, now days, as it develops to the center of Athens’ nightlife with many new restaurants and wine bars. As an alternative, you may always choose to enjoy your drink in Thea Terrace Bar or sit in the jacuzzi with a spectacular view to the Acropolis and we will make our best so that our staff - which is usually positively highlighted in our customers’ comments – will serve upon your expectations. We hope we will see you back in Central Athens hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved:
1. The location- 10 min walk from the train station and is very close to the shops and restaurants
2. The breakfast- great value and variety
3. The service- the staff kept our bags for 6 hours after checkout for free which was extremely helpful
4.The rooms- Modern and clean

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and your nice words on our staff, location, breakfast and rooms. We aim to make our clients feel happy and well served so they will have a nice memory of their stay in Central Athens Hotel. We hope that you will come back soon to enjoy vacations in Athens.


Have a Happy New Year from all of us in Central Athens Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My friend and I arrived in Athens after catching the bus from the airport, We were told by a local taxi owner that the hotel was nearby so we decided to walk there. Well after a very hot walk down the cobbled roads in the heat we eventually arrived at the Central Hotel.It is really a nice hotel in the middle of Athens. It is within walking distance of the Plaka and Syntagma Square.. The rooftop terrace with its swimming pool, is magnificent, with a stunning view over the Plaka and view of the Acropolis. The staff were indeed helpful and gave us good advice as to where to go and what to see. Breakfast was also a variety of different dishes, catering to everyone's taste. The rooms are airconditioned, so after doing your sightseeing it is a pleasant respite after the heat of the city. There are a number of little taverna's in close proximity. I found my stay here fantastic and after my vacation on the islands, came back to stay one more night. Again I experienced the same wonderful service from the staff who were happy to see me again. Definitely if you are a first time visitor to Athens I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words on your nice review about our hotel. Central Athens sure is a good choice during the hot summer months with air-conditioned rooms and spaces and a Jacuzzi in the terrace. Most of our clients find it very interesting to walk around the Plaka's picturesque streets and have lunch or dinner in one of the traditional Greek tavernas nearby. Keep in mind that winter is also great in Athens and our staff will be happy to assist you to have another memorable stay.


We look forward to see you again soon and we all wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Located at the very center of Athens, Central Hotel is very practical, equipped with an underground private parking place. Location is excellent and the airport shuttle x95 leaves you very close by.Easy wlaking distance of the main square and the Acropolis. The rooftop terrace provided a panoramic view of the Acropolis which at night was romantic.The rooftop jacuzzi is wonderful The Hotel was clean, functional and served our purpose. Breakfast was good. Room was modern with white cotton sheets is nice and clean.Free Internet if you don't have a computer.A beautiful view of the Acroppoli from our room.
I would recommend it to my friends ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms are modern and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your nice words on our hotel. It is true that almost all our customers love the easy access to the airport using public transportation and the benefits from the fact that we are so close to Acropolis and Syntagma square. We really appreciate your recommendation to your friends and we hope to see you back in Central Athens Hotel, soon.

We wish you a Happy and Prosperous New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Central. All the employees were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, easy to walk everywhere. All the sites we wanted to see were within easy walking distance. Fun to get lost in the streets of Plaka! The rooftop terrace has amazing views of the Acropolis, nice place to sit and enjoy a drink and a bite to eat. Breakfast was included, with a great selection of food, especially enjoyed the fresh bread! Would reccommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis; beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Athens, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel in Trip Advisor with such a high score. We are very happy to know that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed our great location.
We look forward seeing you back in Athens and Central Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Athens

Address: Apollonos 21, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Central Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;