We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Mitropoleos, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good view, excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in Magna Grecia Hotel last summer (Aug/2013) and liked it a lot! As I said in my title, the view from the Acropolis on the top floor, where the breakfast is served, is great! The breakfast itself is very good, with many different options, such as the real Greek yogurt, the delicious olives and tomatoes, omelets, juices, a selection of breads, fruits, honey and cakes. The bedroom is very tidy, has a good size, an agreeable balcony and the bathroom is clean and big enough, as I like! The Neoclassic building, dated from 1898, has an amazing and little bit kitsch decoration (in a very positive way!), mixing old furniture with modern and vibrant colors! The staff is friendly and the location is super, as we can go to many attractions by walking! There are also many restaurants and shops in the vicinity. Overall, the price has a good equation cost x benefits! I recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    33
    42
    37
See reviews for
33
139
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I have travelled many times to Greece and chose this hotel due its location. Aug 2013, we found bed bugs in my mothers bed, they had started coming through the sheets. The whole mattress was infested. We discovered this at 2 in the morning and were traveling the next morning at 7 so we were not left with time to purse this matter further. To be paying 150 euros a night and to discover insects and poor hygiene practices is a disgrace. The hotel should have offered a complete refund but no. Did get an email that these bugs are difficult to treat. I would think twice now about where I was staying and advice ppl to check their mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

10 room hotel, nice staff, nice full breakfast, old rooms but the location is great , I would recommend this hotel if you want a feel of old Greece , but do not expect modern, we stayed2 nights and walked to most sites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great location, across the street from Plaza Mitropoleos. We stayed in a room with a view of the Acropolis. Great views - nice seeing at night when illuminated and at sunrise. Better views from the breakfast room upstairs. Breakfast was nice, loved the olives and yogurts.

Rooms are strangely decorated, but comfortable. Beds are nice and plush. Air-conditioners/heaters are great.

Staff helping in arranging tours and cars/drivers. They will set you up with George as a driver who is adorable.

No complaints.

Room Tip: Go for the Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our family stayed at the Magna Grecia over New Year's. Overall, our stay was ok. We had a total of 3 rooms, one of which was on the top floor. The plusses of this hotel are the view of the Acropolis, helpful front desk personnel and comfortable beds. We had some problems the first night of our stay, including plumbing issues in one of the rooms (which apparently could not be fixed), and something of an uncomfortable situation in the on-site restaurant . I seriously considered changing hotels, but the primary daytime staff changed our rooms around and indicated the restaurant issue would be resolved, doing their best to make us comfortable. As I mentioned, the view of the Acropolis cannot be beat and I would stay here again just for that. I would not purchase the full board option. After the first night, thought we paid for it, we did not use it. Also, much of what a hotel is is the staff - and the primary staff were helpful and did their best to try to resolve any issues.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Rooms are large, view is great. Has wifi and the personnel are friendly. We are spending our weekend in Greece and we chose this hotel according to the reviews. The reviewers were right. I really recommend it to you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was our second stay in athens so we knew a little bit of the area. We were looking for a central hotel at a good price and there it was!! A really elegant nice boutique hotel with the most excellent views to the Acropolis. Our room was not spacious enough but was enjoying the most amazing view we ever had. A clean nicely decorated room. Breakfast was enough to start your day but variety was lacking.
A pleasant stay overall, in the best location!Would definetely recommend it for your stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Mitropoleos, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering amazing views of the Acropolis, this intimate 4 star boutique hotel is centrally situated in historic Plaka, possibly the most charming Athens neighborhood, 5 minutes' walk from Syntagma Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magna Grecia Boutique Athens
Hotel Magna Grecia Boutique
Magna Grecia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.