We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a lie” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Mitropoleos, Athens 10563, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 324 hotels in Athens
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's a lie”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Don't know where to start. I am a Greek American that travels to Greece at least every year, so I know the country well. I'm generally well traveled and have experienced accommodations from low to exceedingly high end.

Here's the reality of this "boutique" hotel: They've put lipstick on a pig, are calling it something that it is not, and have attitude about it. The web site is very well done, contains photos of the property but is not in any way a true portrait. It is very good at showing the lipstick while hiding the pig. The owners have definitely done a great deal to decorate the place (in questionable, very kitschy but fun taste) but not addressed the really poor (in quality and age) shape of the place at all. It's possible that the suites in the front are ok (I did not get to see them) but we were placed in a shabby ghetto like room (called a suite) with a 70's bathroom that was disgusting. The furniture I suspect was meant to appear antique-y but frankly was nothing more than cleaned up flea market standards. I was dismayed to find that the safe was never bolted down and I had no problem moving it (all 125 pounds on me). We had an interior window suite (I've had that experience before and I was fine with it) that overlooked a steel spiral staircase. ***Note that these are their "family suites" - they finally admitted this to us after we arrived, saw the room and requested an upgrade. It gave us full and intimate access to the conversations of guests waiting for the elevator or going to breakfast not to mention the full sounds of the renovation crew through the night as they carried and clanged aluminum ladders up and down the levels desperately trying to finish the decor of the next floor in time for the high season bookings. I think this is a great indicator of guest services attitude at this place. Another indicator was the breakfast crew telling us that they were shutting down when we showed up 20 minutes prior to breakfast ending and the buffet had already been cleared. We thought it amusing the next morning when we were having breakfast at a cafe next door and saw one of the hotel kitchen crew running between the hotel and a grocery store with food basics mid morning. We canceled our end of trip return reservations and warned our friends to do so as well (I had given them the idea to reserve naively thinking the web site could not have been that off). The location was perfect. But that's it. We are still referring to it as our Magna Disasta.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    30
    38
    35
See reviews for
29
130
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed at Magna Grecia in July 2009 for a few nights to explore Athens. Based on TripAdvisor reviews thought it's a nice boutique hotel in central location with all standard middle-class hotel amenities. Well, the location is central indeed. But the total lack of service and interest of the staff (room on 2nd floor, but noone ever even offered to help us with the luggage, no information about anything, no friendly greetings...), the disgraceful breakfast, the super-tiny room, ultrasoft mattress (basically a piece of foam) and questionable cleanliness made it a really disappointing experience. If you're totally desperate for location and don't care about anything else, this might be for you. But if you expect anything else from service, food or room quality for the relatively high price they're charging, stay away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at Magna Grecia in Athens on our first night in Greece. The room was small, but had everything we needed - including an inward facing room not on the main road. The roof top terrace is quite lovely with good views of the acropolis, though the restaurant there is quite pricey. Magna Grecia is a short walk from two main metro stations, which is a real selling point of this place, as well as the location in a lovely part of historic Athens. The service here is also great - we left early in the morning before the buffet breakfast opened and the hotel staff packed us a very filling breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I really liked this hotel, mostly because of the location. We arrived at the Syntagma Metro station from the airport and walked 5-10 minutes to the hotel. It was little hard to find since the only thing on the street level is a door---next to a carpet shop! The reception is on the 2nd floor.
We had an inside room, no windows to the outside, but that was okay with us. The room was lovely and more than adequate. The location is the best thing about this hotel. It is in walking distance to everything there is to see in Athens, and walk we did, so should you. It is the best was to experience this city.
Breakfast is served on the top floor (4th?) with a wonderful views of the Acropolis.
They even checked us out the evening prior to leaving so that we could catch the first train to the airport----very early flight.
I already miss the lamb at every meal!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

When we first saw this place from internet , we expected a boutique luxury with an amazing acropolis view.

But unfortunately our disappointments began when we stepped into the hotel. Maybe we were very tired since we carried our luggage ourselves from nearest metro station. But we expected a porter to carry our luggages to our room..

The high ceilings looks beatiful but needs maintenance. The double room with acropolis view is quite different. The french balcony is very sweet. But the beds were terrible. They had taken the shape of previous guests. Sleeping was noy comfortable. Actually it was our fault that we didnt complain this to the hotel.But for staying only two nights, we didn't bother...

Breakfast is nice, terrace view is beautiful.

Location of the hotel is very. Lose to the main shopping street. There are good cafe and bistros at the corner of the hotel.

İf you don't expect much luxury, this hotel will meet the expectations. Location, location, location...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Immediately adjacent to Syntagma Square, this hotel has good access to riot police, gruesome (though perhaps justifiable) protest imagery and the loud voices of unhappy people. The hotel refused to refund even a part of our stay for July 1,2 and 3, in the middle of riots and teargas. We chose to forfeit the money rather than risk staying in that volatile area. We had a booking for the last night of our trip, July 15th and stayed with the hope that things had settled down. I would say that it was relatively safe in the area if you stayed close to the very visable police presence (safe perhaps, relaxing no). On checking in we enquired about parking and were offered no directions or assistance. Our room (on the first floor) had a serious drainage problem in the bathroom that resulted in "brown" water flooding. When I spoke with the person at the front desk she was clearly aware of the problem and indicated it "was sometimes worse than at other times." It showed signs of repairs which had obviously been unsuccessful. Our trip was stellar in every way but for this experience. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This Hotel is rated 4 stars, but it should only be rated 2. The front desk staff are not good at directions, so don't ask them. We asked if there was a McDonalds up the road, and they didn't have a clue. They should know whats in the immediate vacinity. There are no amenities at all. What is listed in their ad is not what you get. At 2pm they locked the front door. There is suppose to be someone at the front desk 24/7 but there isn't. We waited 20 minutes one night to get in, banging and screaming. Not pleasant. Our room was a double panoramic view of the Acropolis on the penthouse. We only had 1 window, and a door, where they get double from that, is beyond me. Our terrace was shared with the Rooftop restaurant next door, talk about no privacy. The breakfast sucked. It's centrally located to the Plaka, Monastriki station, and Sytagma Square. Not worth the money at all. Very disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Mitropoleos, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#175 Spa Hotel in Athens
#175 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering amazing views of the Acropolis, this intimate 4 star boutique hotel is centrally situated in historic Plaka, possibly the most charming Athens neighborhood, 5 minutes' walk from Syntagma Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Otel and HostelWorld so you can book your Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magna Grecia Boutique Athens
Hotel Magna Grecia Boutique
Magna Grecia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.