We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - made Honeymoon experience fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ilissos Hotel to your Saves list
Ilissos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Kallirois Avenue | Koykaki, Athens 11741, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 326 Hotels in Athens
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel - made Honeymoon experience fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We got a free upgrade since we were on our honeymoon to the Jr. Suite. It was very spacious! When we arrived they had a fruit basket with a little bottle of wine and congratulatory note for us which we loved!! It really started off our honeymoon right! The staff was very nice. They have a rooftop terrace with a nice view of the Parthenon. It's a short walk to Plaka where all the restaurants, shops, and sights are. On the highway, but you don't hear the cars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    131
    58
    14
    2
See reviews for
47
111
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff I have come across. Spotlessly clean comfortable rooms and a Acropolis - view roof garden. Very easy access by tram or metro to the tourist areas - get the 14 Euro 7 day ticket for easy travelling. Free wifi and good breakfasts. The neighbourhood streets up to Sygrou Fix Metro station have lots of small bars and cafes at local prices.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a solid three star hotel, but offers extras not found in most three star properties, like free wifi throughout, a small bottle of welcome wine, and reasonable prices in the bar and minibar. Disadvantages are that the small TV is mounted high on the wall, and only offers one English channel - BBC World. The breakfast, included in my room rate, was mediocre. The bath is modern, offers basic amenities, and the towels could be upgraded to bigger, softer versions. Bed is OK, just. Lots of closet space, with safe. As other reviewers have noted, the staff is great. Overall, price makes it a winner. I would return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed three nights with friends over a long weekend. We were met in Athens by a metro strike and later a demonstration, but it really didn't interfere with our trip. Natasha at the front desk in the evenings was THE BEST at giving us advice and helping us work around these inconveniences. She was very polite and super helpful.
The rooms were actually bigger than I expected. When we first got into our room I was worried about the street noise, but soon realized the window was cracked open. Once I shut it, it was perfectly quiet - except for the car accident on the overpass just in front of our room. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. the bathrooms were clean and in good working order. The hotel was in good repair and nicely kept and clean, which considering the neighborhood, was nice to see. There is a lot of empty buildings and a lot of grafiti in the neighborhood, but the hotel is clean and well maintained.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the Acropolis Museum where you can catch either Hop-on-Hop-Off tour bus, the tram, the Metro, eat or shop.
We only ate the breakfast one morning. It was good. It had a good variety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

went 12/16 Dec 2012 through bookings . com Paid £127 for 4 nights b and b for 2 people hotel spotless staff very friendly all reception staff spoke better english than me. trolley bus stops literally behind hotel into centre but its only 45 mins by foot you get the X95 from airport 5 euro single walk to top of street at terminus (syntagma) then get any bus that passes FIX yes FIX. then walk about 300m to end of road Ilissos is on the right it really is that easy don,t get taxi but if you do make them put the meter on about 5/6 euros back to hotel good breakfast and lovely coffee drinks not dear in bar didn,t eat in hotel. this is the best value hotel i have ever stayed in perfect for a weekend in Athens. be warned Not for stag/ hen parties the greeks dont go in for this in the capital .its a lovely but run down city. Try it we will certainly go again but not in summer 40 degrees apparantly we will go again to ilissos when we do its really good

Room Tip: ring them before and ask them I do always its as if they know you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Good but it's not 4 stars.Friendly staff.Room o.k .TV crt.Bathroom big and clean.Location just a little bit far away from metro station (fix).The hotel is near busy road (4 lines) and is dificult you find quiet room.Good restaurant normal prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We picked this hotel because it is close to the center. Everything was pretty good except one thing that upset me. I put in my reservation that I am a light sleeper and need a quiet room.

Apparently they just ignored it. After I told them I did not sleep for the first night, the front desk said my room on a busy road (4 lane high way) was Quiet. I did not fight, just kindly requested a quiet room. We finally got a quiet room on the third night.

Beside that, everything was great. The location is not good for Subway, 10 minutes walking. But we walked 15 minutes to Acropolis, Plaka, and another 10 minutes to Agora.

We had a family room on 6th floor for 4 of us including two children. The size is pretty good. I think the price is €220 for three nights including the breakfast.
Breakfast buffet was great, hot ones were beacon, sausages, omelette, fried/boiled eggs; cold ones were ham, cheeses, a lot of Greek things like olive, etc.. Cereals and canned fruits, also fresh apples.

They have a little bottle of wine and the fruit as a welcome treat in your room. They have nice robes on your bed and also free slippers. The bathroom sink and floor are all marbles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilissos Hotel

Address: 72 Kallirois Avenue | Koykaki, Athens 11741, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilissos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 km away from the Acropolis, Hotel Ilissos features a roof garden bar overlooking the Parthenon. The Sygrou Fix Tram and Metro Station are a 10-minute walk away.All elegant rooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned with satellite TV and radio. Fridge and minibar are standard. A work desk is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilissos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilissos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.