We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel to your Saves list
Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Marni Steet | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 10432, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 328 Hotels in Athens
Miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Excellent location, close to Omonia Metro Station. The hotel is small and has very nice and clean rooms. The staff is outstanding, all of them but a special remark for Georgia, she was wonderful, always willing to help us.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — noise street but I guess that would happen in every big city
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    196
    106
    50
    34
See reviews for
99
312
46
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

On a recent visit the staff at this hotel could not be more helpful. We arrived at 11am and asked if we could leave our bags but the staff allowed us to check-in, in addition they gave us a drink, a map of the city and gave us some useful advise on what to see do and eat. The hotel was decorated really well and our room was very nice room. It is in a good location close to one of the central squares in Athens. And don't forget the breakfast - fantastic choice!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in mid September. We choose the hotel because of the prior reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not dissapointed. The hotel is a 7 minute walk to Omonia square which is a main transportation hub in the city. Taking the underground is very reasonable and a good way to get around as the road traffic is busy. Although our room was small, it was very nice and the furnishings eclectic. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer. All of them were very helpful and we think this maybe a family run operation. Although our room was at the front of the hotel, they had double windows and we could not hear any noise at night. They had a nice hot/cold buffet breakfast. We would stay there again and recommend it to family/friends.

  • Liked — The staff and price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Art Hotel during the August heat wave. My main concern was comfort and quietness in the hotel. All was well. The hotel's central air conditioning was quiet and efficient. We asked for a room facing the back and had no issues with street noise either.

We like to walk and had no problems walking to the Acropolis and Plaka from the hotel. We liked the area around the hotel because it was a real Athenian neighbourhood, not some make-believe tourist trap.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I recomment this hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — good air conditioning
  • Disliked — glass door on bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

It's 5:42 Am in an awakening Athens. We leave on a cruise in a few hours. We stayed at the Art Hotel at 27 Marni Street. Only a couple of days but they knocked our socks of with the kindness and attentiveness that was just delightful. When we arrived, the owner Miranda who is a former tour guide who besides Greek, speaks English, French, Italian and Japanese, took us aside and detailed where we should go, what we should see and how we should get there. Yesterday we followed her advice and now have a pretty good idea of Central Athens. We saw the Acropolis and the National Archaeological Museum, both must's for a visitor. The Hotel itself is only 30 rooms. There is traffic noise but to me adds charm to my experience. I didn't and don't go places to sleep in until all hours of the day. I travel to see and experience. They have a morning buffet which has something for everone. For the price, the Athens Hotel is a Hidden Gem which I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Just returned from 4 night stay at the Art Hotel 27 Marni St in Athens. Chose this one because of many favourable reviews about personable & helpful staff amoung other things. NOT DISAPPOINTED. Great from get-go! Welcome drinks followed by detailed overview of city & immediate area by check-in person all of whom spoke excellent English. Hotel is about 20 Euro ride from docks, if arriving by sea & 30 Euros to Airport but watch the taxi drivers as they are thieves. This is one place the hotel staff did an excellent job and that is negotiating with the drivers before we left the hotel or when we returned and in one case getting us a rebate on an overcharge. Be prepared to walk 6-8 blocks for restaurant as none at hotel. Complementary breakfast is incl. in room rates and is fine w/scrambled eggs & ham available. Love the staff. NOTHING is too much trouble. A/C worked fine. Rooms are small but adequate. Suites have balconys but face front and may be noisy for some. Al & Nancy Denmark Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed for two nights in Athens, arriving quite late on a Friday. They were expecting us, yet understood we were tired, and just let us quickly check in.

The room was quite modern, after all the hotel is only 2 years old, and the building had been renovated. There was aircon (thank goodness) although it didn't feel strong enough. Everything you needed was in your room. The bathroom was clean with shower curtains (personal dislike though) and nice toilettries. The only minus side was the minibar - there were only 2 cans of coke, and 1 bottle of water. Plus side is that there are a few shops nearby, and generally things in Greece are cheap.

We found the area to be safe - not like some of the reviews I read in TA. But having said that, perhaps we didn't venture too far away from the hotel at night?

Staff were very helpful, especially the lady in the morning when embarking on our Acropolis adventure. Providing us with a map, and advising on locations on where to eat that is not overly touristy.

Overall, the hotel was what we needed - a place to rest our legs, clean enough not to worry about things, and easy to get into the centre of Athens. Obviously there are no views of the Acropolis here, but you don't need one really - it's only a 10 minute cab ride (less than 6€) away!

  • Liked — The staff were very helpful, and breakfast was a good variety
  • Disliked — Shower curtains
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#85 of 328 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#35 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 328 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#78 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#44 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Stratos Vassilikos
#49 of 328 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: 27 Marni Steet | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 10432, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#50 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.