We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What hotel customer service should be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art Hotel to your Saves list
Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Marni Steet | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 10432, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 325 Hotels in Athens
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What hotel customer service should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating which made all the difference. It was above and beyond customer service. We wanted separate beds and they easily transferred us to another room. We even received a complimentary drink when we arrived. The hotel and rooms are unique. The hotel needs to be modernized and so does the Intercontinental Athens where I've also stayed but not at Intercontinental prices. And the one bonus, my room had a jacuzzi bathtub for free whereas the Intercontinental made me, a priority club member, pay entrance at the spa to use the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    167
    88
    44
    34
See reviews for
89
283
40
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

THe overall experience with the hotel was good. The staff is very helpful. Its a very basic hotel and requires modernisation. I wouldnt mind going there again as it is cheap and as a tourist, I just need a bed to crash on.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The only saving grace about this hotel are the staff. They are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. You are greeted with drinks and a full explanation of what to see and do in the city and the areas to avoid - namely the streets directly surrounding the hotel! Its on a VERY busy road and is sandwiched between prostitute alley and the local methadone centre.
The rooms are small and basic for the price and the whole hotel needs a bloody good clean.
Thankfully the sheets and towels are quite clean, but the bathroom was mouldy, the toilet seat had seen better days and the windows and curtains have clearly not been cleaned since the hotel opened. You are provided with thin paper slippers, supposedly for 'your comfort', actually its so that you don't see all the dust and dirt on your bare feet.
Same at breakfast. It was quite rare to get a clean cup, plates or cutlery in the morning. There was quite a variety of food, but it was either tinned or from a packet and very tasteless.
All in all, I would class this as a 2 * hotel. Definitely not worthy of 4. If you are brave enough to go to Athens, I'd avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Art Hotel by itself is a great hotel but when you add the personal service that is provided by Miranda and her fantastic crew you get a home away from home! These ladies were so nice, we were greeted with drinks upon arival and a break-down of where to go and what to see! Miranda was so nice, she went WAY above and beyond what you would expect!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The front of house service is exceptional, you are genuinely treated as a welcome guest. Arriving at 10.00a.m. your room is made available asap, leaving at 4.00p.m. your room is available for a shower before the flight from Athens to home. When arriving you are seated and given a glass of juice, wine, coffee or tea and all the information you could wish for a pleasant stay in Athens.
The breakfast room is delightful and the breakfast is varied enough to suit all tastes and of a very high quality. The hotel is beautifully fitted out and the beds comfortable.
The location is great with the main museum within 10 minutes walking, acropolis only a 5 Euro taxi ride away.
When visiting Athens you could not better this hotel for quality and price.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms, and they were all equally as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel is nice. In a decently safe neighborhood near conveniences of good food, etc. BUT my 5th star goes to Miranda and her staff of ANGELS who greeted us at the door after a harrowing 26 hours of air travel and NO CABS due to a transit strike. So after schlepping a MONTH'S worth of luggage for TWO thru the subways of Athens, right smack dab in the middle of rush hour, in 90 degree heat and 99% humidity AND not really knowing where we were going … what a sight for sore "every-things" to be greeted by Miranda, the manager on duty, who ran down from her air conditioned lobby to grab ALL our luggage and have it taken to our room and to hand us two ice cold Heinekens and frosted mugs, Gratis, and seated us to recompose and get comfortable even before we went to our room. From that point on Miranda was like our personal concierge. She drew us maps, made us plans, showed us what to do and where to go and how to get there. If my own mother was running that hotel, she could NOT have treated us any better. THANK YOU MIRANDA.

Stay at the Art Hotel and you will be coddled. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were recommended to this hotel by our ticket agent. Some reviews here on the location is true but as long you know which streets to avoid, you should be quite safe. A simple rule is never walk to the streets on left of the hotel.

The staff of Art Hotel are very helpful. They are always patience with our questions on how to get to places of interests, and other requests or queries during our stay. The room is well maintain and we couldn't ask for more from the rates we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: 27 Marni Steet | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 10432, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.