We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel, excellent location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AVA Hotel Athens to your Saves list
AVA Hotel Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous boutique hotel, excellent location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We chose the AVA Hotel from tripadvisor excellent reviews. It was fantastic from every aspect. Being a small boutique hotel, we were pleasantly surprised the airport taxi driver immediately knew where it was without us having to provide address. We arrived late at night and the welcome from Minna and Stavo was fantastic. Easy check-in, help with luggage and 'surprise' champagne welcome for our anniversary. The location was ideal for all the highlights we wanted to see. Everything within walking distance. Felt safe and comfortable throughout the Plaka district night and day. The entire area was very clean, friendly and lots of fun. Our room was fabulous. Sparkling clean, modern, lovely little terrace, beautiful room decor, king size bed, kitchenette, desk, couch, stocked mini bar and snacks, robes and all the amenities you could ask for. Breakfast was delicious every morning with lots of selection and excellent service. Minna and all the staff were very professional, warm and efficient. They made our stay extra special and worry free. Definitely highly recommended for anyone who wants an intimate and relaxed experience of Athens. Hope to go back one day and spend more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    149
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
264
641
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Ava Hotel as our base for the Athens Classic Marathon. The staff could not have been more accommodating - including an early 5:30am breakfast for the runners the day of the race. They also gave us a bottle of champagne upon our arrival - something we enjoyed after the race. The location is perfect - right off the Plaka and about a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis. The rooms are simple - ours had a mini-kitchen. The bathroom is basic, but more than adequate. Furthermore, the staff was very helpful in arranging dinner reservations and taxis. We were very happy staying here. Great value for your money - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the AVA Hotel at the end of our cruise. Extremely efficient front desk personnel ready for our check-in when we arrived. They also had made dinner reservations that I requested by email prior to trip . Though we arrived mid-morning one of the two rooms I reserved was ready. The suite was large, beautifully furnished and decorated with tray ceiling and a large ornate chandelier over the sleeping area. There was a small sofa between the sleeping area and kitchen (though our friends' room had two chairs rather than sofa).Bed was very comfortable. There was a full kitchen area with small fridge, two burner stove top and coffee maker. Coffee and teas are provided at no charge. Dishes are provided. The bathroom has a tiny shower but the room itself is spacious. The bathroom ceiling is beautifully painted. Spacious closet. They offer a full breakfast buffet at extra charge. Did not partake but it had multiple choices. There are a few small bakeries within 5 minutes walk where we got croissants and other pastries for breakfast at a very reasonable price. There are also numerous cafes within 5 minute walk. Guest services were excellent entire stay. Location is 2 blocks from Temple of Zeus and Arch of Hadrian. Walling distance to all of the ancient sites. Would highly recommend staying at the Ava Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at ava hotel at the end of october for four nights. We booked at this hotel due to the high tripadvisor ranking. İts my pleasure to say it was the right choice and they deserve to be number one. Perfect location, very well decorated room with adequate size, but needs some renovation. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Now we müşteri need to hatch a plan on How we can ever afford to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked AVA Hotel on the back of glowing reviews and we were not disappointed!

Although it is on a pretty poorly lit street and has a rather mundane looking facade, our room was fantastic. Nicely laid out, tasteful modern decorations, a cool kitchenette which had an empty fridge in addition to the minibar so that guests can keep their own items cold, breakfast bar with stools, sofa, flatscreen tv, bluray player, desk. Under the TV was a panel with lots of different connectors including RCA, VGA, and USB. The complimentary wifi signal was strong and the internet connection was fast. The kitchen was stocked with crockery, wine glasses, champagne flutes and some basic cooking utensils and pans.

The bathroom was on the small side, the shower unit was small -- definitely single person sized. There were plenty of differently sized towels, a range of decent toiletries, hair dryer, and a painted domed ceiling which was a really nice touch. Our only problem here was that we noticed that there were sometimes tiny little wriggling worms in the bottom of the toilet that disappeared on flushing but would return later. Hotel staff said that it was due to people throwing food down the toilet but we weren't so sure. However, they were very helpful and did offer us a different room without us even asking.

They brought us a complimentary bottle of bubbly with chocolates and a note, which was lovely. The staff in general were amazingly friendly and helpful and would always go the extra mile. Our outbound flight was changed the day before we left and staff were very helpful in phoning the airline (and being on hold for a good 10 mins) and confirming the changes, finding out about re-checking in and sorting out new boarding passes.

The location of the hotel was brilliant -- within walking distance of the major sights. As we were only in Athens for a couple of nights, this was ideal.

Overall, we were very very happy with our stay and the staff (particularly a lovely lady called Mina) and aside from the worms in the toilet (which wasn't the fault of staff), this hotel is pretty close to perfect! We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we travel a lot. this is a five star hotel! great location, fabulous suites with well stocked kitchen, very pretty, super comfortable, large,spotless rooms, delightful and helpful staff who could not do enough for you. really loved staying here and will return again and again. just steps from fabulous restaurants, shopping, archaeological delights, taverns, and all transportation. you will not be disappointed! again, what a great staff. nothing was too much trouble. they spoiled us with the wonderful treatment we received. sorry, accidentally checked pool and there is no pool, which was fine!

Room Tip: stayed in room 203 and it was perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Back from our Mediterranean cruise, we are enjoying telling our friends about the great time we had. The highlights of our adventure included the unique city of Venice, the biblical sites in Israel, the Athens Acropolis, and the AVA hotel. That's right; our hotel in Athens for three nights at the end of our cruise is right up there with the other awesome memories from our trip! The location was perfect as a starting point for our walks to the historical sites and the rest of the city. Our executive suite was a huge, gorgeous room, with a balcony that we visited each morning for coffee and each night for a glass of wine. Looking to our right we had a view of the Acropolis and to the left Hadrian's Arch. The staff was wonderful. All friendly and attentive to our every need. We left too early on our last morning for their delightful breakfast, so the thoughtful staff provided us a "sack lunch" that we took with us to the airport. Every aspect of our stay at AVA rates 10 out of 10. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athens
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVA Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.