We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Suite in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AVA Hotel Athens to your Saves list
AVA Hotel Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Spacious Suite in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October just for one night en route to the coast but we would happily have stayed for a week. Our room was spacious and stylishly decorated with a well-equipped kitchenette (full size fridge) and doors opening onto an internal courtyard patio which was an unexpected bonus. We received a free bottle of cava on arrival just for liking the hotel in Facebook. The staff were very helpful and the location ideal, a few minutes walk from Plaka and the Acropolis. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    148
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
262
640
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is on par with VEGAS. Yes, I live in Los Angeles, born and raised So Cal boy, so I know all there is about Vegas. Anyway the in room amenities are awesome, but don't expect much from the outside or lobby.

We did upgrade when we got here to the room with a view and the double door suite... so maybe thats the difference. The upgrade price was only $10 extra Euros a night once including the free breakfast for two!

The location is awesome. All Greece travelers should be aware that this isn't your typical Parisian trip. But if you are going to Greece, this is the hotel to stay in for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel truly deserves the high ranking it has on Tripadvisor. Of the few hundred hotels I have previously visited in more than fifty different countries around the world I cannot recall ever meeting a staff as friendly as the one at AVA Hotel. Normally I prefer big hotels of high standard where everything runs smooth and a wide variety of services can be provided, but in this case trading for a smaller and charming hotel is well worth it. I can highly recommend this hotel - especially for a romantic getaway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Second visit here over a period of one year and staff remain attentive and pleasant, accommodating. Room service was good, and clean. Hotel has sink, plates, and fridge. Breakfast was 12 Euros extra per person.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of Hadrian's wall may be a bit deceiving - they only have a view if you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed one night at AVA Hotel after disembarking from a cruise. The hotel was very clean, quiet, friendly, accommodating. The room, for three, was quite large, with a kitchenette, coffee, refrig, dishes. The location was fabulous, as we were able to walk to all the historical areas, as well as the Plaka was right around the corner for shopping and restaurants. We did not have their breakfast as we left too early. I would defintely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think you pay more for a room with a view. But the view is right out the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment our taxi pulled up in front of the AVA, we loved our stay at this wonderful hotel.We were greeted with very warm welcomes - a staff member even come out to the street to help with bags. It was as if they were waiting for us to arrive. When we were escorted to our room, our jaws dropped. We were presented with a gorgeous suite, with separate living room and kitchenette. It had high ceilings, crown moldings, chandeliers, a large blue and white marble bathroom, that featured a classical scene painted on the recessed ceiling. The bedroom was spacious with double dark wood doors and a real king-size luxurious bed. TV's in both rooms, and climate control units in each room. It was still very warm in Athens (25C), so we were delighted with the air conditioning. Our balcony looked on the lovely quiet street as well as the Acropolis walls and Hadrian's Arch a half block in either direction. Amazing. The room service menu and food was wonderful - not to mention the bottle of bubbly that was presented to us as a welcome. So thoughtful. In fact everything at the AVA is done thoughtfully. They truly think of absolutely everything to make this your home away from home, but I call it heaven on earth. The breakfast includes everything you would ever want. Plus, with all these wonderful comforts and amenities you have the warm, gracious, and helpful staff. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you want and more. We highly recommend the AVA - heaven on earth (or at least in Athens)! Thank you to all at the AVA for our wonderful stay. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived in Athens not sure what to expect, but, the Ava was excellent in all respects. We chose it based on the location and TA reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to advise on many things. The location couldn't be better - being 5 mins from the new Acropolis museum, 10 mins from the Acropolis and 10 mins in the other direction from the main Square. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't have it (too lazy!)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202 which has a separate bedroom and I highly recommend it. It was on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#1 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVA Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.