We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AVA Hotel Athens to your Saves list
AVA Hotel Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece (Plaka)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 329 Hotels in Athens
Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel truly deserves the high ranking it has on Tripadvisor. Of the few hundred hotels I have previously visited in more than fifty different countries around the world I cannot recall ever meeting a staff as friendly as the one at AVA Hotel. Normally I prefer big hotels of high standard where everything runs smooth and a wide variety of services can be provided, but in this case trading for a smaller and charming hotel is well worth it. I can highly recommend this hotel - especially for a romantic getaway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    174
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
307
724
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Second visit here over a period of one year and staff remain attentive and pleasant, accommodating. Room service was good, and clean. Hotel has sink, plates, and fridge. Breakfast was 12 Euros extra per person.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of Hadrian's wall may be a bit deceiving - they only have a view if you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed one night at AVA Hotel after disembarking from a cruise. The hotel was very clean, quiet, friendly, accommodating. The room, for three, was quite large, with a kitchenette, coffee, refrig, dishes. The location was fabulous, as we were able to walk to all the historical areas, as well as the Plaka was right around the corner for shopping and restaurants. We did not have their breakfast as we left too early. I would defintely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think you pay more for a room with a view. But the view is right out the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment our taxi pulled up in front of the AVA, we loved our stay at this wonderful hotel.We were greeted with very warm welcomes - a staff member even come out to the street to help with bags. It was as if they were waiting for us to arrive. When we were escorted to our room, our jaws dropped. We were presented with a gorgeous suite, with separate living room and kitchenette. It had high ceilings, crown moldings, chandeliers, a large blue and white marble bathroom, that featured a classical scene painted on the recessed ceiling. The bedroom was spacious with double dark wood doors and a real king-size luxurious bed. TV's in both rooms, and climate control units in each room. It was still very warm in Athens (25C), so we were delighted with the air conditioning. Our balcony looked on the lovely quiet street as well as the Acropolis walls and Hadrian's Arch a half block in either direction. Amazing. The room service menu and food was wonderful - not to mention the bottle of bubbly that was presented to us as a welcome. So thoughtful. In fact everything at the AVA is done thoughtfully. They truly think of absolutely everything to make this your home away from home, but I call it heaven on earth. The breakfast includes everything you would ever want. Plus, with all these wonderful comforts and amenities you have the warm, gracious, and helpful staff. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you want and more. We highly recommend the AVA - heaven on earth (or at least in Athens)! Thank you to all at the AVA for our wonderful stay. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived in Athens not sure what to expect, but, the Ava was excellent in all respects. We chose it based on the location and TA reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to advise on many things. The location couldn't be better - being 5 mins from the new Acropolis museum, 10 mins from the Acropolis and 10 mins in the other direction from the main Square. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't have it (too lazy!)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202 which has a separate bedroom and I highly recommend it. It was on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights post-cruise. We got an upgrade to an executive suite for a reduced fee. Room was huge, comfortable, and clean. It was close to being at home. Close to all the top attractions. Only complaint was that we had to wait for an electrical adapter for charging our stuff, they didn't have enough to go around. The breakfast was plain and simple, enough to get you going.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, western australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Chose the Ava in Athens based on TA reviews plus location and price. We were not disappointed. Five days in Athens made all the more pleasant by the friendly and welcoming staff. Room large and spotless and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. All round highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,222 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Hotel - Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#6 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVA Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.