We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious homestyle Greek cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of o Mythos

o Mythos
1 Parriarhoy Maximou, Athens Kifisia 145 62, Greece, Greece
21 0808 2419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #728 of 2,049 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious homestyle Greek cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Theoxenia Palace Hotel recommended this small nearby cafe restaurant for dinner. We liked it so much that we returned each of the 3 nights of our stay. Service was friendly, the Greek salad excellent, main courses generous and delicious. Even the carafe of house wine was good. If you want a good, inexpensive meal where the locals eat, this is your place.
The locals obviously like Omythos, there was a roaring trade in takeaways

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service, Simple Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wonderful place that is very welcoming. very good greek salad, excellent grill, fabulous service (always there with what you need, quick to get what you seek more of). Fun place, not expensive / great value. really easy to relax, have a great meal and enjoy with friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our favourite restauranterything is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

9 years ago we lived 2 years in Athens, Kiffisia. We found this Restaurant and it became our absolute favourite place. We watched Football there, enjoyed the fantastic Food and excellent Service. Since this time we go 2 times a year to Athens and of course we go to O Mythos.
The waiters welcome us everytime and the owner as well, so we feel a bit like coming home.
We love the Pita pork, Greek Salad, Souvlaki actually everything is great.
Thanks to all the People there who make us a fantastic time and meal there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great accidental find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We toured Athens, then just started walking and came across this place when we thought we were lost, but boy I am glad we did. This place is Not a tourist type restaurant. The staff was very friendly. We sat outside and enjoyed the views. I had a very fresh tuna salad and local beer, my wife had a pizza and local wine. All I can say is, I'm glad we got lost..;-)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek - and then again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

o Mythos is a traditional tavern-style Greek restaurant. The menu selections comprises the many different aspects of the Greek cuisine, which many loves and few loathes. I went there with a business associate, who's vegetarian, and it is indeed possible to get a decent meal here, without resorting to meat.
I got a horiatiki salad, which on its own would have been really good, but it was obscured by many, huge, and very hard bread lumps (maybe intend as croutons) - I have had many varieties of horiatiki, but never one like this.
The souvlaki with hot sauce was plentiful and indeed hot and the serving was very large. Together with this we got a bottle of rosé (Kanenas Syrah Rosé 2011), which is one of the more expensive wines on the wine list, but is excellent end to the price.
My companion was also fairly satisfied with his meal, though the french fries were a bit soft (as they often are in Greece). Also he had very large servings, of which much had to go out again - unfortunately.
Service was quick, efficient, and always alert.
o Mythos was fairly well sought on a normal weekday in early July, and if you compare price to quality it is a fair deal eating here. I end up rating it in the average, but if a little more care is observed to the origin and originality of traditional cuisine, higher rating is easily obtainable.
It should though be considered as value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed o Mythos also viewed

Peristeri, Athens
 
Filothei, Athens
Neo Psychiko, Athens
 

Been to o Mythos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage o Mythos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.