We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anafiotika

Anafiotika
On northeast slope of Acropolis rock, Athens 999-20, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 179 Attractions in Athens
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Charming!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just spend some time walking around the area of Athens and you will find it very charming and quaint!!! When you think of a European city with narrow cobblestone streets lined with cafes and people you will find it here.
We had lunch there and if we visit Athens again we would definitely go back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    79
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An amazing neighbourhood that brings you back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Anafiotika is a traditional neighbourhood at the bottom of the Acropolis hill. It was built by the people from the island Anafi, when they moved to Athens and it is one of the few examples of such architecture in mainland Greece.
Picturesque streets, traditional & low rise houses, colourful flowers, amazing scents, welcoming people and a view to the Acropolis from every corner and all this within walking the centre of Athens!
Wish I could stay there forever.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Anafiotika was one of the most romantic place in Athen for me. The very narrow, curvy little pass-ways,full with flowers, sunbathing cats, old houses are really charming. From the top of this area, you have a great view over Athens.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“graphic and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very characteristic of the traditional greek coulture and feeling. If you visit athens don't loose the opportunity to experience a cold coffee at anafiotika. Greek people will treat you like a princess. They are so smily and polite.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,405 reviews 1,405 reviews
1,120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
“Beautiful place just visitable exiting from the Acropolis.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Beautiful walk through the streets of the neighborhood of Anafiotika, we walked getting out from the Acropolis direction of Plaka.
A scenic and calm place, I enjoyed walking along these narrow streets full of bars typical greek restaurants, surrounded by stone houses each of a different color from it.
I think that for those who had the opportunity to walk through this amazing block is definitely a part of Athens that you will love .

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anafiotika also viewed

 

Been to Anafiotika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anafiotika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.