We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Epidavros Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Epidavros Hotel to your Saves list
Epidavros Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14, Koumoundourou str, Athens 10437, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A clean and equally elegant hotel, although located in a neighbourhood that has a questionable reputation. By using the main boulevards, you should be completely safe. We, two 19-year-olds, both female, had a room reservation wiht no breakfast included. We spent a week in Epidavros and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
35
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was a nice stay for us as a younger couple for two weeks. We enjoyed the view from the 5th floor.The service at the hotel is very good. Breakfast is fine -nothing special. All facilities are working like the air con. or lifts. It is clean and the room is cleaned once a day.
Sometimes it was very loud int the morning and doors were slamming. The beds did not stay together .
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Everything about our stay at this Hotel was great. Good price, good location near attractions. Cozy room with mini fridge and air conditioning. Above all Excellent service! The lobby staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

my stay in epidavros was a pleasant one.
i stayed for four nights starting 13th may 2014 and staying in room 107.

to be honest i was a bit uneasy booking this hotel,but in the end i still booked it and give it a go.after booking it i was still continue reading at different reviews here and the sooner my holiday is coming the more i was worried.specially about the area of omonia.
i even sent an email to the hotel itself asking about the area and should i get a taxi from omonia metro station to the hotel as i was arriving very late at night.
they replied to me and told me that no need to get a taxi and the area is safe!
and yes it is as i am still alive doing this review:)

when i arrived at the omonia it so easy to locate the hotel providing you are following the instructions from the hotel website.
the only wrong information was the subarban train.you dont need need to take the train and change there is a direct metro from the airport to the city.
epidavros:pls update your info on how to get to the hotel from the airport on your website.

i was bit cautious while walking as it was 0100 already in the morning.
checking was so smoothly,the receptionist was very helpful and polite.after unpacking my bag i even went out again back to omonia to get some food.(yes it is safe to walk around)
police are always on the sights patroling and that makes me feel more secure.

the room was spacious,clean and i had a balcony.
its not brand new but its okay.i do always prepare myself for the worst so i will not be devastated.
it is cleaned everyday and fresh towel too everyday.
breakfast was not brilliant but it is okay to fill your stomach and start your day.
it is very close to the metro of omonia a few minutes walk you will find yourself in monastiraki whic is another area of athens.
the WiFi is not working on my first and last night:( dunno why?.....but on the other days that i was there it is fantastic.
the receptionist are very helpful specially the lady on the morning/day shift.everybody are very welcoming and cheerful.
no mini bar,no water but there is a fridge.

i will definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers that are not so fussy.at the end of the day all i need is a bed to sleep and a warm shower.
i will also definitely staying again if i will eva go back in athens.

Room Tip: bring your own drink as there is nothing in the room.but the lobby/bar is selling drinks which is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

What do you want ? If its a cheap hotel - clean - nice staff - lush breakfast then this hotel will suit you - its not ideally central - But its not that far from anything - 5min walk to the nearest metro station - 10mins from Strefi Hill - 20-25 from the ancient centre - The district it lies in is a bit rough n ready - But we never felt threatened or intimidated tho' we did stick to the main streets when coming home at night (But this is our policy in ALL big cities we visit not just Athens)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

So I paid $30 Euros per night for 3 nights. I wasn't expecting a palace or for the place to even be that good, but I was still let down overall.

QUICK REVIEW
Liked: Cheap, very friendly staff, good breakfast, in-suite refrigerator, free WiFi
Disliked: Hard bed, tacky wallpaper, shag mirror, tiny shower, peeling paint in the bathroom, loud buzzing from in-room heater

FIRST IMPRESSIONS
Upon arriving at the hotel, the taxi driver warned me not to wander with my phone out in this particular area, then wished me the best of luck. "Oh Great..." However, I was pleasantly surprised at the entrance and lobby area; very clean, polished, and well put together. The lady at the desk was ever so helpful with a problem that I'd had with booking the hotel (I booked the wrong date so I now had to make a last minute reservation), telling me places to go around Athens, landmarks by which to navigate, and generally how to get around (things are looking up :). The little elevator is adorably small, but still nicely decorated and looks a bit classy, but only fits 2 ppl and their bags (tightly). The dining area for the breakfast looks really nice as well (more on that in a sec). The common areas with access to the rooms also look respectable.

THE ROOM (#103)
This is where things go downhill, quickly. The room was a good size. Floor was made of tile, not carpet. The double bed was a queen size, very stiff, and only had the fitted sheet on; the blankets were folded in the closet. There was a large mirror against the wall at the foot of the bed, purple/pink/fuchsia/sparkly wavy patterned wall paper on wall behind the headboard (and was peeling at the edges), as well as a complimentary condom under the pillow. Now I've come to the conclusion that I'm in a shag hotel. "Great." At least there weren't hourly rates. My blankets hadn't been cleaned since the last occupants used them; they smelled of cigarettes and nasty old-man body odor and had gum stuck in them (obviously they'd been used for sex). Room furniture was sturdy, with side tables and desk with a small bar fridge in it. There was also one chair in the room which was nice to use on the tiny patio overlooking the street (and it had a view of the street, unlike my friend's room which looked into the center of a bunch of grungy buildings). The bathroom was tiny and the shower even tinier. I couldn't get my leg all the way up (butt against one wall, knee hit the other. In the shower there was a strange, frosted glass window that led into a shaft that ran up the height of the building. Also, the shower curtain is several inches away from the base of the shower, so water went all over the floor. Also, the exposed pipes towards the ceiling of the bathroom were covered with black dust/mould from the moisture/condensation on the cold water pipe. The heating/air-conditioning unit in the room also buzzed loudly, making falling asleep more difficult. Also, it only would operate at maximum heating and didn't turn off automatically, so on one night I was almost cooked.

BREAKFAST
Self service. There was unlimited toast, cereal, canned peach slices, olives, yogurt, jams, and some other things that I was unsure what they were. Price was 4 euros which is optionally added to your bill when you check in, but I didn't pay and ate anyways because nobody checked. The dining area was overall pretty nice and looked good, much like the lobby.

CONCLUSION
I'm not sure why I give the place 3/5. Perhaps it's because it was one of the cheapest rates around. Perhaps because it was because the staff were friendly and helpful and the overall niceness of the lobby/dining area. Also, the lady who checked me in offered to put me in a different room (perhaps they had rooms that were more properly decorated for a someone who intended on staying more than one night and not for a quick shag). Her associate the next morning didn't speak English as well and I couldn't be bothered to fight for a better room, so I just made do. I have a feeling that any of the other rooms would have been better. Anyways, I gave it 3/5... barely.

I hope whoever reads this finds it helpful.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Room numbers ending with 3 (i.e. #103) and higher will get a patio overlooking the street. Ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

cheap and renew 3 star hotel near to omonia square. with breakfast and wifi internet and pc. friendly staff. with lobby area and bar. with aircontition and tv plasma. near to shop and nightlife. thks u


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas T, Manager at Epidavros Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very proud for your great review.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Epidavros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Epidavros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epidavros Hotel

Address: 14, Koumoundourou str, Athens 10437, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Epidavros Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Epidavros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epidavros Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epidavros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.