We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water, unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fivos

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fivos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fivos
23 Athinas St | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Specialty lodging in Athens
Hong Kong, China
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No hot water, unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

We were given a double room on the 5th floor. No elevator. Had to walk up stairs with heavy luggages by ourselves. And, we didn't know why there were no lights in the corridor on our floor.

The bathroom inside the room was not clean. There was a big window near the bathing place WITHOUT any curtains. It made greet someone outside when bathing POSSIBLE (orz)

The worst thing was NO hot water at all!! The staff just told us to wait but there was NO hot water whole night and the other day. We were so disappointed and asked for refund, because we were promised hot water but there wasn't a single drop. The staff said, the hot water was only worth 1% of the room rate, if we wanted refund, he would return 0.55 euro... WHAT A MARVELOUS THEORY!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid it
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    35
    18
    51
See reviews for
8
40
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

I don't agree with the previous opinions: in fact I would like to recommend Fivos Hotel:
first of all for the amazing location, you are in Monastiraky, near the metro stop that connects Piraeus, airport and the other interesting places of Athens. The Fivos is near Plaka, Parthenon and the centre of Athens. You could go everywhere easily by foot.
Ok, it's not a 5 stars accomodation, but the hotel is quite good: every room with A/C and bathroom. The breakfast is included, only the cleanliness could be better.
In any case the perfect location to visit the city without wasting your time with metro or bus transfers to the centre.
Really recommended.
Fantastic location!!
The best way to visit Athens.

  • Liked — LOCATION !
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

In addition to the negative comments made by June's travellers on this site, we would like to add two new comments :
1) the odor of sewage coming up through the sink in the bathroom
2) no hot water
Probably the worse place in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

Fivos is Greek for gross. If a hotel tells you that you can't see the rooms until you've paid for them, then that hotel has rooms that no one wants to stay in. If you're absolutely broke, don't mind cockroaches, and need to save the extra 20 euro, and are only going to be spending 6 hours in the room in which you're drunk and asleep, then maybe Hotel Fivos is the place for you. If you're looking to stay somewhere comfortable, Hotel Cecil is up the street, charges 70 euros a night (Fivos charges 50 euros) and lets you see the room before you pay for it.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

This was not what I had planned for my friends and I for our stay in Athens. The place was disgusting and the staff not very helpful. We arrived at 3am from the airport (4 women). We had a delayed flight from Rome and were tired and sweaty. We had a lot of luggage but the person at the desk not only booked us in a fifth floor room, but sat while we struggled to take everything upstairs. The room they booked us in was disgusting and not big enough for two people, let alone four. The bunk beds were situated so that they blocked any air that came out of the puny airconditioner. The bathroom had no ventilation and it was disgustingly dirty. They never came to take out our garbage, give us more towels or anything. No one did any cleaning whatsoever. I know it is a hostel; however, we stayed in a fantastic hostel in Rome that was clean and held a helpful and cheerful staff. We also had three hours until we had to leave on our last day, so we wanted to store our luggage. Even though it was only for three hours, they charged us 16 euros. Th funny thing is that room 26 had only two beds in it and could have easily slept four comfortably. We were not happy. I should have listened and heeded the reviews on this site. I am sorry I did not. However, those of you looking for a cheap place to stay and do not mind crappy accomodations, stay here. The location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

I booked this disgusting place based on the fact that it claims itself a hotel. Of course, this is not true. It is more appropriate to call it a hostel. I write a review after almost a year since my stay in Fivos because it was a total nightmare as well as a big mistake in my life time, in which my girlfirend sometimes still complained about it and humiliated me.

When we saw the reception area of Fivos upon arrival, we immediately felt something not right as compared to what we saw earlier on Internet. Fivos was simply like those youth hostels in China which normally cost around $2 USD per night. The staircase and the corridor were dark and horrendous. Not to mention any comfort, we had a sense of insecurity to stay in this place.

Service was terrible. I would not have got a room change without some quarrelling. Sadly, that didnt make us better. There was no air-conditioning and the bathroom was filthy. We couldnt get any sleep because of the dirty bed and the noise from motor bikes on the street.

I originally booked for three nights. Finally, we managed to stay for one night only and then we moved to the Grecotel Acropol Hotel in Omonia. A heaven and a hell! Yes, the price of it was more than a double of Fivos'. However, the most important point is we really needed some sleep after struggling in hell for a whole night.

AVOID IT! YOU'RE WARNED!
Stay here as long as you're a backpacker.
Stay here if you want a divorce with your wife and a break-up with your girlfriend.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

I was initially booked there for 4 nights. The first night, we felt that the air con was suddenly turned off. It was very stuff. We want to open the windows but many mosquitoes came and we even heard mouses. So decided to sleep in a stuffy room.
We went to complain the next day and realise that they actually only on for few hours in the night. The staff told the manager and then agree to on the air con longer during the night. Second night, I waited 2 hours for hot water but didnt come. Worse still, the plumber came to our room to repair the toilet at 1am when dirty water starts coming out.

It was a terrible experience. The bed was creaky, uncomfortable and dirty. We moved out after 2 days.

AA

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fivos

Address: 23 Athinas St | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Specialty lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Fivos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fivos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.