We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome beds, luxurious bathroom.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Athens to your Saves list
Melia Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece (Exarchia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off
Ranked #62 of 325 Hotels in Athens
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome beds, luxurious bathroom.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

In the center of town, few blocks from the archeological museum and three metro stops from the Acropolis. Trendy and modern decor. Great pool deck with bar and beautiful view of the Acropolis. Hotel offers many tours that pick up and drop off at the door, very convenient. After landing in Athens at 230am and a full day of sightseeing we passed out on the huge king size bed . The best bed I have ever had at a hotel! The bathroom did have a jacuzzi with a shower that had jets for both soaking and showering. Best value and elegance in the center of Athens.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    409
    144
    39
    28
See reviews for
147
429
49
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

clean room, friendly and helpful staff. good location. we stayed on mykonos, paros, santorini and crete. the only other 5 star was atlantis in Crete and Melia far exceeded Atlantis. I wish they would open a hotel in crete.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed only one night on our way back from the Greek Islands and after a tour of Egypt. The Hotel was very good....lovely view of the Acropolis from the pool deck. Great location although there were not many restaurants nearby. Breakfast was good... some of it was luke warm though. Subway was only a short walk away and the staff were very helpful with directions to the Acropolis

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at around 1pm to find that our room wasnt ready to check into, so were were told to wait in the lobby. The receptionist said it would be around 20 mins. About an hour and a half later, we were handed our key cards and taken to our room. Despite requesting a non smoking room, we were put into a smoking room (no availability for a non smoking room) but the next day we were moved to a non smoking room. The hotel staff were helpful if you were asking about where to go what to do etc but when it came to issues about the room they were reluctant to help. The breakfast was ok. I've had better in other places. Not much choice of fruit (all of it had very sweet syrup in it) and not much choice for vegetarians either. But the basics were there. The location was central. It was less than 5 mins to the nearest metro station. A few restaurants nearby serve great vegetarian food but in most places the service is appalling.
On the 3rd night we had to be moved into another room as we found red ants in our room. The hotel staff were quick to find us another room but in the rush of shifting rooms we forgot to empty out one drawer which had a few sealed and unopened cereal bars, crisps. We asked about our belongings the next day to find that they had been thrown out without them asking us if we wanted them. The jacuzzi tub was great. The gym was ok (equipment wasn't serviced and kept stopping every now and again).

My partner and I didn't think that it was worth the money we spent on it as we didnt receive that great service, the food was substandard and the rooms weren't that great. I probably wouldn't stay at the hotel again purely because it was too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Overall treat this hotel as one to splurge on during a long stay in Europe. It's a bit pricey for what you get, but the rooms are big and spacious and the service is great.

Cons
- Thermostat was broken, but they moved us to a different room to fix the problem and were very speedy and apologetic.
- The shower head and the bathtub were a little dirty.
- The pool is slippery, and if you try to get around the couches they have up there, don’t step on the white thing – your foot will go right through and you will break your neck. Okay, you may not break your next, but you will fall into the pool with your clothes on.
- The breakfast is expensive, but good choice of food. They call it an “American” breakfast, but it’s much more similar to an “English” breakfast. Don’t expect pancakes or waffles; think baked beans and mushrooms. Service the first day was great – service the second day was horrendous. We asked for coffee twice and didn’t get any the entire 45 minutes we were there, and they ran out of plates, cups, spoons, and toast. The third was a mix – we at least got coffee, and they didn’t run out of anything, but it looked as if there was only one waitress working there for a time and attending to at least 50 people by herself. Not a fault of the staff, a fault of the management. There was also a fellow that seemed to just like to organize his station – he rarely left it, and let the other woman do all the order taking and running around. Perhaps he was shy.
- For the first day, the room smelled of smoke even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but after we aired it out for a bit, it was better.
- No washcloths; as per usual of all European hotels.

Pros
- Helpful front desk staff, day or night. Knew lots of restaurants around the area, and were there all the time to help if you needed it.
- Free internet in the lobby, but not in the rooms.
- Modern and really nicely decorated, and lots of space for a European hotel. It’s more along the lines of a typical American hotel than a European one, with all the amenities. It has a fridge as well which is very helpful for storing fruit and waters.
- Nice bathrobes in the closet, along with an extra pillow and a blanket!
- You can open the window, but the thermostat will automatically shut off, which is pretty smart for a hotel.
- There were tissues in the bathroom! That seems to be a rarity in European hotels.
- Pretty good location, close the Omonoia metro stop which can take you straight to the Acropolis in 3 stops and other cool places in the city.
- Had a pool, although it closes at 6:00 to become a not-so-hot clubby bar at 8:00. I think they’d do much better to keep it open at night, at least until 10:00 like normal outdoor hotel pools.
- Really quiet for being such a large hotel.
- Had the most comfortable beds ever! We had the best night’s sleep of all our hotels we stayed in Italy and Greece.


Tips
- If you’re staying for 3 days like we did, it makes sense to buy a daily metro pass each day. It pretty much will get you anywhere you need to go, unlike Rome, where the metro only makes an X. If you’re staying longer, it makes sense to buy a weekly pass. You can get these in the metro stations – just remember to validate it at a stamper thing before you take your first train of the day.
- There is a cute super market just down the road – get the Spanikopita! Just don’t use your visa credit card – you’ll have to get out of line and go to a special terminal and the folks behind you will get pissy.
- The best restaurant we went to was in Agora square near Plaka – it had a great atmosphere and wonderful food! I don’t recommend the cheese saganaki there – it’s not the right kind of cheese, and wasn’t very warm, but the rest of the food was great, especially the stuffed tomatoes.
- When you buy your Acropolis ticket for 12 Euros, it comes with other tickets to other venues as well, such as Hadrian’s Library and the Olympian Temple of Zeus, which don’t all have to be seen on the same day. We recommend doing ½ one day and ½ the next, but be sure to see them to get the full value of your ticket.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

My friend and I go on regular short trips to various cities and love to walk everywhere (about 10 - 12 hours a day sometimes) in order to see every bit of the city. Being two young females, however, we like to make sure we are in a good area and feel safe.

The room, although smaller than it looked in the pictures, was fine because it was mid-summer so we didnt tend to spend any of the day in the room. And there was the occasional movie on the free channels in english which was a bonus. Beds were comfy. We had a twin room.

Staff were very friendly and the hotel was extremely clean - could not fault it. Thebathroom was huge - big shower and nice bath - just a bath with a few jets - not a big jacuzzi but nicer than any other hotel bathroom I have had for that price!

The pool was great, pity that it was only open for swimming and sunbathing from 10am - 6pm as we would have loved to cool off after walking around all day.

The pool restaurant is very expensive (although food is nice) and view is great - would recommend going out for dinner wherever possible to get more traditional and cheaper food. If you do want to eat at the restaurant I believe you can get a discount by phoning up and reserving a table beforehand.

The area was fine - we didnt feel that safe at night (after 11pm) but that was mainly because it was quiet and a bit dark outside - not because of any incidents (quietness at least means no noisy traffic to keep you awake at night which is always a bonus) . During the day the area is a much more buzzing and feels extremely safe.

The walk to the acropolis is not that long maybe a half hour (from memory) to get to the base.

I would definitely stay at the hotel melia again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Eggo, Sothern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Loved this place! My fiancee and I stayed here after a totally unacceptable stay at another hotel in Athens (The Fresh Hotel). We were originally in an Executive Suite, which was really nice. Bigger than some apartments I've lived in back East.

Anyway, the normal rooms are awesome, too. Air conditioning, nice bed, and a sweet bathroom with a shower and jacuzzi tub.

Best part: awesome service. Everyone was super nice and accommodating. We had a great time. The rooftop bar has a great view of the city and Acropolis, and the bartender was super chill and friendly. Great place to relax, and listen to the weirdest mix of 80s-90s music I have ever experienced. In my opinion, it only added to the charm.

In addition, it is close to the Exarchia area, which has lots of cool cafes and bars. Don't worry- the kids there won't throw petrol bombs at you; only at cops (this is where the riots started in 2008). Check out Rosallia- good food for cheap. The area looks shady at night, but it's just because all the shops close up and not much is going on in the immediate area. You walk a few blocks, though, and BAM! Party time. Also, it's close to the Archaeology museum (which is worth a look) and a short walk away from Psyrri.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Business Hotel in Athens
#51 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors and all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels covering the walls and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor. Enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of Athens. Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Melia, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.