We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Athens

Save Saved
You added Melia Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Melia Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 324 hotels in Athens
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had stayed in the Melia, Athens in February. The hotel is near the Omonia metro station and so it was convenient to travel to the other parts of the city. The National Archaelogical museum is a couple of blocks from the hotel and is a few minutes walk. The main areas of tourist interest like Syntagma square and Monastiraki are nearby and take few minutes by metro. The hotel staff were friendly and professional. The buffet breakfast had a decent spread. The hotel has a rooftop terrace area with a swimming pool which was closed to hotel guests in February (maybe because it is the lean season). The rooftop has great views of the Acropolis. We felt that the area around the hotel was a bit "depressing" but that may be due to the economic scenario.

Overall - we had a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear ararat007,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your comments through Trip Advisor. We were more than pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel’s services, amenities and location.

In regard to the roof garden and the swimming pool, I agree that it would be nice to operate during the whole year. Nonetheless, this is not an option as bad weather conditions unfortunately do not allow it.


Thank you once again choosing Melia Athens, and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kali BAlili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    307
    108
    34
    21
See reviews for
115
324
38
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My sister, my Mother and I have just returned yesterday from this hotel. It is supposed to be a 4star hotel but it's more like a 3star. We had a triple suite and it was called an executive suite, it wasn't really ideal for 3 adults, there was 1 double bed and a pull-out bed from the sofa. Not good.
The room was noisy, the traffic outside keeping us awake at night. The piano bar and the cafe down on the ground floor weren't operating. The bar on the roof was good but closes between 6 - 8pm. That means there is nowhere to get a drink anywhere in the hotel between those hours. Again not good if you want a drink before dinner.
Breakfast buffet quiet good, the menu at the pool bar is basic. The food is typically greek, basic menu, with salads and vegetables coated in oil.
The hotel is in a poor location, we wish we had booked somewhere nearer to the main shops, we had a bit of a walk to get anywhere, which wasn't very helpful with our Mother.
We wouldn't go there again, saying that we probably wouldn't go to Athens again, it's basically dirty and scruffy.

Room Tip: can't offer a tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Lilah22,

Thank you for choosing Melia as well as for taking the time to express your comments through Trip Advisor. Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

I would also like to mention that Athens is a relatively safe area to visit and live in, and our hotel is centrally located, with close proximity to many shops and malls, the metro and to most city attractions.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens,

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice hotel. The location is in a not very good neighboorhoud of Athens (north of Omonia) but a very practial location. Close to subway and walking distance to Monastiraki.
Rooms: good beds, good bathroom. The carpets are yellow and really really dirty. This hotel would be so much better if this would be changed into a hard wood or laminate floor. Also some walls need a paintjob.
The pool and bar are very nice. During the day more sunbeds would be an improvement.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room facing the courtyard (it is ugly but very quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kulevliet,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your comments and observations! Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

Once more, thank you for visiting Melia Athens and we hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had been upgraded to a bigger room, the terrace is great and the stuff is helpful and very friendly. All facilities are in good condition, everything is the price worth, food could be a little better - but food is a typical problem for Greece (compairing f.i. with Italy). The area is loud, so its only possible to sleep with closed windows. The area is not beautiful as well, but if you go to the left you will reach parliament and the government-hill with all luxury-departments in 10 minutes by feet. So you are very near to the business- political and shopping-center of Athens.

Room Tip: Better not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Terence L,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your recent stay in Athens and also for sharing your positive feedback with us.

Kindly note that I will pass your nice comments to the relevant departments.

We do hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stay here for two nights in sept 2013. Nice room with upgraded bathroom. Lobby pleasant. Rooftop very nice. Nice pool and workout area. Free wireless lobby and rooftop. Poor location, nothing much for 10 min walk around. Have to go to plaka area 20 min away. Not easy to get to hotel by train. Need to transfer one time then walk 10 min. Taxi from airport 35 euros. Taxi from hotel to airport 40 euros. Hotel must be taking a cut. We did not do brkft in hotel but the buffet looked good but 18 euros cost.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear etohelp,

Thank you for your preference in Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts via Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel’s services and amenities.

In regard to your comment about the taxi fare, please note that we do not receive a commission from them taxi company. We just cooperate with the company in order to provide an added-value service to our customers. However, because they are readily available outside the hotel, they charge a stand-by fee.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens, and I do hope that you will give us a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kali BAlili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a long flight from NYC. Came early in the morning and the hotel let us check in early which was awesome. We dropped off our luggage and went to chill at the rooftop pool bar to relax off the jet lag which was great for that. We then walked to the acroplois which was around half an hour away - not bad. Location of the hotel isn't the best but most of athens looks this way so I didnt expect any less. Perfect for one night just to see acropolis and hang around the city. We left the next day to the islands but wanted to see athens for the night. Good view of the acropolis at night. Good but overpriced drinks at the bar. Overall - good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Julia S,

Thank you for your preference in Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts via Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to read that your experience at our hotel was a positive one and we do hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Didn't realise it was on the good side of the road of a bad area, so recommended NOT to walk around near the hotel at night. There seems to be an invisible dividing line which most of the taxi drivers told us about. The taxi drivers were great by the way. The hotel is OK, we had to change rooms as it a) smelt and b) had a filthy carpet and was definitely not up to standard and the moved us and upgraded us after a discussion. The waiting staff on the whole are very nice but one particular more mature waitress really stood out. Everyone spoke excellent English. The breakfast is the same every single day which after a week gets a bit boring. There is a downstairs café which is a tad gloomy and one can get a drink there up until 8.00pm after which one has to go to the Roof Garden where there is a swimming pool and restaurant (once all the sunbeds have been tidied away) which is open from 8.00pm. It is pleasant up there but the sun bed cushions are very tired indeed. Again the menu is exactly the same with no 'specials' to relieve the tedium. The food is OK, the view over the Acropolis is fantastic. Would I stay there again - no!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear NikkiSam,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities. In regard to the location, kindly note that Athens is a safe area to visit and live in. Our hotel is centrally located, with many shops, malls and is very close to most city attractions.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens,

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#61 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Splendia, Melia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.