We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but change the carpet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Athens to your Saves list
Melia Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece (Exarchia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off
Ranked #50 of 325 Hotels in Athens
The Hague
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good but change the carpet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice hotel. The location is in a not very good neighboorhoud of Athens (north of Omonia) but a very practial location. Close to subway and walking distance to Monastiraki.
Rooms: good beds, good bathroom. The carpets are yellow and really really dirty. This hotel would be so much better if this would be changed into a hard wood or laminate floor. Also some walls need a paintjob.
The pool and bar are very nice. During the day more sunbeds would be an improvement.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room facing the courtyard (it is ugly but very quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kulevliet,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your comments and observations! Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

Once more, thank you for visiting Melia Athens and we hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    402
    139
    37
    28
See reviews for
143
422
48
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had been upgraded to a bigger room, the terrace is great and the stuff is helpful and very friendly. All facilities are in good condition, everything is the price worth, food could be a little better - but food is a typical problem for Greece (compairing f.i. with Italy). The area is loud, so its only possible to sleep with closed windows. The area is not beautiful as well, but if you go to the left you will reach parliament and the government-hill with all luxury-departments in 10 minutes by feet. So you are very near to the business- political and shopping-center of Athens.

Room Tip: Better not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Terence L,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your recent stay in Athens and also for sharing your positive feedback with us.

Kindly note that I will pass your nice comments to the relevant departments.

We do hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stay here for two nights in sept 2013. Nice room with upgraded bathroom. Lobby pleasant. Rooftop very nice. Nice pool and workout area. Free wireless lobby and rooftop. Poor location, nothing much for 10 min walk around. Have to go to plaka area 20 min away. Not easy to get to hotel by train. Need to transfer one time then walk 10 min. Taxi from airport 35 euros. Taxi from hotel to airport 40 euros. Hotel must be taking a cut. We did not do brkft in hotel but the buffet looked good but 18 euros cost.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear etohelp,

Thank you for your preference in Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts via Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel’s services and amenities.

In regard to your comment about the taxi fare, please note that we do not receive a commission from them taxi company. We just cooperate with the company in order to provide an added-value service to our customers. However, because they are readily available outside the hotel, they charge a stand-by fee.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens, and I do hope that you will give us a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kali BAlili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a long flight from NYC. Came early in the morning and the hotel let us check in early which was awesome. We dropped off our luggage and went to chill at the rooftop pool bar to relax off the jet lag which was great for that. We then walked to the acroplois which was around half an hour away - not bad. Location of the hotel isn't the best but most of athens looks this way so I didnt expect any less. Perfect for one night just to see acropolis and hang around the city. We left the next day to the islands but wanted to see athens for the night. Good view of the acropolis at night. Good but overpriced drinks at the bar. Overall - good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Julia S,

Thank you for your preference in Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts via Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to read that your experience at our hotel was a positive one and we do hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Didn't realise it was on the good side of the road of a bad area, so recommended NOT to walk around near the hotel at night. There seems to be an invisible dividing line which most of the taxi drivers told us about. The taxi drivers were great by the way. The hotel is OK, we had to change rooms as it a) smelt and b) had a filthy carpet and was definitely not up to standard and the moved us and upgraded us after a discussion. The waiting staff on the whole are very nice but one particular more mature waitress really stood out. Everyone spoke excellent English. The breakfast is the same every single day which after a week gets a bit boring. There is a downstairs café which is a tad gloomy and one can get a drink there up until 8.00pm after which one has to go to the Roof Garden where there is a swimming pool and restaurant (once all the sunbeds have been tidied away) which is open from 8.00pm. It is pleasant up there but the sun bed cushions are very tired indeed. Again the menu is exactly the same with no 'specials' to relieve the tedium. The food is OK, the view over the Acropolis is fantastic. Would I stay there again - no!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear NikkiSam,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities. In regard to the location, kindly note that Athens is a safe area to visit and live in. Our hotel is centrally located, with many shops, malls and is very close to most city attractions.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens,

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary trip. I picked up a good deal and got a Junior Suite for the price of most double rooms. The website really shows this hotel as an amazing 5 star and I was really looking forward to staying in a suite here. The truth is it doesn't quite wow you like the website suggests but it is a lovely hotel nonetheless.
It is clean, the staff are friendly and the suite was lovely with big shower and jacuzzi. Breakfast was good and the rooftop terrace bar actually made the trip special. Knowing we could walk and explore all day long and finish the night in probably the best roof terrace in Athens with an amazing view of the Acropolis was what actually made the trip something I'll never forget. The bar staff up there were truly amazing people and made such an effort to please.

The main fault with the whole place is the location. First of all it is in Athens which, in the current climate is a run down poor city. The may sound obvious but it is shockingly so. Huge amounts of homeless people, graffiti, beggars etc. The city as a whole is tired and it is apparent everywhere. The locals welcome tourists and we even had people waving at the tour bus shouting "Thank you for visiting us!". I wouldn't try and persuade someone not to visit but there are problems there. No-one has any money and waiters/bar staff we spoke to said they earned around 20 euros a day. Even though we didn't experience it, we were warned on numerous occasions about crime and the fact that we were likely to get robbed after dark. The second issue with the location is exactly where IN Athens it is. It is very central but just about 3 blocks out of the posh part and on a borderline outskirt linking the city with an area not so nice. I am only talking about a few hundred yards away from the main square but the surroundings change dramatically. It begins to change from the centre of a capital to a suburb very quickly. Hopefully my photos will show it. At night there was a coach of riot police outside the hotel EVERY night.
That being said, we stayed out until we wanted and did not experience any problems.

One place of note to visit apart from the historical sites is the Hammam Baths in the centre of the city. They have an English website and Facebook page etc. The best massage/spa experience I've ever had.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear benoit908,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for sharing with us your comments and observations. We were very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed our hotel’s services and facilities, and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel and it was really nice. Because of availability we were upgraded to a better room and it was so comfortable. The pool hours are 10 - 6 and I can understand how that can be an inconvenience to certain travelers but for us it wasn't a big deal. The area is not the best and I wouldn't feel safe walking around late at night. Overall we had a great experience and I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gumaro1982,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens.
It is always our pleasure to read that our guests had a great experience while staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
#50 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors and all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels covering the walls and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor. Enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of Athens. Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Melia, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.