We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Melia Athens – A great Hotel in a Horrible Neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Athens to your Saves list
Melia Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 326 Hotels in Athens
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“The Melia Athens – A great Hotel in a Horrible Neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Melia Athens for four nights over Spring Break 2011. We arrived at about 1:00 AM and were quickly checked into our Spa room. The room was very nice and rather spacious. My wife had left her passport in the taxi we took to the hotel so we went to bed so that we could blow a day at the Consulate to attain a new passport. We were lying in the bed and in the span of two hours there were three high-speed police chases past the hotel. Luckily at about 3:30 AM the taxi driver returned to the hotel with my wife’s wallet with everything in it.
We arose early in the morning and headed to the Omonia metro station to catch a train to the Acropolis. It’s a short walk of about 4 blocks and along the way we passed a multitude of prostitutes and all other types of seedy characters. Being 6’5” and 275 pounds gives me a huge feeling of comfort every and anywhere in the world, but I could understand how a frail guy could be intimidated by the Omonia neighborhood and its cast of characters.
We were on Syntagma Square looking for a restaurant for dinner when a very nice Greek man approached us and asked if we were lost, when we told him we were looking for a place to eat dinner, he offered to walk us to his favorite neighborhood eatery. On the way there he asked where we were staying and when we told him the Melia he responded, “Great hotel in a horrible neighborhood!”
On our third night we were asleep when at around 4:00 AM there were four loud explosions somewhere nearby. My wife jumped out of bed and headed for the window to see what was happening. Seeing as it was evident that the explosions were not in the hotel I was not interested in the madness. As it turned out, the street was blocked off and lined with police cars. A few minutes later the police extracted a suspect, dragged him down the street and tossed him into a van before clearing the street. When we asked at the front desk in the morning the attendant told us they were concussion grenades, often used in the area to stun suspects.
We did enjoy the free internet in the lobby area and the accommodations were very nice. If they could just uproot the hotel and move it to Syntagma Square, it would be one hell of a stay. I would recommend this hotel to thrill seekers and big guys like myself, to the little frail guys, think Syntagma Square.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    369
    131
    36
    24
See reviews for
134
384
42
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel were beautiful and really really worth its price! Big, nice room and bathroom. Excellent room. The pool area on the roof were perfect on the hot day and really nice to relax there. A bit expensive at the café/bar up there but okay price to get a soft drink or coffe. Kind staff and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Melia Hotel is a very calm and clean hotel in that area in Athens. Staffs are friendly and helpful. You can enjoy of your breakfast in a quiet place ( it has a lot of choice...) ...overall very comfortable hotel ...

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is very good, the room is spacious, enough comfortable, with nice linen. The bathroom is also good. The location is not the best one, but you have a subway station (Omonia Square) where you can easily take a train to Kifissia (one of the best parts of Athens for shopping, eating... lots of beautiful people) or to Gazi (the new cool place to be in Athens, full of restaurants, cafes, music, and art). The best at Melia Athens Hotel are: the rooftop (wonderful view of Acropolis, nice music, cool place for having a drink), the very friendly staff and, of course, their cheap rates.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We unfortuneatley arrived into Athens the day of the riots, the hotel shutters were partley down and had a lot of Grafitti which was off putting.
The hotel reception were very helpfull , there was a wifi area and a buisness center to print off boarding passes etc.
The room was spotlessly clean with 100% cotton bedlinen.
The rooftop although small had a very nice pool, loungers and bar .
This hotel is definatley 4 star .
We were told this area was not so good, we did not see any sign of trouble.
A taxi to the main shopping area was about €6.00
The next day as everything had calmed down we managed to see all the high lights of Athens. our over nite stay cost us €100 for a spacious double room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had read the reviews about the Omonia Square area around the hotel before booking and expected the worst. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how safe we felt walking back to the hotel at night. There was very little evidence of the seedy underworld and no worse than any other city we have visited.

The room itself was very comfortable and well maintained, with excellent air conditioning and a mini-bar. The maid service was excellent although the room carpet looked like it needed a good shampoo.

Breakfast was great - good selection of fruit, cold meats and hot buffet. If you like strong coffe, make sure to ask for an espresso as the filter coffee is very weak.

On our first night we tried the hotel restaurant on the roof-top terrace as we had arrived late in the evening. The views are spectacular at night however, the food was average and overpriced. Otherwise, we used our guidebooks to find some great tavernas in back streets, well away from expensive tourist retaurants.

Don't take a taxi from outside the hotel - the price quoted for a short trip was extornionate and we think the taxi driver was probably giving backhanders to the hotel porters. Instead, we walked 5 minutes to Omonia Square for the very clean and cheap metro or plentiful cheap taxis.

Overall we had a great stay in Athens and Melia Athens was extremely well positioned to enable us to make the best of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Gorgeous and very clean rooms. Rooftop pool and gym had lovely views of the Acropolis, but pool was so cold you cannot swim in it in
September. Having to walk through Omonia square to get from Acropolis area is a draw back, very seedy area. This is probably why the place is so cheap for the quality of the room. I guess in my opinion Athens is a pretty gross place overall, not really this hotels fault.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#50 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#58 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors and all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels covering the walls and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor. Enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of Athens. Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Melia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.