We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Athens to your Saves list
Melia Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 326 Hotels in Athens
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel - good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had read the reviews about the Omonia Square area around the hotel before booking and expected the worst. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how safe we felt walking back to the hotel at night. There was very little evidence of the seedy underworld and no worse than any other city we have visited.

The room itself was very comfortable and well maintained, with excellent air conditioning and a mini-bar. The maid service was excellent although the room carpet looked like it needed a good shampoo.

Breakfast was great - good selection of fruit, cold meats and hot buffet. If you like strong coffe, make sure to ask for an espresso as the filter coffee is very weak.

On our first night we tried the hotel restaurant on the roof-top terrace as we had arrived late in the evening. The views are spectacular at night however, the food was average and overpriced. Otherwise, we used our guidebooks to find some great tavernas in back streets, well away from expensive tourist retaurants.

Don't take a taxi from outside the hotel - the price quoted for a short trip was extornionate and we think the taxi driver was probably giving backhanders to the hotel porters. Instead, we walked 5 minutes to Omonia Square for the very clean and cheap metro or plentiful cheap taxis.

Overall we had a great stay in Athens and Melia Athens was extremely well positioned to enable us to make the best of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    369
    131
    36
    24
See reviews for
134
384
42
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Gorgeous and very clean rooms. Rooftop pool and gym had lovely views of the Acropolis, but pool was so cold you cannot swim in it in
September. Having to walk through Omonia square to get from Acropolis area is a draw back, very seedy area. This is probably why the place is so cheap for the quality of the room. I guess in my opinion Athens is a pretty gross place overall, not really this hotels fault.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel's location is so good that It was a 10 min walk to Syntagma Square. The staff were very courteous and helpful, and the rooms were great. Beautifully furnished, great bathroom, and nice comfortable bed! While the breakfast area is a bit small, it was still good and the buffet was served.

I personally rate it as a four plus star hotel instead of five star hotel, but I still may prefer the hotel for my next stay 'cos the rooms are really comfortable.

Note that the rates of the hotel are higher than it's worth.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here in mid-July and the service received from the Hotel from the booking stage until check out was very good. Staff from the reception to the waiters were always friendly and hospitable. The poolside terrace on the roof top provides you with some of the best views of the Acropolis, Lycabettus Hill and the rest of the city with no obstructions in the way.

The room was quite luxurious with a much superior quality to most other places within the same price range. The bed was extremely comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was also very clean and impressive.

One major downside was the substandard quality of food being served. None of the meals, including breakfast, was satisfying which is a shame since a certain standard is surely expected in a hotel of this nature.

Although the location is in an extrmely central location and a short walk or taxi ride away from all the sites and shops, it really does turn into a bit of a ghost town by night so I advise anyone staying here to use Taxis to get about after dark.

All in all the Hotel fulfilled our primary requirement which was good accommodation. It was a shame the food was such a let down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here late June 2011, Its an awesome place just to chill out with a rooftop pool with an awesome view of the Acropolis. Free Wireless Internet Access from the rooftop as well as the foyer and adjoining coffee shop. Due to price didn't opt for the room wireless. The pool access is open from 10:00 - 18:00, my best rooftop swim ever. You can pop up for a drink or dinner after 20:00 and get a great view of the Acroplis lit up.
Breckfast was not included in our stay so we elected the coffee shop across the road on 28th October Street something small , We also ate approx 2 streets down October Street towards Omonia Square there is a little taverna (Sunday morning breckfast) . Absolute no problems with the area, yes its a little seedy but no different to Kings Cross in London or Sydney but you are fool not to watch your wallet in any city. We even walked back at night 21:00 to 22:00 no problems, walked around Ommonia Square and took the metro. There are also taxis available about 7 euro into the city and vica versa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The staff were very helpful, smiling, nothing was too much. Stayed in two different rooms. Each was nice. Only slight downside was the design bathroom area. Due to the frosted glass wall and door design I could easily hear every movement of my partner in the bathroom. Nothing major but might be a little disconcerting for some. However I might be picking hairs.
Location: This could be a sore point for many. The hotel is located very close to Omonia Square. This square/area must be one of the worst places in Athens. I am a biggish guy but even I felt a intimidated when a 'begger' practically demanded I hand over my change when I was getting a buying a train ticket from a ticket machine in the station. This was at 6pm. My partner had to cross the road to get away from drug addicts doing their stuff when coming back to the hotel at about 11pm.
However, this in my view must not put you off from staying at this value for money, rooftop bar/swimming pool, very nice hotel. You just need to be aware and have your wits about you when in the Omonia square area. Btw there are taxis at the hotel.
Liked best: Relaxing rooftop bar area.
Liked Least: Location in relation to Omonia Square.

Room Tip: Value for money roms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed 4 days in April 2011. We booked the so called ¨level¨ experience which we had booked first time in Melia Berlin before. This time was much more modest. there was no dedicated floor, dedicated leisure area. I would say the level experience consisted in gratis WiFi and a plate with fruits or sweets. It is not worth.
The room was large and clean and had all one is used in a Melia. The air conditioning / heating was not permanently on but switched on by the hotel management when deemed convenient but this was timely and corrctly done. The bathroom with all facilities and amenities.
Breakfast was good, abundant and with large variety though organisation was a bit messy.
Diner was average. two days there was only a simple buffet, the choice was very limited and the food was dry after sometime.
Staff was professional, helpful, very kind.
The main disappointment is the sky lounge with a view of the Acropolis. It is mentioned as a major attraction of the hotel but it was closed, not only the swimming pool, understandbly, but completely.
As for the location, it is not a nice area though it is at walking distance from Syntagma and the main tourist attractions and specially to the national Archeological Museum, a brilliant museum, indispensable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 10677, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#51 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#58 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors and all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels covering the walls and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor. Enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of Athens. Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Melia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.