We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location in Athens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Economy Hotel to your Saves list
Economy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location in Athens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here on our first few nights of our travels in and around the Greek Islands. I can't say more about the location. It is in easy walking distance to the Acropolis, the Plaka shopping district and other local markets. The day and night persons, John and George bent over backwards to help us with patience and kindness and good advice. There were there when we needed them and so helpful. The rooms are spartan, but clean and accomodating for our use....we just sleep there. It was just preseason so there were no large crowds, though several groups of high schoolers did come and go....but there noise was not a bother as we only saw them in the lobby. Breakfast was pretty basic as we found in most of the other hotels we stayed at, meat, cheese, cereal, canned fruit (would have loved something fresh), yogurt (always in greece), bread and sweet bread. All plenty for us and included with our room. There is internet access at computer in dining area which we used.Housekeeping was there all the time and helpful as well. Again, for the price I can't imagine a better location to be in Greece and the local flavor. I walk alone everyone morning and enjoyed the fresh bakeries, spices, meats and all the activity that starts on Athenas street early...I always felt save and everyone was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    168
    68
    18
    5
See reviews for
33
176
50
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The rooms are not well sound proofed and the reception does not care much about rowdy student travelers. Bring earplugs and be ready to need more sleep. Breakfast was OK. Internet access was OK. We'd look for a better location next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love, Love, Love!! The staff was always helpful, they were able to give us directions to where we wanted to go with no problems, the day staff was always willing to give us more information and history of Athens. They were able to set up a side trip for us and the bus picked us up at the door. Free WiFi, housekeeping everyday and free breakfast in the spacious dining area. The hotel is walking distance to everywhere! They even mailed out my postcards.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and very happy with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I visited in December, so it was off-season, and the rates were excellent and included breakfast (less than GBP100 for 7 nights).

The staff are on hand 24/7 and helpful and friendly. The room was a comfortable size and cleaned every day. The breakfast was fairly basic, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc. but more than I expected and all you can eat.

My only small caveat for other travellers is that locals told me the location was a bit dodgy, but having said that I never had any trouble at all and was quite frequently out after dark. If you are a solo female traveller then you might want to do some more research perhaps (I'm a 6' male).

The location is very 'central' but was a wee way away from the restaurants I really wanted to try, however, public transport / walking are both options here. i would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Monasteraki Square tube station which in turn is 45 min tube journey from Athens airport. "Economy" is within very easy walking distance of all the main sites.The aforementioned square is a must as the sun goes down-all life is here. Have a beer sitting alongside Hadrians Library with the Parthenon lit up behind you. The hotel staff are a mine of information & the breakfast is excellent.We stayed here for a few days on our way to & from the Peloponnese-the coach station is a 10 minute taxi-drive away. We had a great time-all the locals could not have been friendlier & despite the rumours we felt perfectly safe wherever we went, be that the "tourist" areas or off the beaten track.The student quarter off Athinas Street is well worth a look of an evening. The Greek people are going through a hard time. Help them by visiting this fabulous country. Top Tip-access Acropolis via Theatre of Dionysos to avoid long queues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Excellent location, 10 minutes walk to the most popular sites in Athens. It is a very good value for money, very basic hotel, old but well maintained. The room was very clean and the staff was helpful. We were provided a map of the city and directions to find places. There are cheap market places within 5 minutes walking distance which you can buy fresh fruit with a very cheap price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Economy is one of the better budget hotels in Athens. Rooms are well maintained and the matresses are firm with good quality linen. Breakfast is basic but good. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Walking distance to most of the major attractions in central Athens.

Room Tip: No smoking on floor seven and two floors up to a good view of Athens from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Address: 5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.