We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a value base to explore Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Economy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Economy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 324 hotels in Athens
Lafkas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a value base to explore Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The location of the hotel is next to the city hall, everything you may want to see are in within walking distance, such as Plaka, the Acropolis and Monastiraki Square where you take the metro direct to the airport.
The hotel staff was extremely helpful providing as a handy map with travel and sightseeing information.

The rooms are reasonable sized, very clean, quite, convenient, the air condition was working well. The breakfast was nice and included into the room rate, I loved their yogurt. Unfortunately they do not have fruits, but the local market is only 1 block away where you can buy cheap and fresh fruits every day.

Would highly recommend this hotel to others travellers and would come back again.

Tip: The open top, tour bus (hop on – hop off), stops few meters away from the Hotel entrance (station: City Hall) and can take you to all the most city attractions if you do not want to walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    154
    64
    16
    4
See reviews for
29
159
45
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Economy for a week this April as teachers for a group of 32 architecture students. This is second year in a row we do so, and before that we have also stayed at the hotel on a private visit to Athens.
The hotel continue to impress with its friendly staff in the reception, its cleanliness and central location. The breakfast is also fine, although the addition of some fresh vegetables (tomatoes, cucumbers) would have been welcomed….
Anyway, great value for money, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Overall the hotel was fine, but really let down by the constant smell of smoke in our 'non-smoking' room. A reasonable sized room with good facilities, a little dated but perfectly fine. Nice balcony with good views. Decent breakfast, with delicious greek yoghurt. Staff members were on the whole excellent and very friendly. Location was fine - we didn't venture north but headed south each day to the sights and had no problems at all. Good bakeries nearby. Levels 5-8 are supposed to be non-smoking but the smell either wafted up the stairwell or else someone was smoking in their room nearby. The smoke came around/under the door and caused a real irritation as it was pretty much constant all evening, everyday - staff said he could not do anything about it. Maybe an unlucky experience but I would not stay again based on this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Economy Hotel turned out to be just what I wanted in Athens: a nice, clean place at a great price. Easy walking distance to all the sights in Athens, and a great breakfast every morning. I love the yogurt! The rooms are "european" in size, but certainly adequate, and they are very clean and convenient. The staff is superb - the front desk guy even set up my Greek sim card on my phone for me! Pretty easy access to the subways, etc. Stayed there twice, and will definitely go back next time I make it to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We liked the friendliness and competence of the staff.
When we first arrived, we were given a handy map and lots of information about what to see. The staff asked if we needed anything or had any questions when going out the main door - all without really being asked.
Excellent location, next to the City hall in walking distance to the top sites of Athens. walking distance to Monastiraki square. Very handy to metro, close to the market for shopping. The open top, tour bus (hop on – hop off) stops few meters away (station: City Hall) and can take you to all the atractions.
Quite a nice breakfast, especially the Greek yoghurt and was included in the rate, though no hot food beyond toast
The rooms were very decent and clean, in a low price.
The wifi is cheap, 3 € a day or 2€ for 12 hours, they also have a p/c for internet use free of charge.
The hotel has a wonderful roof-deck with a view. From there you can see the Acropolis, Likavitos Hill and you have a nice view (especially at night) over a big part of the city.
Would highly recommend this hotel to others and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is my second stay at this hotel having last stayed in Sept 2010. I was on my way back from Crete and wanted a base for some day trips beyond Athens. This is a budget hotel and all I needed was a clean room, bed and shower, which I got. The staff were still as helpful and friendly as last year and especially with guests had to go to the airport on the "strike"days.
I was on the 8th floor at the rear, the A/C had been improved on since last year. Instead of the hotel internal system this was one of the wall mounted with hand held controls(an improvement). During the day the area around is OK but in the evening looks a bit more rundown than last year and I was never out late at night.
From the airport I took the Metro to Monastriaki and walked up Athinas St from there, rather than the shorter walk from Omonia. ISee my metro comments. jimb073

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My daughter and I had to spend a night in Athens and booked this hotel, because it was cheap and central. We expected a very basic place. However, we were pleasantly surprised at this lovely, friendly place, the great location and the amazing price, which even included breakfast. It was spotlessly clean, spacy, comfortable and had even a balcony. The Hotel is central to all sights and to lots of lovely restaurants. The staff was incredibly friendly, and could not have done more for us. Thank you to the lovely staff, and well done to the Hotel management for running such a brilliant place!

Room Tip: Apparently, the room we stayed in was the best room - 805
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Address: 5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Athens
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.