We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch my YouTube Review on Economy Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Economy Hotel to your Saves list
Economy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece (Omonia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Watch my YouTube Review on Economy Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

------------

I stayed at Hotel Economy in Athens Greece. Its located in the center of the city about a 10 min walk from the Plaka and a 20 min walk from the Acropolis. Almost all areas around the city center of Athens are run down and "shady" so if you make sure your flights/cruise ships leave at a reasonable time and your not travelling at all odd hours of the night you should be safe :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    170
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
33
178
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Really great value hotel. Nice rooms with balconies, great breakfast spread, clean, helpful staff - brilliant. Only negative is slightly dodgy red light district round the corner. Wouldn't notice during day but bit intimidating at night. Absolutely no worries if you approach from City Hall Square. Easy walking distance to main sights and Metro.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I struggled with all of the reviews before we actually booked this hotel. There was the normal differences in opinion. Since we have lived in both the US and Germany, we understand the differences in the 'stereotypical' expectations of the average North American vs. European traveller.

First and foremost: we were extremely happy with our stay. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. You have to give the key to the front desk before you leave...and we only had to give our name and room number to a person ONCE. They remembered us from there.

When we are doing city touring, our expectations are a clean, safe, mostly quiet hotel that we can use as a launching pad for sightseeing. We only expect to sleep in the hotel.

This hotel definitely met those expectations. Yes, the walls seemed to be rather thin at 8am, the bathroom was Euro tiny, and even after almost a decade living in Europe, I still hate the split bed and separate comforters. I want to CUDDLE with my wife ;-) not cocoon myself in a down comforter. There were many comments regarding safety, drug use, and prostitution. I've been in a lot of major cities in the world, and Athens is no different than virtually any downtown large city.

Yes, the downtown area near the hotel seemed rather run down outside of the main streets, but the city is over 2500 years old. Granted, the level of 'run down, drugs, and prostitution' that we saw would be scary in New York...but it seems a bit safer in Athens. I can't really explain why. We didn't see open, illicit drug use, but there was prosititution. I can get over that if I can save 150EUR a night.

If you are used to a Hilton or Marriott in the US and want this level...don't stay here. Go down the street and spend the 200EUR.

If you want a basic place, with friendly, clean (yet basic) services, this is a great use of our travel budget. You can spend your money on more important things.

I hope you find my review (and rambling) helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Good basic hotel located between Omonia Square and Monastiraki Square just off of Athinas Street near the city market. The hotel is basic but was clean and provided a good breakfast. Relatively easy walk to Monastiraki Square and the Plaka. The area looks rough but we didn't have any problems whatsoever. The hotel staff were extremely helpful with travel and sightseeing information. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, arriving late the first night and leaving early the second night. It's a great base for a short visit to Athens (we only spent 1 full day in the city) and it offers cheap rates for a solid quality room. The area isn't the nicest--we felt perfectly safe during the day, but took cabs to and from the airport instead of using public transit, as we were traveling after dark. We found the staff to be very friendly, even during the night hours as we were checking in and out. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to budget travelers and backpackers, but maybe not for families with young kids, as there aren't many kid-friendly activities nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were there for 2 days, as everyone said the hotel is central and is great for short stays... You really only need 1 day in Athens (Max 2) thats what we felt anyway... The hotel staff were very helpful and told us where to go and what to do without even asking. We even had to leave at 3am on checkout and they gave us a packed breakfast. There is a sex cinema near by but it seemed very empty and no dodgy characters around at all so felt safe coming back at night. There are some dodgy characters when you come out of that hotel and walk left for about 5 mins up the street , I almost got pick pocketed... Other than that the locals were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I booked this hotel on Expedia for $60 a night. Hotel was centrally located, within 10-20 min. walk from all the sights and near 2 metro stations, Omonia and Monastiraki . I prefer taking Monastiraki than Omonia, there are some shady characters around Omonia at night and in the back streets adjacent to the hotel... Stay on Athinas St. and you will have no problems. There are some good cafes and pita take-outs in proximity to the hotel which is convenient. The room was clean but extremely small and the bed extremely hard but I still slept good. The shower was very small and the shower curtain not long enough so the floor was always covered in water after a shower! There is a nice view from the roof top terrasse but the terrasse was not open when I was there. The breakfast was very good and the reception staff extremely helpful. The wi-fi is not free, however there are 2 computers in the breakfast area which everyone can use. There is also wi-fi in the City Hall square just across from the hotel. Overall, for the price I paid, can't really complain!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Address: 5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.