We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Economy Hotel to your Saves list
Economy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece (Omonia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We stayed at the Economy Hotel for four nights. We here pleasantly surprised. The hotel is excellent value for money! Clean rooms, plenty of hot water in the shower, a good breakfast, very friendly staff and great location. Walking distance to virtually everywhere in Athens including the Acropolis, Plata, the Agora and the National Museum. The hotel is located in the hart of the city, close to the Metro and just around the corner of the Town Hall, and also the flashy new (but much more expensive) Fresh Hotel. Its really a great bargain. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Value & Location
  • Disliked — No dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    174
    71
    19
    5
See reviews for
33
183
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We used the Trip Advisor reviews to book this and were not dissapointed. A clean room (the maids were always in and around changing sheets etc) and small but functional bathroom.

Centrally located we walked all around Athens from here and could jump on and off the metro as well. The staff were really helpful and made us packed brekkies on days we left early. Cold drinks for sale in the lobby made it popular with s during the summer's heat wave and the air con worked just fine.

The area is alittle colourful but perfectly ok and pretty quiet for the centre of Athens. We'd stay again and we had two rooms over our stay as came back at the end.

  • Liked — Did what it said on the tin
  • Disliked — Area: though wouldnt put me off staying again
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

Stayed at the hotel several nights, Sept. 2007. Location was good, reasonable walking distance to the Monistraki, where are reasonable restaurants and good tourist shopping. Breakfast was great and plentiful. People were very nice. I saw no problem with security; we walked outside day and night and always felt comfortable.
You can actually walk up from the Monistraki to see the Acropolis. I told the hotel front desk we had bed mites biting us. They changed the sheets daily, but the problem persisted. Insect repellent helped us a lot. The hotel was full, so no other rooms were available. A relative in another room had no problem. The rooms appeared simple but clean.
One other caution, we didnt have this problem. My relative on the taxi from the airport was told the meter was broken, and he was charged double our rate. Insist on a quote in advance. Take a taxi to the cruise ships. Its not that expensive, and it is so much more convenient. I think it was 15 Euros. Yeah, think we had bad luck, would stay there again. Use ATMS to get Euros, cheaper.

  • Liked — location, breakfast
  • Disliked — problem with the bed.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

Six of us stayed at Economy Hotel and it was an excellent choice. Booked because of good reviews and we were not disappointed. Very clean and a good breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ten minutes walk from Plaka area. Athens is a lovely city. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — cost
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

After a long flight, the Economy Hotel was a decent choice for a 2 night stay in Athens. The booking process was outstanding, with a quick response to our reservation inquiry, and helpful answers to our questions regarding restaurants in the area.

Things we liked: Our room had a balcony with a nice view...the beds were fairly comfortable...the hotel was very convenient (within easy walking distance) to Omonia station, the Plaka, Syntagma, and the Acropolis....our room was cleaned thoroughly daily. The breakfast was good, and plentiful. The air-conditioning blew out nice, cold air.

Things we didn't like: The bathroom was rather lacking-the shower curtain was too short, and a quick shower resulted in a very wet floor. Bugs like wet bathroom floors...really big bugs. All the cleaning in the world won't keep palmetto bugs away from a damp, dark bathroom floor in an urban environment. The neighborhood was quite noisy, and the sliding glass door to the balcony didn't keep out much of the sound.

Some of the other reviews mention the presence of hookers and drug-dealers walking the street in the neighborhood....we didn't see any of that. Omonia is often referred to as "gritty." That is a fact. But most of Athens is also gritty, so that isn't a big deal either. There is a peep show across the alley, but it was rather tame from the outside, particularly when compared to peepshows in other large cities...you know, no particularly explicit images visible from the sidewalk. To sum up the neighborhood scene, it was dirty, but we never felt unsafe.

I'd probably stay there again, but if there weren't any vacancies, it wouldn't be the end of the world.

  • Liked — Proximity to many historic sites and public transportation
  • Disliked — The bathroom bugs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We were very surprised for our money it is very clean and nice and the breakfast was good. free internet acess and their is a small local food stalls about a block away to get local drinks and food and bring back to the roof lounge and enjoy. We will allways stay their now when we go to Athens....
Also rooms are very quiet....

  • Liked — Great Value and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Good location in Athens, not too far from Metro station; 15-20 min walk to Acropolis. Staff very friendly and VERY helpful as they seemed to read our minds as to what our needs were. Rooms are small and basic, but clean. Elevators extremely small, epecially with luggage! Breakfast was basic, but sufficient. Good Hotel. I reccomend it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Address: 5 Kleisthenous street, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.