We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eridanus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eridanus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eridanus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 324 hotels in Athens
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the best hotels on our trip , met with fresh orange juice, helped with bags, beautiful rooms, fantastic service and the best rooftop restaurant. So good we ate there both nights we stayed and the views were amazing. Staff were helpful and friendly, central to everything we needed. Would definately stay here again infact I cant wait to go back! Very reasonably priced and my favourite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    104
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
148
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We treated ourselves to a long weekend in Athens and got a really good deal on the Eridanus. Plus a direct view of the Acropolis from the rooms balcony. Need to be 4th or 5th floor for the view, but its worth it.
There is a top floor restuarant that like most greek places only really starts to come alive after 9pm. Food is excellent and pretty good value as well, the staff are knowledgeable and make good recommendations.
Our room was excellent and the bathroom wonderful.
We did splash out on the traditional luxurious top notch meal in the "best hotel in Athens" and Acropolis view for our wedding anniversary dinner, but I have to say although definitely more luxurious I way preferred the intimacy and service at the Eridanus.
Location is pretty good once you get your bearings and their are a number of good bars within walking distance of the hotel for an evening out.
The metro is easily reached (8 min walk but you will need the map). Athens taxis are pretty cheap so don't stint yourself.
We will go back.

Room Tip: If you want the Acropolis view go for 4th or 5th floor but the 5th is under the restuarant and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we stayed in a suite for 8 nights. really cozy atmosphere, friendly stuff, good breakfast, good cleaning.
Location is perfect. 10 minutes away from the city center.
Perfect ! I would go there again and I would recommend it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

this hotel has nice rooms and and very good service, not to mention character and a decent breakfast. and while the street it is on is totally boring it is close to lots of nice walking areas and a quick can ride to nearby fun things to do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel since it did not meet the basic standards, especially poor hospitality at the reception. The rooms require alot of upkeep since there were a lot of breakages and poor lighting.

The food was nice though and the selection at the breakfast was decent (small but good).

One thing which I would like to point out is that even though the location is quite central, the area around the hotel looked dingy and we were actually scared to venture out in the area at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for 2 nights on a business trip. Very central location nice interiors. Resorption staff very helpful. Walking distance to monastiraki underground. Many dining options including tsimiski area, gkazi, monastiraki and thiseo. Right next door to baroulko restaurant. It's a must. The Michelin chef Lefteris will take good care off you. For business I would definitely recommend. Prices very reasonable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Eridanus hotel is 5 minute walk from Kerameikos metro station through the rough area, graffiti covered abandoned buildings. Surrounding area is not very pretty, but it did not feel unsafe to walk. The hotel is not the 5* you would normally expect in the UK. Our room was on the first floor and had a strong smell of paint that we had to open our window each time we were in. However the room was spacious and bathroom had a bath tub as well as a separate shower. Me and my friend prefer showers, so after having one the bathroom floor was flooded and it was impossible to walk as water was everywhere making floor slippery. Breakfast was standard continental, cereals, ham/cheese, and pastries. Hotel staff is great, very friendly, understanding and helpful. I would not probably stay in this hotel again as it is a little bit remote from Monastiraki square where all the action is.

Room Tip: They have very good sound proof windows, but out room on the first floor smelled of paint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eridanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eridanus Hotel

Address: 78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#30 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eridanus Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eridanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eridanus Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eridanus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.